No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Talbot Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Stourbridge, DY8 1DW
Set on the High Street of Stourbridge this hotel dating back to the 1630's is full of charm and character. Inside the hotel is full of old oak beams, stuccoed ceilings, half timbered black and white rear facade and features like the old bells to call the servants. A big surprise is the Ballroom located at the rear of the hotel, the old civic hall of Stourbrige still used today by the Masons. No two bedrooms are the same in this historic setting though all offer modern conveniences. With ample car parking the hotel is perfect for business or leisure travellers. The hotel offers very reasonable room rates, a popular restaurant as well as a friendly bar.

When visiting the Black Country Market Town don't forget to make time to visit the nearby Glass Quarter (Walking Distance), Merry Hill Shopping Centre (2 miles), Birmingham City Centre (25mins by train), The West Midlands Safari Park, Historic Ironbridge, Dudley Zoo and the Severn Valley Steam Railway.
Picture of Talbot Hotel, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and comfortable
Have stayed at the Talbot many times in the last few years and love the quirky nature of this former coaching inn. The uneven floors, low ceilings and warren like corridors make it an interesting building. My room was very cosy, with a decent bathroom. The modern decor was spoiled somewhat by the old over sink light. I was out late so needed to use the rear entrance and had a real struggle getting the door open as it had hammer. Mentioned it to reception staff on check out, so hopefully it will get sorted before anyone thinks that they are locked out.

Reviewed by
A Thornton

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot Hotel
Hotel was well positioned, with good parking. Room lovely and warm but radiator could not be turned down at night so had to open window!
Disappointed with quality of breakfast and waiter did not understand about "gluten free" bread.

Reviewed by
Pauline D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is a hovel
Dirty room with broken wardrobe and bed. Dirty tea-stained cups. Very chilly with central heating OFF in January. Dis-interested staff. Strongly consider staying elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Anthony W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot Hotel
Good value. Had to wait for manager to check out over 15 minutes as reception was not manned

Reviewed by
Andrew Rees-Williams

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot Hotel
Good value. Had to wait for manager to check out over 15 minutes as reception was not manned.

Reviewed by
Andrew Rees-Williams

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old hotel
This hotel is full of character and very spacious room but is let down by small things such as: scratches all around the door look like someone has tried to break in but it is just wear and tear; table in dining room was balanced on a coaster as it was wobbly - not a good look, reception staff did not seem interested except in taking payment (no conversation), room was scattered with portable heaters so not sure if central heating was faulty but looked messy

Reviewed by
S Bolton

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lots of character rooms, nicely decorated, foods are very good and great service.

Reviewed by
Helder S

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Lovely cosy rooms great staff breakfast and dinner very good

Reviewed by
L P

From UK, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel
As advertised the property is steeped in history. Despite being in tbe centre of town on tbe High Street i had an excellent and undisturbed nights sleep. The hotel had thoughtfully placed an additional heater in my room ahead of my arrival. Having said that for an old building i didnt think it was particularly cold.
Manager was very helpful and i really hope that the hotel ia not impacted by the arrival of although functional, new and shiny yet another souless Premier Inn.
The furniture in the room i was in didnt fit the era of the building and the floors were sloping and creaky but it simply added to the quirkiness for me.
I was pleased to see biscuits in the room, i stayed in a Hilton the night before, no biscuits and the staff were nowhere near as helpful or friendly.

Reviewed by
Catherine W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel, but could do with updating
You have to consider that the hotel is over 400 years old, so expect uneven floors and sloping door frames. But overall, i was pleased with the look of the place.
First impressions when i walked into my room, was ok. There were two plug in oil radiators on full blast so it was warm, the beds were neatly made and everything was in place.
However, the bathroom light didn't work and the shower cubicle wasn't very inviting either (the grout in the tiling had gone black). So i used the bath instead, which was much cleaner.
But overall, the hotel experience was ok, a revamp/update would make this a great stay. But if you want a cheap room for the night then its ideal.

Reviewed by
M ARNOLD

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next