No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Talbot Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Stourbridge, DY8 1DW
Set on the High Street of Stourbridge this hotel dating back to the 1630's is full of charm and character. Inside the hotel is full of old oak beams, stuccoed ceilings, half timbered black and white rear facade and features like the old bells to call the servants. A big surprise is the Ballroom located at the rear of the hotel, the old civic hall of Stourbrige still used today by the Masons. No two bedrooms are the same in this historic setting though all offer modern conveniences. With ample car parking the hotel is perfect for business or leisure travellers. The hotel offers very reasonable room rates, a popular restaurant as well as a friendly bar.

When visiting the Black Country Market Town don't forget to make time to visit the nearby Glass Quarter (Walking Distance), Merry Hill Shopping Centre (2 miles), Birmingham City Centre (25mins by train), The West Midlands Safari Park, Historic Ironbridge, Dudley Zoo and the Severn Valley Steam Railway.
Picture of Talbot Hotel, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rather not comment
The room was clean and the bedding well laundered. The bathroom though clean was tacky and needed a revamp. The bedroom curtains did not fit the windows and one of them was hanging half off. We did not complain as we had been to a funeral and were not up to it. At half price it did for one night, at full price it would not. The staff were courteous.

Reviewed by
C Sullivan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking misleading and terrible
Hi I booked 5 rooms in total for my engineers at the Talbot Hotel and upon their return the feedback I received was as follows:- Tiles on the floors of the 2 of the rooms were cracked and sharp, the toilets flooded every time they were flushed, the shower was either ice cold or scolding hot, bathroom fans didn't work so the steam condensates in the bed rooms. The floor was so uneven that when you lay in bed felt like were on a hill. The quilt underneath the cover was moldy and stained, there was damp and mold on the walls. Upon reporting these issues to the staff at the Hotel at the time they were advised that they were already aware of these problems before any of the guests entered the rooms and offered no alternative or solution as it if were perfectly normal and almost added extra freebie - part of the service! All the guys stated the cooked breakfast was inedible and preferred to go without as it was so revolting. - Feel terribly let down as the website led me to believe so much more than what was actually on offer - very misleading and very disappointing! - Does not give a good first impression of my experience of LateRooms.com!

Reviewed by
P Hamon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot Hotel
The service was excellent, and the staff very friendly. The shower in the room had to be adjusted, which is why the quality of the room is 5 - the room itself is splendid.

Reviewed by
E Murtha

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room for a one night stay good value for money

Reviewed by
L Baldwin

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once I found the hotel
Hidden but a good hotel experience, highly recommend the Beef Lasagne bar meal.

Reviewed by
Karon C

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekend break
Ideally located in central Stourbridge, characterful building that winds around the place. Good food and excellent service throughout.

Reviewed by
M Jackson

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at the Talbot Hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and full of character. The bathroom was modern, lovely powerful shower and plenty of hot water. The towels were replaced each day. We asked to see the 16th Century Ballroom which was very interesting as well as another room in the hotel which has a wonderful ceiling dating back to the 1400's.
Stourbridge is a great play to stay if you want to go to the Black Country Museum, Bridgnorth, Ludlow and if you like walking, Kinver Edge and the wonderful Rock Houses.

Reviewed by
Catherine S

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Complaints
Very nice old hotel with a lot of character. Staff very friendly, excellent food.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Spain
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel STourbridge
Reasonable hotel for the price , good sized room , comfortable bed, clean bathroom
shower was difficult to get at right temperature and my room was noisy due to pigeons outside
but apart from that was a reasonable hotel

Reviewed by
C DUCK

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
Stayed at the hotel the staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was nice comfortable warm very cosy did not have dinner as had to go to a meeting but the breakfast was very good plenty of choice

Reviewed by
Carlos A

From South Africa
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next