No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Cliffs Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HIGH STREET St Margarets-at-cliffe, DOVER, CT15 6AT
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St.
Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's
Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England
to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes
drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover.

The hotel is centred around an archetypal Kentish weather-boarded inn that
dates back to the 16th Century the style captures the essence of life in
coastal England with a contemporary atmosphere and a refreshingly
independent feel.

The Bay Restaurant & Bar is at the heart of the hotel, as the Michelin Guide
would say 'it's the sort of place worth that's worth a detour' if passing
through Dover. The place attracts locals who often drop in for lunch,
afternoon tea or dinner with friends in the often buzzing and lively
atmosphere.

There's daily changing Blackboard Menu with The Catch of The Bay and more.
There's also our Mile Away Menu on which everything on it comes from within
a mile of us* and our Seasonally Changing Menu with some perennial
favourites such as Fish & Chips in beer batter with real proper chips and
mushy peas, 28 day hung Kentish Beef with Béarnaise, Romney Marsh Lamb,
Monkshill Farm Pork Chops, Rope-grown Mussels in scrumpy and more...

In winter, guests can warm themselves by our roaring log fires whilst in
summer they are welcome to enjoy the sun in our beach style walled garden.

You can even take a Spa Break here and benefit from the haven of peace and
tranquility in the grounds of our sister hotel's fabulous Spa a two minute
drive or short stroll away...
The White Cliffs Hotel nestles in the heart of the village of St Margarets
at Cliffe near Dover, Kent, a Dover hotel ideally situated only ninety
minutes drive or 75 minutes by the new High Speed Train service from the
city of London & seven minutes drive from the port of Dover. With ample FREE
ONSITE PARKING The White Cliffs is a hassle-free alternative to hotels in
the traffic-filled centre and port of Dover.

PLEASE NOTE: ROOM RATES INCLUDE A NICE AND HEALHTY BUFFET BREAKFAST WHICH
COMPRISES OF FRESH FRUIT, YOGHURTS, CEREALS, PASTRIES, TOAST & BREAD,
JUICES, HAMS, CHEESES, TEA & COFFEE. A FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST IS AVAILABLE
FOR FIVE POUNDS EXTRA PER PERSON
Picture of The White Cliffs Hotel, DOVER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character
A beautifully laid out hotel, with a large garden that would have been very welcoming if the weather had been kinder. We stayed in the loft area and had access to a comfortable private lounge area. My only small complaint was that the shaver point in our bathroom didn't seem to be working but I was able to use another room nearby. The continental breakfast was excellent, but we didn't dine there as we were dining with friends and were only staying for one night.

Reviewed by
M Pitt

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent dog friendly hotel
Excellent staff, could not be more friendly and helpful. Room clean, modern and very comfortable. Restaurant also excellent. We travel regularly to France with a dog so are very happy to have found this hotel, we will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
d flynn

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel we will return to.
We stayed in the four poster bedroom. Perfect size for two. Bed was sooo comfortable, room was lovely and cosy. Ample cupboard space. We could hear the people underneath us in dinning area but it was not for long or that load. We opted for the continental breakfast as we'd eaten lots the night before else where. The food did look wonderful tho! Even tho the staff were young they were very hospitable and friendly. It was within walking distance of a great pub, The Smugglers. I just wish we had eaten at the hotel as the smugglers was very dissapointing food !

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely restful stay, in a huge family room...
We booked lastminute just looking for somewhere close to London to use as a recovery spot after Christmas, so had no real expectations of the White Cliffs, but it really hit the spot for us. The hotel was very friendly and welcoming, a lovely comfortable bar and restaurant area where we were never made to feel like our kids were noisy or causing any nuisance. They have managed to make the space feel right, regardless of whether you have kids or not, so a couple or adult-only party would have felt in a grown-up space too. It feels very much like a family-run hotel, but not at all amateurish.
Our 'family room' turned out to be pretty much a self-contained apartment, a huge space with living kitchen, stairs and landing and two decent sized bedrooms. So much more that what we have previously seen described as 'family rooms', and very comfortable. In particular the kitchen facilities meant we could do some simple food for the kids ourselves, although the in-hotel chippie also helped us out. A quibble would be the fact that there was only a shower attachment on the bath, and not a shower fitting, which was a bit annoying, but we can cope with that. The furnishings were fine - simple and comfortable but with a small attention to detail (e.g. more lamps to give subdued lighting, slightly better curtains) it could be very nice indeed. But a small complaint really.
All in all, a great value hotel, perfect for a family that wants some imdependence, but a bit of comfort and luxury too. Incidentally, baby monitors stretch from the room to the bar so we were able to enjoy some civilised drinks as well.

Reviewed by
Rachel A

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best in St.M @ Cliffe
I'd stay here instead of Wallet's Crt because it's in town and within reach of the glitz and glamour that is St. Margaret's, The staff are lovely.

Reviewed by
James A

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY PLEASANT
VERY PLEASANT STAY LOVELY ACCOMODATION AND HOTEL BUT WOULD LIKE SOME MORE SPECIAL OFFERS FOR THE SPRING TO INCLUDE USE OF THEIR WALLETT'S COURT SPA.WOULD LOVE TO SEE MORE OFFERS PLEASE .

Reviewed by
cheryl schofield

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tried hard, but missed the mark
The staff were polite and helpful, but the meals failed. We sent back the chile crab liguine, as it was off. Don't they taste food before serving it? They did after we complained, and took it off the menu. The cooked breakfast was greasy. We have stayed at the sister hotel Walletts Court on several occasions, and were disappointed by the White Ciffs Hotel. Excellent, affordable wines went some way towards making the experience more palatable.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, we're glad you found us to be polite and helpful. We're really sorry your dining experience didn't match your expectations. Your feedback about the crab was passed back to the chaps at Deal who supply our fish and seafood directly from the day boats that land there daily on the beach. Dishes such as crab are featured on our daily changing blackboard which accompanies our full a la carte menu guaranteeing the freshest of produce from Kent. We've had a look at our cooked breakfast offering, it's always cooked to order from scratch we're paying closer attention to it now and using other cooking methods to reduce the fat content. Thanks also for noticing our great wines at really affordable prices, we go a long way to source smashing wines for our guests. We continue to work closely with our sister hotel at Wallett's Court and share the same suppliers, staff and enthusiasm to ensure your experience with us is as good as it can be.

Reviewed by
Adrian Bernard

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel situated close to Dover port, the village is quite but has several pubs which all serve food.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful & informitive.

Reviewed by
PAUL C

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our reception was friendly and efficient. The downstairs areas of the hotel restaurant and bar are modern and appear well maintained. Our room was rather disappointing by comparison. It was created from two small rooms. There was an extra single bed in the room. The main double bed was placed in one end only wide enough for one small bedside table. The equipment and services in the room were perfectly adequate. The adjoining bathroom is fairly basic and a bit tired.
The restaurant is efficient and food good, but rather expensive, so not considered good value.
The continental breakfast was disappointing.

ManagementResponse

We take great pride in being friendly and efficient, so we're happy that our approach has been noticed. We'll take a look at our breakfast offering. At the moment we have an extensive 'All you can eat' Continental Breakfast Buffet which includes tea, coffee, hot chocolate, a choice of fresh fruit juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, toast, cold meats and cheeses. There is a choice of cooked breakfast from Eggs Benedict to Kippers and our Full English Breakfast is freshly prepared from locally sourced produce of the highest quality, a cooked breakfast is available from as little as £2.50 extra. Our restaurant has again been featured in the 2013 Good Food Guide and we hope to offer good food at great value. At the moment first courses and desserts start at £4.95 with main courses from £12.95, on some occasions when our Lucky 7 promotion is running there is also a special main course from Monday to Friday for just £7.00. We also offer bar snacks from as little as £3.50. With regard to room sizes, being a 16th Century building the rooms are all of differing sizes ranging from 20 msq to 36 msq. We've taken a look at the position of the bed and the bedside table arrangements in room 3 and will be installing a second bedside table. Bathrooms are kitted out in a simple way and we offer lovely REN Skincare toiletries for our guests. We take all feedback very seriously and love the challenge to improve our service and facilities for our many happy returning guests. We always urge our guests to inform us at the time if there is a shortfall in their expectations and then we have the opportunity to fix things there and then. Thanks for listening...

Reviewed by
Simon G

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable awayday
We booked this hotel, having stayed at its sister hotel, Wallets Court, some time ago. The hotel is small, set in a couple of clapper board houses on the road through St Margaret's at Cliff. The team are very friendly (and very young) and made us very welcome. The room was a reasonable size, with views over the garden and with a nice bathroom. Good black out curtains for light sleepers.
Downstairs, the restaurant is just off reception and is furnished with light woord furniture and painyings of local scenes, which are for sale (some are really good). The menu had local fish and a good selection of meat dishes. Local mackerel was the delicious dish of the day. There is a great selection of unusual beers from the small bar.
The hotel has a comfortable lounge, but it's quite small.
We enjoyed our stay (despite the rain) and would return. If you want a change from the restaurant, the Coastguard pub on the beach in St Margaret's is really good, but probably best to book in the evenings.

Reviewed by
John o

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next