No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fitzwilliam Townhouse

41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street Dublin 2, Dublin, Dublin City Centre
When you stay at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse you can enjoy one of the best locations in Dublin City. We are just a stones throw from St. Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Temple Bar district and major shops and theatre's. You can enjoy the surroundings of this spacious historical Georgian Building dating back to the mid-1700's. We have free Wi-Fi in all rooms and reception is open 24 hours.

You will be: -
5 minute walk from National Museum & Gallery & National Concert Hall
8 minute walk from Trinity College.
10 minute walk from Ballsbridge
15 minute walk from Temple Bar, Dublin Castle, O'Connell Bridge, RDS & Bord Gais Energy Theatre

Breakfast is available in Isabel's Restaurant & Wine Bar which is attached to Fitzwilliam Townhouse and located on our lower ground floor. Prices vary from €8-€10 per person. Breakfast is served 8am-10am midweek and 9am-11am at weekends.
Picture of Fitzwilliam Townhouse, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money and great staff
We booked this in advance for the rugby and it was excellent value for money. What made it special too was the staff, the general manager was very friendly and helpful and made excellent recommendations. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. The room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
susan r

From Musselburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but nice enough!
The hotel is only basic - the rooms are a little dated and the floorboards are squeaky, but it was 'Cheap n cheerful' and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Reviewed by
Samantha I

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good times at Fitzwilliam Townhouse
This is a simple and good hotel. The staff are lovely, very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was to die for!! Highly recommended for a short stay in Dublin.

Reviewed by
Rory Fellowes

From , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very compact and therefore was not good value for the price I paid. The hairdryer was attached to the wall and was not near a mirror which made it impossible to dry my hair properly.

Reviewed by
MARY W

From BALLINCOLLIG, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the Fitzwilliam
Excellent location, adequate comfortable room. No bath - just a shower. Plumbing a bit noisy. Would stay again - good value for money and within easy walking distance to Grafton St / Trinity / Temp[le Bar etc

Reviewed by
J Turner

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with personality
We chose this place because it is not a chain. It's a lovely old building and has some of the quirks associated with not being a purpose built hotel, which was what we had hoped for. Ideal if you want to get away from faceless chain hotels.

Reviewed by
D Richards

From Bantry, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a bed
The only down side of this accomidation is that when we arrived we were informed that during winter months Monday - Thursday breakfast isn't provide, no where on the site does it say this.
Other wise great value for money, good size room, comfy bed, great location only 5 mins to centre of town.

Reviewed by
C Kerr

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great position South of the Liffy
Good place to stay just off the heart of the City, good bars and restaurants all within easy reach of the Townhouse - excellent

Reviewed by
Steven R

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Had a lovely stay. Hadn't wanted to be away from home since my Mum passed away a few months ago. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. Our room had lovely high ceilings and a huge window. I would definitely stay there again. The only downside is that we hadn't been staying in Dublin a few more days to enjoy this lovely townhouse. Pam

Reviewed by
pam t

From kilkenny, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the Heart of Dublin, fantastic staff, clean room with nice facilities
The room was a nice size, clean and tidy with a nice TV and ensuite bathroom. Shower was a bit small and there wasn't enough room to swing a cat in it, but I left my cat at home so that wasn't an issue.
Staff were fantastic from arrival, I arrived 2 hours early on the off chance my room would be ready, it wasn't but they directed me to a coffee house round the corner and advised it would be done in 10-15minutes.
All travel queries put to the various receptionists were answered without hesitation which helped me enjoy my stay of Dublin even more. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next