No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Talbot Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Stourbridge, DY8 1DW
Set on the High Street of Stourbridge this hotel dating back to the 1630's is full of charm and character. Inside the hotel is full of old oak beams, stuccoed ceilings, half timbered black and white rear facade and features like the old bells to call the servants. A big surprise is the Ballroom located at the rear of the hotel, the old civic hall of Stourbrige still used today by the Masons. No two bedrooms are the same in this historic setting though all offer modern conveniences. With ample car parking the hotel is perfect for business or leisure travellers. The hotel offers very reasonable room rates, a popular restaurant as well as a friendly bar.

When visiting the Black Country Market Town don't forget to make time to visit the nearby Glass Quarter (Walking Distance), Merry Hill Shopping Centre (2 miles), Birmingham City Centre (25mins by train), The West Midlands Safari Park, Historic Ironbridge, Dudley Zoo and the Severn Valley Steam Railway.
Picture of Talbot Hotel, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old hotel
This hotel is full of character and very spacious room but is let down by small things such as: scratches all around the door look like someone has tried to break in but it is just wear and tear; table in dining room was balanced on a coaster as it was wobbly - not a good look, reception staff did not seem interested except in taking payment (no conversation), room was scattered with portable heaters so not sure if central heating was faulty but looked messy

Reviewed by
S Bolton

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lots of character rooms, nicely decorated, foods are very good and great service.

Reviewed by
Helder S

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Lovely cosy rooms great staff breakfast and dinner very good

Reviewed by
L P

From UK, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel
As advertised the property is steeped in history. Despite being in tbe centre of town on tbe High Street i had an excellent and undisturbed nights sleep. The hotel had thoughtfully placed an additional heater in my room ahead of my arrival. Having said that for an old building i didnt think it was particularly cold.
Manager was very helpful and i really hope that the hotel ia not impacted by the arrival of although functional, new and shiny yet another souless Premier Inn.
The furniture in the room i was in didnt fit the era of the building and the floors were sloping and creaky but it simply added to the quirkiness for me.
I was pleased to see biscuits in the room, i stayed in a Hilton the night before, no biscuits and the staff were nowhere near as helpful or friendly.

Reviewed by
Catherine W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel, but could do with updating
You have to consider that the hotel is over 400 years old, so expect uneven floors and sloping door frames. But overall, i was pleased with the look of the place.
First impressions when i walked into my room, was ok. There were two plug in oil radiators on full blast so it was warm, the beds were neatly made and everything was in place.
However, the bathroom light didn't work and the shower cubicle wasn't very inviting either (the grout in the tiling had gone black). So i used the bath instead, which was much cleaner.
But overall, the hotel experience was ok, a revamp/update would make this a great stay. But if you want a cheap room for the night then its ideal.

Reviewed by
M ARNOLD

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once biten twice shy.
Arrived and nobody i reception, phoned the number in reception desk and after 5 minutes somebody appeared. As i arrived just before 14.00hrs took some time to agree to check me in. Had Lunch in the bar which was good VFM.
The room needed some TLC. Bedding and towels were spotless. Bathroom door would not close properly and shower head was rusty. BED, well apart from it being just 12inches off the floor, the mattress left a lot to be desired. It was that soft and worn out that as soon as my wife got in we both rolled to the middle of the bed. So we did not get a good nights sleep.
As it was raining we decided that we would eat in. When asked at the bar about the resturant, was told it was not open. Then asked for two different items off the menu, only to be told SOLD OUT, at whcih point gave up and ate out.
Breakfast was OK but left some to be desired.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comment based on 1 night stay
I arrived at the hotel around 3pm after some difficulty in finding the entrance to the car park. The room was cold when I went in,after checking at the reception. It was also cold in the night as the heating had not been switched on. After dinner at the carvery,I complained to the person on duty about the lack of heating in the room. He then brought me a fan heater and said that the central heating was on a timer and it would come on in the morning. I said that it was not good enough. The fan heater duly stopped working after about 1 hour- perhaps the plug fuse had "blown". However, I was happy to note that the heating had come on around 9.30pm. It is important in the cold months like from November, the room should be warm and nice for visitors.
The hotel was also very badly lit at night. I couldn't easily find the car park entrance on the night of 26th Nov when I returned around 6pm, after visiting a friend in Stourbridge.
Being an older person I also found that the hotel had a lot of steps here and there and on one occasion tripped and nearly fell; this was just after I had checked in. On account of my general dis-satisfaction, I will not stay at this hotel again nor will I recommend any of my friends to stay at the Talbot hotel.
I must of course say that food was excellent- the evening meal in the carvery and the morning breakfast.

Reviewed by
Nathaniel Ramanaden

From St Asaph, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really good
staff were very professional rooms very clean warm good breakfast plenty of choice

Reviewed by
P F

From UK, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
hotel room were nicely decorated, warm and very clean. the staff were all very professional and the breakfast was very good, plenty of choice

Reviewed by
M L

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3rd time lucky
This is the third time I have stayed at this Hotel, the first time was ok, 2nd was horrendous but this time my stay was pretty much faultless.
I was greeted by a very friendly chap who commented on my football shirt, he made me feel very welcome and told me where my room was.
Unfortunately I did get lost trying to find my room but a nice young lady helped me find it (its a bit of a Labyrinth). My room was lovely and spacious, clean and very well layed out and the bathroom was massive and the shower worked (hooray!).
In the morning I was shown to a table and I ordered a full english breakfast, it was the biggest of breakfasts but it was ok.
Overall a very nice stay and I will definately return in future, whereas I was very wary of returning after my last visit.
Great improvement.

Reviewed by
Jon B

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next