The White Cliffs Hotel

4

HIGH STREET St Margarets-at-cliffe, DOVER, CT15 6AT

Price From 173.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • mathew r

  • March 2015

Noisy Room

Spent a Saturday night here but unfortunately got a room above the pub area from which you could hear all the drunken ramblings of the punters.

Finally went down about 11.50pm to ask when the pub was due to close so I could get some sleep. They knew what I was talking about and moved the remaining punters to another section of the pub but unfortunately the damage was done.

All in all, they knew what the issue was and reacted accordingly but not something I wanted to have to deal with when looking for a relaxing evening away, nor after forking out the £130 price tag for the night. I'd suggest for those that do stay, request that you don't get put in one of the rooms above the pub. Although you may be fine if you're a heavy sleeper or there on a quiet week night.

Otherwise, we did enjoy the food which was good value.

  • joanna a

  • February 2015

Great place to stay!

My boyfriend and I had a trip to Dover and we stayed at the White Cliffs for a night.

The hotel is in a great location situated in only a few minute drive away from the beach. The staff very friendly and helpful. we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed it. The breakfast was very nice too. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Ian Smith

  • October 2014

Excellent staff. Limited menu not done well. Wrap around shower curtain. Cold bed/bathroom.

Radiators set to heat the room when I went to bed...NO heating in the morning.

Room was uncomfortably cold. Shower in bath - but track restricted showering space to a wrap around curtain - showered with a cold wet shower curtain wrapped around me. Rather 70's. Very comfy bed but with poor visibility of TV - could only be viewed through the brass bedstead. At dinner my requested medium/rare steak was served to me very well done - so dried and tough to be tasteless and leathery - I left 3/4 untouched. Chips and onion accompaniment's were excellent though. When asked, I explained why I had left my steak. I was immediately offered a replacement or a refund...can't say any fairer than that.

  • Barry M

  • October 2014

Good Location for Cross Channel Ferry

The room we stayed in looked a bit dated but as we were only staying one night prior to boarding a cross channel ferry it did not matter too much.

Lovely evening meal in the restaurant.

  • Terry H

  • October 2014

Short stay in September

Great location to explore the East Kent coastline and Canterbury.

The hotel was great and the staff very attentive. One minor gripe, the wifi was poor in the room, otherwise everything was good.

  • Richard S

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel near dover

Perfect hotel just a short drive from dover and the cliffs and a great stop off before a ferry crossing.

Very friendly staff and nice buffet breakfast and small garden. Room was nice - 2 rooms so kids could stay in the apartment. Dinner lovely food. Only negative was the price - room and food on the expensive side, but we knew the price and it was much nicer than expected so didn't mind.

  • Katie B

  • May 2014

Clean, well kept hotel with friendly staff

Beautiful, homely hotel with friendly staff and lovely atmosphere.

Standard room was small but still comfortably fit a travel cot. Only criticism was the lack of sound-proofing - fire doors were banging through early evening but nothing so bad that it stopped any of us from sleeping.

  • Treld Pelkey Bicknell

  • April 2014

Spur-of- the-Moment Visit

We often take trips on impulse, as life is still very busy and we like to get away when we can ~ and we are always prepared to take pot-luck.

We are often very lucky ~ and our stay at The White Cliffs Hotel was just such a fortunate find: super spot; quiet, ground-floor room in The Mews; welcoming, friendly staff and delicious meals in The Bay Restaurant after long days sightseeing around the Thanet Coast. We had three gorgeous weather days out of four ~ and even breakfast in the garden on Easter Monday. Thanks very much. The Bicknells

  • katherine h

  • January 2014

Friendly, helpful and very comfortable

Excellent dinner menu and lovely breakfast.

  • Paul N

  • August 2013

Relaxing stay

This hotel is different, quirky, and a very friendly place to stay.

The staff are very polite and pleasant, and help to make this a most comfortable and enjoyable experience.