No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Portsmouth

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
PEMBROKE ROAD, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 2TA
Choose the Holiday Inn Portsmouth hotel for comfort and a great location close to historic naval sights. Check in to our uncluttered Lobby manned by friendly staff. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth hotel is a dockside walk from restaurants and shops at Gunwharf Quays , and minutes from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard . We are only a 5-minute taxi ride to Portsmouth and Southsea station for trains to London Waterloo. Southampton Airport is 22 miles away, and the hotel has car parking . Our dedicated team will look after your meeting in our 11 Academy meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Portsmouth. It's a 20-minute walk to Portsmouth Naval Base and Royal Naval HQ and a short drive to BAE Systems and the VT Group. There's high-speed Internet in Guest rooms, and 2 PCs in the Lounge. Take a tour of Nelson's flagship HMS Victory , a 20-minute walk from the hotel. You can enjoy great views from the 170-metre high Spinnaker Tower and visit the Dickens Museum , less than 1 mile away. Nearby Old Portsmouth is perfect for relaxing strolls to seaside pubs, and the friendly Front Desk can give tips to other local attractions. Relax in the jetted tub and swimming pool in our Spirit Health Club , and stay toned in the gym. You can order hot breakfasts and Sunday lunches in our chic restaurant, and there's 24-hour room service at Holiday Inn Portsmouth.
Picture of Holiday Inn Portsmouth, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Very good all round stay. Basic and clean.

ManagementResponse

Dear C Croft, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
C Croft

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and efficient staff. very rekaxing atmosphere

Reviewed by
Eamon Agnew

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
Everything in the room was good: comfy bed, great big mirrors, good bathroom, nice powerful shower. Everything we needed except no hairdryer ( I'm sure I could have asked for one though but borrowed one from my friend who had brought one).

ManagementResponse

Dear Alison B, Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed the room accommodations and bathroom facility. We have also noted your concerns on a few issues with the room amenities that you have faced during your stay. Please rest assured that it will be our continued endeavor to improve our services and I look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Alison B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin.
Hotel was comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was lovely. The Executive room I booked wasn't particularly fancy in anyway though and the bathroom was small with no ventilation. Perfect if you need somewhere to stay for a night, but starting to get a bit dated now and not necessarily worth £150+ a night in my opinion. For that money I'd find somewhere nicer if I was staying for a longer time. It is clean, functional and comfortable though.

ManagementResponse

Dear E Williams, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you appreciate our staff as well as the breakfast. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable we fell short of your expectations with the room you had. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward them to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon. Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
E Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Fantastic hotel

Reviewed by
H Griffiths

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab week end stay
this hotel is in a perfect position, its not near any noise or traffic but within walking distance to all the attractions. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends. The cleanliness of this hotel is second to none. the food in the restaurant was lovely and we enjoyed the whole experience of the week end. If you book here you wont be disappointed.

Reviewed by
p Goodall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, shame about the curry
Restaurant was pitch black on arrival, in fact closed, but when it opened it remained extremely dark! (meant to be 'ambience'). This improved a bit.
Curry (bar menu) marked as 'medium' but was very (too) hot though pricey.
Breakfast quality could be improved a bit but generally good and acceptable.
On the whole a pleasing place with good staff and good location. Asked for quiet room and this was hounoured. Room and facilities very nice.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Vivienne S

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
The hotel was excellent, lovely room, excellent food, friendly helpful staff and we liked the location of the hotel, not right in the centre of Portsmouth but only 5 minutes by taxi or a 10-15 minute walk away. Instead it was right on Southsea Common and close to the promenade, so it was lovely to come out of the hotel and have a lovely space to relax in and sit on one of the plentiful benches and watch the ships and the world go by. Will be recommending to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From St Peter Port Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very basic but value for money.

ManagementResponse

Dear Maureen B, Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Maureen B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Excellent staff in reception. Nice bar staff as well.

Reviewed by
Carol D

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next