No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Street, BA16 0EF
We welcome you to the Wessex, a modern hotel that nestles in the heart of historic and beautiful Somerset, in the Ancient Kingdom of Wessex. We are rated 3 Star AA Hotel.

We offer a warm welcome to a wide range of guests: from business people, tourists, shoppers at nearby Clark’s Village, sightseers, parents of Millfield children, walkers, cyclists, garden enthusiasts, visitors to the nearby Bath and West Showground to Carnival-goers … and many others.

The hotel is idealy placed for exploring the neraby attraction of Wells catherdrial, The Glastnbury Tor, Glastonbury Abbey, Chalice Well, The Shoe museum, Wooky Hole Caves, The fleet Air Arm Museum & Greenbank Pool
with the sea resort of Weston-Super- Mare and Burnam on sea only a 40  minutes drive and Stonehenge , City of Bath & Longlet Safari ParK only a 50 minutes drive.

The Wessex Hotel is the ideal venue for the conference Delegate in the West Country, located near the centre of Somerset in the Mendip Area, having a choice of three different-sized conference rooms as well as a large car park.

Guests and non-residents alike may enjoy our friendly hospitality in our restaurants and bars, or attend functions, anniversaries and wedding receptions in one of our two Function Rooms.

All  our rooms come with Freeview TV , WIFI &  a Full cooked English breakfast all included within the price

We look forward to hosting your visit to the Wessex Hotel.

Wishing you a blessed day 


Picture of Wessex Hotel, Street at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the Wessex
We stayed in an executive room which was really well presented, spacious and clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and professional also. Unfortunately the quality of food let the hotel down, I was looking forward to having the breakfast as it is some what of a luxury for me but I found the variety to be very lacking and the cooked breakfast really poor in both quality and quantity - it actually spoilt my experience. the waiting staff were not attentive either. I would recommend the hotel but on a bed basis only.

Reviewed by
S Godding-Povey

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was great value for money, a little dated but it is only a 3 star hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find I had a jacuzzi bath and a four poster bed when I arrived. Only real disappointment was that breakfast only started at 8am and I had to leave at 7.45 so couldn't make use of it.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

May stay
Room was clean and comfortable and I had a good stay. The hotel needs a makeover and is showing far too much wear and tear. The room was clean and I had the impression that they try and make the best of it to give you a good stay. My breakfast was good each day with quick friendly service. The TV was frustrating as the sign blamed the local transmitter but it it looked so like a digital signal not being received by an analogue aerial.

Reviewed by
Francis S

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed hotel.
I needed somewhere handy for Strode College and bus links and found it in the centrally located Wessex Hotel. There's lots of space and the room I had was large. Bedding and linen and cleanliness excellent. Some aspects of the decor a little tired. Great 2 course meal in the restaurant for £6.50. All staff very helpful and well trained. Comfy bed, warm room, slept like a log. Not all telly channels had a signal.

Reviewed by
c walton

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glastonbury
Good place would stay again

Reviewed by
M SMEE

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
The beds were hard and my husbands creaked every time her turned over. Beds on a wooden base not a divan.
TV had no remote, could have told us at reception. (alright they were new, but they weren't even tuned in properly - no BBC programmes.
Breakfast was stated as from 7.30, but no cooked breakfast until 8.00. Why not be told this at reception.

Reviewed by
J Matthews

From Aylesbury, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wouldn't stay again

Reviewed by
colette f

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room quite basic, and sink was full of water when we arrived. Didn't drain away even by the morning.

Reviewed by
Lee W

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run down, uncaring and shabby
Couldnt care less attitude throughout ina a neglected building. Cheap but not cheerful.

Reviewed by
Henry B

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5