No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Heart Of England

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Meriden Road Fillongley, Coventry, CV7 8DX
(Also known as Old Hall House) Seven beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms. Recently refurbished to a very high standard, each of our stylish rooms boasts solid oak furniture, comfortable soft furnishings, state of the art LCD screen TV and high speed internet access for work or play. Other facilities include direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury towels and toiletries for your comfort.

The Quicken Tree Restaurant
Visit our beautiful on-site restaurant The Quicken Tree for your lunch or an evening meal and enjoy panoramic views over 180 acres of Warwickshire Country Side.
Our opening times are Tuesday- Saturday 12.00pm-3.00pm and 6.00pm-9.30pm
Sunday 12.00pm-6.00pm
Monday- Closed all day and evening. We are happy to recommend local alternative to you.

Picture of Heart Of England, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very bizarre experience.
Arrived late so had to walk over to the restaurant in the dark. Told that the car park will be locked and that dogs are patrolling at night.
The room was in a cellar, not allowed to open the windows, which looked at a wall. Very claustrophobic indeed. The stairs were steep. Next morning you could hear every foot step over head.
Breakfast was only served between 7.30 and 8.30.
To cap it all at the back of the wardrobe was a perspex panel and behind it some sort of mummified old woman complete with a rat and an owl! I thought I was In Psycho the movie.

Reviewed by
Simon Brown

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bitterly disappointed that the Wifi did not work

Reviewed by
peter bowman

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very polite service
I got there late, but they cooked me a meal even though the restraunt was closed

Reviewed by
Jon M

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but expensive.
If you arrive after 5 30pm the reception is closed and you have to seek out someone in the restaurant which isn't obvious . The girls in the restaurant although very friendly don't have any knowledge of the accommodation. The accommodation is in the old house and is comfortable and clean but couldn't get the WiFi to work and with no one on site, there was no help on this which was a problem for me. I was told breakfast could only be served from 7 30am which in practice turned out to be 8 00am. Again the staff were as helpful as they could be but it made for a late departure.
The focus here is quite obviously on weekend functions and with little focus on the weekday business B and B for which it is too expensive for what is on offer.

Reviewed by
andrew b

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved everything about it. Good location and setting, nice people and wonderful room. If I am in the area I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast diner good to. Slightly odd arrangements as restuarant is not part of hotel.

Reviewed by
julie m

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We booked this hotel for a one night stay on a Friday. Our room was clean and comfortable, the rooms are on the small side but ours was adequate, with plenty of storage for a short stay. It had a reasonable size and modern bathroom. The bed was comfy. The staff at breakfast were very helpful and friendly, with plenty of tea, coffee , water, juice and full English cooked to order.
The only downside was there seemed to be a hen do or wedding party staying in the adjacent rooms who got everyone up at the crack of dawn, or had just got in! We could here everything they were doing and didn't get to rest in as you would expect when away.

Reviewed by
Sandra M

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely, characterful place to stay
Set just a few miles away from Birmingham airport and the NEC, this is a lovely, characterful country hotel. Our room was beautifully furnished and equipped, and we wish we could have stayed longer. I would definitely recommend the Heart of England, and we will definitely stay again if we get the chance.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable and the en-suite sparkling. All of the staff were very helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Food at the on-site restaurant (The Quicken Tree) was very good and well presented. It was also reasonably priced, surprising considering the ‘captive’ audience.
Minor comment – breakfast doesn’t start until 08:00 so if you have an early start you might have to travel on an empty tummy !
Major complaint – the reception closes at 18:30 and if you telephone after this time your call is diverted to an external agency. I tried calling at 19:00 hours as I could not find the hotel (wet dark January night and no SatNav) The woman who took my call was not interested in the fact I was lost, and despite providing my name & telephone number she refused to assist until I had confirmed my marital status. This was irrelevant to my query and extremely frustrating, I therefore ended the call and carried on my (eventually successful) search.

Reviewed by
Sue J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
The hotel was very clean and welcoming with plenty of parking. We would highly recommend the restaurant in the evening we had a fantastic meal there and would definately stay in the hotel again.

Reviewed by
j wootten

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next