Reviews - The Blue Boar Inn


The Blue Boar Inn, Temple Grafton,, Stratford Upon Avon, B49 6NR

Price From 156.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (18)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Josephine Loveridge

  • August 2015

Wonderful service and nice people

Shower room needs attention.

  • J Coleman

  • April 2015

Excellent service and a warm welcome

I went to the Blue Boar for a solo Easter break and was welcomed warmly in a nice double room for single occupancy.

The room was large and clean and the lovely country location, proximity to Stratford (4 miles) and excellent food made it a great value for money and happy break. Car parking is free and the setting lovely for running and cycling.

  • david E

  • April 2015

Lovely country Inn but...

Lovely Inn downstairs however when you move to the Bedrooms upstairs the decor is a bit tired and frayed.

I was initially put in Room 4(?) which was small but OK for 1 night however it was like being in the bar downstairs as I could quite easily here the conversation and music. A quick chat with the manager rectified this and I was moved to another ( very lovely room) with no hassle. My only other gripe is that the Free Wi Fi is a bit hit and miss in the bedrooms. Food was lovely - a bit expensive - and the staff great.

  • A Haines

  • December 2014

Face lift required!

Asked for ground floor with having a dog but our room was at the bottom of the main staircase and door to the outside from the other rooms.

No sound proofing so it was like living below a herd of elephants. We could even hear them talking and going to the toilet. The bed was so cheap and hard. Only one pillow each and they were poor quality. No spares in the cupboard so we had to use an old duvet we found to act as a bolster. Would have been more comfortable on the floor. Bedding was very poor quality. The room is in desperate need of a face lift. The bathroom was very tatty. At least the shower worked. Alex Polizzi would have had a few choice words. Lighting was awful. A very dark room, Carpet was dirty. Even for our dog, it was dirty. It was obviously a room for disabled guests but that doesn't excuse the battered, dirty appearance. Such a shame as the staff were very accommodating and pleasant. We were expecting something better having viewed the rooms on the pubs website. Not the room we got!

  • Mike B

  • November 2014


We enjoyed our tapas style food.

Would have liked it if they were more flexible as we wanted a bacon and brie jacket but were told that was sandwich only, which made us wonder if they were premade.

  • Katy C

  • August 2014

Lovely pub- shame about the rooms.

On arriving at the pub we had high hopes.

Very quaint. However, we were given a room key and left to find our room ourselves. The corridor was smelly and fusty and the room was damp smelling and frankly not very clean. There were dirty socks left by the previous occupants left in the cupboard in the bedroom. The bathroom was dirty and we had no hot water. We honestly considered checking not the Nearest premier inn and cutting our losses.

  • Colin Whiting

  • July 2014

Lovely breakfast

Accomodation bit antiquated and strange access, but the pub is lovely and very interesting, and breakfast was a cheery delight.

  • John W

  • May 2014

Good food and very friendly staff.

Room rating only 3 because on arrival we were allocated the nightmare which is Room 12. Toilet refused to flush efficiently, the lighting was dim, the room was very cramped and the

sliding bathroom door had come off its rail

Upon complaining we were moved to a much better room which would have earned a 5 if

we had occupied it from the commencement of our stay.

  • J Owen

  • April 2014

A flying visit for the the Theatre and for the cycle track at Long Marston

I have stayed here many times before, and that says something.

The food is satisfying, especially the breakfasts. The staff are helpful and polite. The room (17) was ideal, simple and practical for one and cosy for two.

  • p roddis

  • April 2014

we enjoyed are stay not to far from stratford upon avon staf were very helpful.

over all the room is in need of updating also ceiling in the sittig area so cracked.

, but it was a nice stay and stayed an extra night.