No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Latimer Place

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Latimer , CHESHAM, HP5 1UG
Set in 30 acres of grounds in Chiltern’s countryside overlooking the Chess Valley, Latimer Place combines contemporary and Victorian architecture to make an inspiring venue for your stay or business event. It’s just a 35-minute train journey straight into central London from this rural idyll. With Heathrow & Luton airport also within easy drive, you have the perfect mix of town and country benefits in one great venue. Inside our 51 meeting and training rooms are modern, with the latest high tech equipment for your business event. Our experienced team makes your meeting happen without fuss – we know what it takes to host a successful event and how to create the perfect bespoke experience for you. We’ve an indoor pool or sauna to unwind in after a long day and then relax in the bar, before enjoying your evening meal.*

Impeccable service and venue excellence is the DNA of our business. It’s the De Vere Venues difference - and it's why we’re the first choice provider for meeting and training events throughout the UK.

Please note that this is a multi site venue and your room will be allocated on arrival by the venue, furthermore access to the main house is not guaranteed due to private functions - please phone the venue for further information.

* Please note that there may be a limited Restaurant & Bar offering due to private functions, and an alternative Restaurant to the Main House may be used. - Please phone the venue for further information.

* Please note that Ensuite facilities may be shower and not bath.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Latimer Place, CHESHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surroundings great
I was impressed with the location and surroundings of the hotel.
Not much impressed with the leaning towards corporate meetings

Reviewed by
colin redfern

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Professional staff, lovely surroundings, large room, nice bed but could do with a/c
I like to stay at "hotels with history" and this venue nestled in a small unspoilt, village certainly helps you to forget your day at the office.
The wifi in the public areas was strong and reliable, but wasn't useable in my room. On this occasion it was a benefit as prevented me from working.
A good overall experience and would stay again

Reviewed by
d betts

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought De Vere was a brand worth booking but I was wrong.
The main issues I have with this hotel is it run down, dirty, and so unwelcoming. The towels in our room were dirty - make up marks and other marks on them. The room was dusty and felt unclean. I cleaned the surfaces with baby wipes and it wasn't just dust it was dirt. The taps were grossly dirty and I could not believe that they would have been left like that. The breakfast quality was so poor - cheap food presently cheaply and the room was dirty and cold and the seats and cushions were stained and so dirty I sat on my cardigan. I certainly would not be booking a De Vere hotel again.

Reviewed by
Patricia A

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review
Very friendly staff, nice room, very relaxed weekend, thank you.

Reviewed by
grant gravenell

From West Drayton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value, very pretty

Reviewed by
Charlotte Cullens

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
This was one night stay and the service was excellent throughout.
The room was comfortable with a nice view of lawn and a pond. The staff are friendly and efficient. For example, at reception we mentioned we were going to take a stroll in the countryside and we were given a map with the public footpaths and recommendations on routes to try. We had good weather and so were able to enjoy a lovely walk in the Chess Valley which is very picturesque.
We had an evening meal at the bar which was very nice. Breakfast was very good too.
Suggestions to enhance the experience would be; Better sign-posting within the complex so that it is easier to find your way around the hotel. Perhaps re-siting the reception would help so it is not such a long walk to other facilities. 10 o'clock check out is a mite early compared to other hotels as is the 9.30 end of breakfast. 11 and 10.30 respectively would be preferable.

Reviewed by
S Carruthers

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exellent stay
Great service, friendly welcoming staff from arrival through to checking out. Everyone I came in contact with was helpful with nothing being to much trouble. Good food and good rooms.
An enjoyable stay, Thankyou.

Reviewed by
julie s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom looked a bit tired, extractor fan didn't work and the basin took ages to drain

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought I had booked a country house hotel in large easy access grounds with spa. It turned out to be a conference centre with basic rooms in concrete block. Very busy business people and the grounds are a short muddy walk taking 10 mins. Was extremely disappointed and felt had been conned about rooms. The spa is ok but pool very cold and have to go theough reception to get to it. Food in the house was very good and staff in bar pleasant. Staff at reception not so. At checkout was charged extra but had not been informed on arrival. House reminded me of a activity cabin youth hostel but free drink machine very good. Room was basic but very clean and good shower.

Reviewed by
J C P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtesy and comfort at Latimer Place assured
The room was comfortable and well-equipped, the bed was also comfortable. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
C Horder

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next