No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Castle Green , Taunton, TA1 1NF
Once a Norman fortress, the Castle at Taunton has been welcoming travellers to the town since the 12th century. The Chapman family have been running the hotel for 60 years and in that time it has acquired a worldwide reputation for the warmth of its hospitality. Located in the heart of England·s beautiful West Country, the Castle is the ideal base for exploring a region rich in history.
Picture of The Castle Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We were upgraded to the Garden Suite, from a Superior room. After a long journey, this was a very pleasant surprise.
The staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
The food was simply excellent.

Reviewed by
P Rigby Smith

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
This is the first time I have used this hotel but it won' t be the last. The staff were very friendly & efficient & the single room was comfortable & spacious. Mine was a late booking so the price paid (£79) was excellent value.

Reviewed by
B Leadbeater

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked through LateRooms.com so got a good deal on the room. If I had paid full price I might not have been so enamoured as some of the furniture in the room was quite dated, however I was extremely comfortable and liked the fact that staff always interacted personably with guests.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
The staff are extremely helpful and deal with requests quickly and a smile.

Reviewed by
G STYLES

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally over priced!!!
The only thing I enjoyed about my stay was leaving. Can't believe how much they charge. Less than basic room, outdated bathroom and decor and very rude staff except the gentleman that booked me in who could teach the extremely rude women who work there a lot in customer service. I wouldn't stay there again even if it were free. I'd rather stay in a Premiere Inn far better than the experience I received at The Castle.

Reviewed by
L Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Neil R
The bedroom was a good size and had everything that we needed i.e a dressing table with a mirror and plug nearby. The room was clean albeit a bit tired and the ceiling was stained in places. It was on the top floor and obviously the roof needed some attention. The bathroom was clean, roomy and well equipped. We did not sample the food as we needed to leave early but have stayed at The Castle previously and the food had always been excellent. It is in a very convenient location and would stay at The Castle again

Reviewed by
Neil R

From Broad Oak, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A memorable weekend
Our room was spacious and well appointed, with a pleasingly quiet outlook over the traffic free quadrangle. A drawback on our first night was the lack of sound insulation between our room and that next door. However this was rectified very efficiently. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice, and our dinner in the Brazz was ideal and good value. All the staff were friendly and helpful. A real treat for our special weekend.

Reviewed by
S Cox

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice frontage and reception, shame about the room
The Castle Hotel has an imposing frontage, good parking and impressive reception, unfortunatly the room, whilst clean was dated in decor and furnishings. The bathroom had discoloured and broken ceiling tiles, the bath panel was broken and the grouting nothing to write home about. Room service was ok, food was good, didnt appreciate a £5 tray charge.

Reviewed by
Sean O

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Building

Reviewed by
J Fitzgerald

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel but noisy
We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor.
The walls felt very thin as we could hear the tv and conversations from the next room.
The tv was so loud we had to ask reception to contact the guests in the next room to request the tv was turned down.

Reviewed by
Aileen O

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next