Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Kent > Seabrook Hotels > Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CHERITON PARK CHERITON HIGH STREET, FOLKESTONE, CT18 8AN
Base yourself at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone-Channel Tunnel hotel for convenient train and ferry links to mainland Europe. A modern hotel set in rolling Kent countryside , Holiday Inn Express Folkestone-Channel Tunnel is a peaceful base if you're travelling to Paris, Bruges or beyond. We're the closest hotel to the Folkestone Eurotunnel terminal and Dover Ferry Port is just 15 minutes' drive away. Helpful staff will ensure you receive a complimentary breakfast no matter how early your start, and our 24-hour Front Desk means you can check out at a time that suits you. We're easy to reach, just off junction 12 of the M20, and there's plenty of complimentary parking on site. You can surf the web with complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas and host events for up to 30 guests in one of Holiday Inn Express Folkestone-Channel Tunnel's 4 meeting rooms . Extend your stay to visit historic Dover Castle and the iconic white cliffs, a short drive from the hotel. It's only 20 minutes' drive to Ashford International Station for Eurostar passenger services to Continental Europe. Enjoy hearty pub fare in the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone-Channel Tunnel's Great Room, and mingle over drinks in the stylish turquoise bar. You can order food from local takeaway restaurants to enjoy in the peace and quiet of your comfortable Guest room with views of the surrounding countryside.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, FOLKESTONE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polite staff, poor room quailty
The staff were very helpful. The rooms are small, and very expensive. The bed was broken and we didnt have enough towels!

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a difference a smile makes
Booked in on Sunday evening - the young lady on reception was excellent. Very friendly welcome. What a contrast to the lady who was on reception in the morning. Grumpy, no manners, very hostile. If you don't like your job, leave and get another one as you are letting your employer down.

Reviewed by
Tim Dyer

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second time staying here and can confirm this is a lovely, welcoming hotel and excellent value for money. It is perfect for staying before/after Eurotunnel crossing (barely 10 mins drive from the terminal). The staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast ok but tables are cleared very quickly and there is an air of calm. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Richard C

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sausages
Clean tidy hotel that seems to run on a skeleton staff. Free internet in reception. Rooms are spacious. Tv with a wide choice of channels. Tea/Coffee facility in the room. Very comfortable bed that I could have stayed in all day!Theres a shower, no bath. Efficient aircon. Clever shared door design to bathroom that swings though 90 degrees to create an enclosed WC allowing another person to use the shower or wash basin, very good if you have a family or a partner who camps in the wc - NEAT design! The shower was warm on max setting (not the first time Ive had this experience at this hotel): I guess for sharpening up the managers spreadsheet for the monthly p&l to regional manager. Its located just off the motoway so easy for a quick exit. Theres a large Tesco/Petrol station half a mile away (open 24hr I think). SAGA head office located next door for the Victor Meldrews of this world. Hotel is a bit out of town, itl cost you around £6 to get to F town centre. I didnt have evening meal but it seems quite a few do, and its a simple short menu that any "ping chef" can handle (I doubt much is prepped from raw ingredients on site). Breakfast included (check your booking)- a buffet choice of hot and cold (fruit, cereal toast etc, scambled egg and sausages ... and marmite for anyone with a craving returning from europe). Theres no breakfast cooking to order which is shame as I really fancy a fried egg & bacon. The sausages are rather glutinous and tasteless ... rather like Linda McCartneys' vegetarian sausage effort. No bacon or friend eggs or tomatoes, hence only 3 for the food (I can only rate breakfast). Warm shower, hence 4 for the room .... turn the thermostat up guys! I guess my card is marked if I stay there again . In conclusion, a decent fryup and hot water are needed.

Reviewed by
matthew h

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception
Ther reception was not ver warm and welcoming. I chose this as it claimed to be dog friendly but charging £15 is hardly dog friendly and I found the threatening notices unnecessary and intrusive.

Reviewed by
E Scott

From Exeter, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Folkestone stay
Very convenient

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Lincoln, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent pit stop for channel tunnel
Excellent overnight stop ideal for the shuttle service to France. Overall cannot find fault, breakfast good and excellent value with Late rooms. Let down by high prices for poor restuarant food, would use hotel again but eat elswhere.

Reviewed by
T Bridges

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such good Valued but don't expect to be able to feedback small children before bedtime
Such excellent value for money, convenient location, can recommend . However we were amazed when we tried to eat in the hotel restaurant at 6pm on a sunday night, with two tired small people that had been travelling for 6 hours who only needed a baked potato. We were told they already had a booking for 6 people and they could not feed any more people, i joked you can Only feed Six at a time! 'Well yes tonight the hotel is Only staffed by me (on reception), my boss and the chef' not really the customers problem, so we got back in the car and drove 1jnc down eating at brickfields every night, shame they lost our business really. If you want to eat there, book early!

Reviewed by
JULIA A

From VENTNOR, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late night from the ferry
The hotel is not so easy to find. Once there I was given the wrong room number but this was quickly resolved. Opening the windw was a no go becuse of stong winds. Room was tidy and simple. There was no WiFi in the room. Much of what I expected for an Express. Breakfast was basic. Check-out was fine and I was back on the road.

Reviewed by
John V

From Koeln, Germany
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked on line and clicked on double room, on arrival was told we would have to have twin room, which I queried and was told that the twin room was only room available.We did not find hotel staff friendly except chef who was cheerful. We found breakfast very disappointing. Toilet bowl was not cleaned out properly.

Reviewed by
N Martin

From Basingstoke, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next