No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oak House

4AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
The Square , Axbridge, BS26 2AP
Axbridge itself nestles at the foot of the Mendip Hills and looks out over the natural beauty of the Somerset Levels. The delightful Town Square lies at the heart of historic narrow medieval streets and is flanked by elegant town houses and a Georgian Town Hall.

The Oak House is a shining example of Somerset accommodation, with comfortable en suite rooms offering all the modern amenities you would expect. Nearby are many places of interest - Cheddar Gorge and Caves, Wookey Hole, Bath, Wells Cathedral and the beaches of Weston–super-Mare and Burnham-on-Sea to name but a few – so after a day spent exploring the local area, relax and enjoy a drink and a bite to eat in the cosy tranquillity of The Oak.

We are very proud of our passion for good food and have two fine young chefs to deliver the excellence we believe all restaurants should. Their main aim is to get the tastiest food to you in its best condition while keeping as local as possible.

Few can rival that unbeatable combination of outstanding hospitality and first class comfort, all delivered with genuine professionalism and a welcoming smile.

Please note that our restaurant is closed Monday and Tuesday evenings.
Picture of The Oak House, Axbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

precious night away
Pleasant welcome curtious Scott offered help with bag
big room clean nice touch flask with cold milk
only thing missing a fan very hot night none available we were in the delux room no air conditioning or fan it does need it as room over looks the square which is fairly noisy so no window open
Tasted dinner good breakfast

Reviewed by
melanie dale

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel. I think the bar area could have been a bit cleaner and a bit more up to date. Very friendly staff and happy to help with anything. We couldn't have an evening meal as they currently don't offer this on a Monday and Tuesday but believe this may change in the near future. However breslfast had plenty on offer and very good. Thank you

Reviewed by
Tabatha Chance

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
Excellent stay, comfortable as bad friendly

Reviewed by
G O'Neill

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming little place, take away the cars and brick weave and you would be forgiven for thinking you had been transported back to the 1700s. Quiet quaint and peaceful.

Reviewed by
Nigel Spooner

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Lovely friendly staff who made us feel very welcome and nothing was any trouble to them. The room was great and very clean. No trouble with noise as other reviews have mentioned. Food was really lovely and the area the hotel is in is ideal.

Reviewed by
Kathryn M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quality and good value
Hotel in very unexpected location - a really charming, Germanic style, Medieval square. Professional and warm greeting on arrival and throughout stay. Room was just what I wanted - VERY clean, comfortable, pleasant decor and reasonable size. Room contained fresh coffee for cafetiere, fresh milk in flask and bottled water - all very much appreciated. Bathroom very clean with plenty of soft towels, lovely deep bath and efficient shower that didn't require an engineering degree to operate. Breakfast nicely cooked and good products, served in pleasant modern/rustic dining room. Parking available on square (1 hr free) or nearby car park - but both free between 6pm to following 8/9am. Great base for exploring wider West Country; very close to lots of great places like Bath, Bristol, Wells, Cheddar and coast.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Accomomdation
My fiancé and I checked into the Oak House last week for an overnight stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience from start to finish. Every detail was catered for, allowing our stay to be as pleasant as possible. This was our second visit to the Oak House due to our first also being thoroughly enjoyed. I would certainly return for a third visit and beyond. We would highly recommend the Oak House to anyone who's considering their stay. Worth every penny.

Reviewed by
Tazeem Biswell

From Buckingham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Great room with good facilities and a friendly welcome. Breakfast was great in the morning with a good choice, great criossants and pastries plus cereal and a cooked breakfast option.
Parking was a bit disappointing but resolved with an overnight free car park 100 metres walk away after a quick drop off outside the hotel.

Reviewed by
Zak M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very traditional hotel. Attention to detail spot spot on. Partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
J Campbell

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greeted as soon as we entered the premises which was lovely. Sleep wasn't that amazing as our room looked out on busy road however accommodation and on suite was nice and modern. Only down side was bar located under our room so no sleep before 12am. Would recommend to a friend in a different room not above bar. Breakfast was a little disappointing as only continental and lack of choice in cooked breakfast. Would happily visit again in the future.

Reviewed by
s firkins

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next