No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Portsmouth

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
PEMBROKE ROAD, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 2TA
Choose the Holiday Inn Portsmouth hotel for comfort and a great location close to historic naval sights. Check in to our uncluttered Lobby manned by friendly staff. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth hotel is a dockside walk from restaurants and shops at Gunwharf Quays , and minutes from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard . We are only a 5-minute taxi ride to Portsmouth and Southsea station for trains to London Waterloo. Southampton Airport is 22 miles away, and the hotel has car parking . Our dedicated team will look after your meeting in our 11 Academy meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Portsmouth. It's a 20-minute walk to Portsmouth Naval Base and Royal Naval HQ and a short drive to BAE Systems and the VT Group. There's high-speed Internet in Guest rooms, and 2 PCs in the Lounge. Take a tour of Nelson's flagship HMS Victory , a 20-minute walk from the hotel. You can enjoy great views from the 170-metre high Spinnaker Tower and visit the Dickens Museum , less than 1 mile away. Nearby Old Portsmouth is perfect for relaxing strolls to seaside pubs, and the friendly Front Desk can give tips to other local attractions. Relax in the jetted tub and swimming pool in our Spirit Health Club , and stay toned in the gym. You can order hot breakfasts and Sunday lunches in our chic restaurant, and there's 24-hour room service at Holiday Inn Portsmouth.
Picture of Holiday Inn Portsmouth, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
Everything in the room was good: comfy bed, great big mirrors, good bathroom, nice powerful shower. Everything we needed except no hairdryer ( I'm sure I could have asked for one though but borrowed one from my friend who had brought one).

Reviewed by
Alison B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin.
Hotel was comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was lovely. The Executive room I booked wasn't particularly fancy in anyway though and the bathroom was small with no ventilation. Perfect if you need somewhere to stay for a night, but starting to get a bit dated now and not necessarily worth £150+ a night in my opinion. For that money I'd find somewhere nicer if I was staying for a longer time. It is clean, functional and comfortable though.

Reviewed by
E Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Fantastic hotel

Reviewed by
H Griffiths

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab week end stay
this hotel is in a perfect position, its not near any noise or traffic but within walking distance to all the attractions. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends. The cleanliness of this hotel is second to none. the food in the restaurant was lovely and we enjoyed the whole experience of the week end. If you book here you wont be disappointed.

Reviewed by
p Goodall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, shame about the curry
Restaurant was pitch black on arrival, in fact closed, but when it opened it remained extremely dark! (meant to be 'ambience'). This improved a bit.
Curry (bar menu) marked as 'medium' but was very (too) hot though pricey.
Breakfast quality could be improved a bit but generally good and acceptable.
On the whole a pleasing place with good staff and good location. Asked for quiet room and this was hounoured. Room and facilities very nice.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Vivienne S

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
The hotel was excellent, lovely room, excellent food, friendly helpful staff and we liked the location of the hotel, not right in the centre of Portsmouth but only 5 minutes by taxi or a 10-15 minute walk away. Instead it was right on Southsea Common and close to the promenade, so it was lovely to come out of the hotel and have a lovely space to relax in and sit on one of the plentiful benches and watch the ships and the world go by. Will be recommending to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From St Peter Port Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very basic but value for money.

ManagementResponse

Dear Maureen B, Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Maureen B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Excellent staff in reception. Nice bar staff as well.

Reviewed by
Carol D

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visiting family in southsea
I had a lovely weekend in Southsea. The hotel staff were great very efficient polite and happy. My room was a perfect size, very comfortable double bed clean and tidy bathroom/shower. For 2 mornings out of my stay I slept in and wasn't disturbed which was great considering some hotels completely ignore the Do Not Disturb sign in the mornings. The housekeeping staff came back in the afternoon each time to check if I wanted my room cleaned then or needed anything at all which I thought was a great touch! the pool and gym facilities were nice too. On one occasion I ordered room service for dinner while I was getting ready it was macaroni cheese and garlic bread approx £11 with a coke the porter was great, smartly dressed very polite and I could pay by card however the meal itself seemed like a microwave meal this was the only negative and not a big one at that. The hotel was perfectly central and within walking distance to everything. I'll be booking and staying again when I fly back!

Reviewed by
K Allan

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at this hotel was excellent and was a lovely experience. I would definitely stay here again. The staff were so friendly and lovely and this made our stay even better. I stayed here with a friend and we had a an excellent weekend away. Maz who was the reception manager was such a lovely person and made our stay a laugh and even better. I would very highly recommend staying here. The room itself was lovely and clean and the beds we're comfy.

Reviewed by
J Osborne

From Cromer, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next