No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Cliffs Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HIGH STREET St Margarets-at-cliffe, DOVER, CT15 6AT
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St.
Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's
Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England
to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes
drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover.

The hotel is centred around an archetypal Kentish weather-boarded inn that
dates back to the 16th Century the style captures the essence of life in
coastal England with a contemporary atmosphere and a refreshingly
independent feel.

The Bay Restaurant & Bar is at the heart of the hotel, as the Michelin Guide
would say 'it's the sort of place worth that's worth a detour' if passing
through Dover. The place attracts locals who often drop in for lunch,
afternoon tea or dinner with friends in the often buzzing and lively
atmosphere.

There's daily changing Blackboard Menu with The Catch of The Bay and more.
There's also our Mile Away Menu on which everything on it comes from within
a mile of us* and our Seasonally Changing Menu with some perennial
favourites such as Fish & Chips in beer batter with real proper chips and
mushy peas, 28 day hung Kentish Beef with Béarnaise, Romney Marsh Lamb,
Monkshill Farm Pork Chops, Rope-grown Mussels in scrumpy and more...

In winter, guests can warm themselves by our roaring log fires whilst in
summer they are welcome to enjoy the sun in our beach style walled garden.

You can even take a Spa Break here and benefit from the haven of peace and
tranquility in the grounds of our sister hotel's fabulous Spa a two minute
drive or short stroll away...
The White Cliffs Hotel nestles in the heart of the village of St Margarets
at Cliffe near Dover, Kent, a Dover hotel ideally situated only ninety
minutes drive or 75 minutes by the new High Speed Train service from the
city of London & seven minutes drive from the port of Dover. With ample FREE
ONSITE PARKING The White Cliffs is a hassle-free alternative to hotels in
the traffic-filled centre and port of Dover.

PLEASE NOTE: ROOM RATES INCLUDE A NICE AND HEALHTY BUFFET BREAKFAST WHICH
COMPRISES OF FRESH FRUIT, YOGHURTS, CEREALS, PASTRIES, TOAST & BREAD,
JUICES, HAMS, CHEESES, TEA & COFFEE. A FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST IS AVAILABLE
FOR FIVE POUNDS EXTRA PER PERSON
Picture of The White Cliffs Hotel, DOVER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff. Limited menu not done well. Wrap around shower curtain. Cold bed/bathroom.
Radiators set to heat the room when I went to bed...NO heating in the morning. Room was uncomfortably cold. Shower in bath - but track restricted showering space to a wrap around curtain - showered with a cold wet shower curtain wrapped around me! Rather 70's! Very comfy bed but with poor visibility of TV - could only be viewed through the brass bedstead.
At dinner my requested medium/rare steak was served to me very well done - so dried and tough to be tasteless and leathery - I left 3/4 untouched. Chips and onion accompaniment's were excellent though. When asked, I explained why I had left my steak. I was immediately offered a replacement or a refund...can't say any fairer than that.

Reviewed by
Ian Smith

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location for Cross Channel Ferry
The room we stayed in looked a bit dated but as we were only staying one night prior to boarding a cross channel ferry it did not matter too much. Lovely evening meal in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Barry M

From Buckfastleigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in September
Great location to explore the East Kent coastline and Canterbury.
The hotel was great and the staff very attentive.
One minor gripe, the wifi was poor in the room, otherwise everything was good.

Reviewed by
Terry H

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel near dover
Perfect hotel just a short drive from dover and the cliffs and a great stop off before a ferry crossing. Very friendly staff and nice buffet breakfast and small garden. Room was nice - 2 rooms so kids could stay in the apartment. Dinner lovely food. Only negative was the price - room and food on the expensive side, but we knew the price and it was much nicer than expected so didn't mind.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, well kept hotel with friendly staff
Beautiful, homely hotel with friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Standard room was small but still comfortably fit a travel cot. Only criticism was the lack of sound-proofing - fire doors were banging through early evening but nothing so bad that it stopped any of us from sleeping.

Reviewed by
Katie B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spur-of- the-Moment Visit
We often take trips on impulse, as life is still very busy and we like to get away when we can ~ and we are always prepared to take pot-luck! We are often very lucky ~ and our stay at The White Cliffs Hotel was just such a fortunate find: super spot; quiet, ground-floor room in The Mews; welcoming, friendly staff and delicious meals in The Bay Restaurant after long days sightseeing around the Thanet Coast. We had three gorgeous weather days out of four ~ and even breakfast in the garden on Easter Monday. Thanks very much. The Bicknells

Reviewed by
Treld Pelkey Bicknell

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful and very comfortable
Excellent dinner menu and lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
katherine h

From France
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
This hotel is different, quirky, and a very friendly place to stay. The staff are very polite and pleasant, and help to make this a most comfortable and enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the room! Executive Double - don't think so?
Door had been left open so the room was full of flies and there were leaves in the lobby entrance. The chap on reception just handed us the keys, having escorted us to the room, and didn't really seem interested.Toilet area had a bad odor, which is probably why the door had been left open . The wardrobe in the lobby area was grubby and the shelves were "sticky" - although plenty of room. Handles missing off some of the bedroom furniture which resulted in me jamming my fingers between the drawers - still sore!
Breakfast and bar staff were brilliant and the overall ambiance of the place is quite good and quirky. Nice location with plenty of parking.

Reviewed by
J Evans

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Original
I loved the whole atmosphere of the hotel, it has a personal touch, unusual , I loved the teepee in the garden, and the accommodation was excellent, i had no 14 upstairs, there was kitchen area and a lounge, and lots of coffee and tea and hot chocolate to drink.

Reviewed by
Marisa P

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next