No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Howard Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Lower Green, Ilmington, CV36 4LT
On the picturesque village green of Ilmington, set in the crook of the Cotswold Hills, lies The Howard Arms, a stunning 400-year-old Cotswold stone inn at the centre of village life. The flagstoned bar and open-plan dining room create a civilised look without sacrificing period charm, and it is all imbued with an informal atmosphere and a log fire that burns for most of the year.

Eight stylish rooms sit above and behind the inn and with not a street-light nor traffic within miles, a peaceful nights sleep is guaranteed.

We offer a healthy selection of real ales and wine drinkers can choose from a list of over thirty served by the glass. We take pride in sourcing excellent ingredients locally for the kitchen and many of our suppliers are named on our menu.

The Howard Arms is the start and finish to a number of idyllic local walks, and is ideal for exploring Hidcote and Kiftsgate gardens. There is a lovely garden to enjoy in the summer.
Picture of The Howard Arms, Ilmington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect stay
Excellent stay in a great little hotel in a beautiful location. Everything was perfect and I would highly recommend this to anybody who is visiting the area.

Reviewed by
David B

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely situation, great pub, superb food. We plan to come again

Reviewed by
william s

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
Although we had only booked half an hour prior to arriving, the service and welcome was first class, especially considering we had arrived right in the middle of their busy evening time. The room was amazing, a very contemporary designed room dominated by an enormous and very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath which was cleaned to a very high standard. Tea and coffee facilities was above average, if the biscuits weren't home made, then they weren't your run of the mill shortbread. The bar down stairs was warm (due to a huge log fire) and friendly providing great food. I would highly recommend this place.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
We decided to book in at the godward arms on Friday for the following night. When we arrived we were shown to our room which had a lot of character and charm. The room was very clean and had everything we needed in it. We ate in the restaurant and can only say the food and service was fantastic. Much of the food was sourced locally and was of a high quality. The only down thing we found was that the shower in our room was not working properly but once we spoke to the manager he was very sorry about it and deducted some money off our bill which we thought was a very good. If we are in the area again we will definitely stay at the Howard Arms again and reccomend it to our friends and family. Thank you for your great service and a great weekend 😊

Reviewed by
P Redfern

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have been many times over the years. This time the experience was better than the last. But still not to the standard it was say 4/5 years ago. The food though is better. The place really needs a coat of paint as the hallways etc are looking worse for wear plus the stair carpets etc.

Reviewed by
Julia K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Howard Arms
Off to not a great start as told there was no room for us although we had booked - this was rectified when it was checked. Booked dinner at 8 but when arrived no record of this. Had the steak which was excellent. Nice setting of hotel and had a walk around picturesque village after dinner. The room we stayed in was in the old hotel part and was unfortunately very tired and not worth money paid. There are rooms in the newer part which apparently are much better. Bar staff in the evening and breakfast staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
John T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent front of house, very welcoming staff, we booked a table for out evening meal which was very good. Super breakfast too, would definately recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
rex h

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
I've stayed many times and this pub with rooms never fails to please.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant!
Great food freshly sourced. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definatly go again.

Reviewed by
K Lunnon

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
I stayed here with my Japanese colleagues whilst on a business trip. We are all extremely frequent worldwide travellers and can reccomend this hotel without question or hesitation. It is best described as a pub with rooms and an excellent restaurant. Everyone can feel relaxed and comfortable in this establishment, a mixture of ancient and modern that is well combined. If I have one niggle it would be that when payment time came the card machine was handed over with an option of a tip...I find this acceotable for the restaurant but not for the rooms. Stay here you will enjoy it.

Reviewed by
John Loftus

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next