No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Talbot Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Stourbridge, DY8 1DW
Set on the High Street of Stourbridge this hotel dating back to the 1630's is full of charm and character. Inside the hotel is full of old oak beams, stuccoed ceilings, half timbered black and white rear facade and features like the old bells to call the servants. A big surprise is the Ballroom located at the rear of the hotel, the old civic hall of Stourbrige still used today by the Masons. No two bedrooms are the same in this historic setting though all offer modern conveniences. With ample car parking the hotel is perfect for business or leisure travellers. The hotel offers very reasonable room rates, a popular restaurant as well as a friendly bar.

When visiting the Black Country Market Town don't forget to make time to visit the nearby Glass Quarter (Walking Distance), Merry Hill Shopping Centre (2 miles), Birmingham City Centre (25mins by train), The West Midlands Safari Park, Historic Ironbridge, Dudley Zoo and the Severn Valley Steam Railway.
Picture of Talbot Hotel, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot
Great location easy walk into town, small car park but free,very old quaint and quirky but we love that.
Not modern or for fussy travellers but appreciation of old style and relaxed approach we loved.
Nice bar and gave us a feeling of the old coach house style inn right on the high street, so suited our needs.
Enjoyed thank you.

Reviewed by
s macmillan

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old Inn
Lovely old Inn with beautiful old furniture throughout the corridors/stairwells/dining rooms.
Uneven flooring may not be so good for older guests or those with walking disabilities, didnt appear to be a lift, so would be unsuitable for disabled people to stay sadly.
Staff friendly, breakfast room laid out with a host of fruits, cereal, toast and some pastries.
Only complaint would be the 2" gap under the bathroom door, due to the very uneven floor, the extensions leads hanging from plug sockets, not resting on the floor, looked a little dangerous.
Oh and the radiator in the bathroom was on, on a day that was about 30c outside! Perhaps a fan could be in each room for the few hot days we get. Its rare I am too hot to sleep at nights, but i was extremely warm this night!
Could not leave window open, because our room was over looking the main road - which i specifically requested not to have when booking thru laterooms.com.. Who's fault this is however, I dont know.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual place for a short stay
This hotel is an unusual rabbit warren of a place with typical Tudor interior but also a very sympathetic modernisation within. The room was large and comfortable, but the bathroom lighting was very poor although it was fully functional and had a large modern corner bath. Plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast. A very interesting place to spend a night or two.

Reviewed by
C Kemp

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place
The Talbot hotel was lovely ,oldy worldy.We booked a superior and was pleasantly surprised. We had a great time and couldn't fault a thing.It is in need of a bit of tlc ,but I quite liked the fact it wasn't new and it added to its character.

Reviewed by
R Crawshaw

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stourbridge stay
lovely old hotel, quirky surroundings loved the olde worlde style of it all. Rooms could do with an up date but they were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was fab it had everything you could possibly want to it and more. will definitely return

Reviewed by
K Glenn

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

helen stay
Great value for money.

Reviewed by
w horgan

From Treorchy, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Living in a Pigeon Coup
Reasonably pleasant greeting on arrival, room wasn't quite ready, but I'd arrived a little early so was happy with that - they were just finishing my room.
Room 10, situated at the back of the building, close to roof level when I arrived lots of pigeons/birds in court yard area; coo'ing very loudly, didn't think much of it, didn't expect them to still be there at silly o'clock.
Arrived back at my room around 3:30am after a night out; noone on the desk ... pigeons still active, but tiredness kicked in for an hour or two; then around 6am pigeons more active, almost as if they were in the room ... about 30mins later, loud music playing, not sure if it was from the kitchens, but sounded outside; followed by more bird noise a little later church bells ... not alot of sleep got.
Room is fairly basic, but there are very few hotels in Stourbridge Town area, so it really is hobsons choice.
I think next time, I will stay slightly further afield and get a taxi.

Reviewed by
B Dukes

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returned after 59 years!!
On the 29th April 1955 I and members of my family stayed at The Talbot Hotel prior to my marriage the next day. Now all those family members have died and my wife and I returned to spend four days at the hotel, the hotel staff were excellent, a nice room was provided complete with a modern TV and wifi (not available in 1955) and whilst one can always be critical seldom do we encourage the staff and say thank you. You weren't around in 1955 but in 2014 you helped to make our visit a memorable occasion, who knows we might make it again next year !!

Reviewed by
KENNETH HOLLIS

From Camberley, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rather not comment
The room was clean and the bedding well laundered. The bathroom though clean was tacky and needed a revamp. The bedroom curtains did not fit the windows and one of them was hanging half off. We did not complain as we had been to a funeral and were not up to it. At half price it did for one night, at full price it would not. The staff were courteous.

Reviewed by
C Sullivan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking misleading and terrible
Hi I booked 5 rooms in total for my engineers at the Talbot Hotel and upon their return the feedback I received was as follows:- Tiles on the floors of the 2 of the rooms were cracked and sharp, the toilets flooded every time they were flushed, the shower was either ice cold or scolding hot, bathroom fans didn't work so the steam condensates in the bed rooms. The floor was so uneven that when you lay in bed felt like were on a hill. The quilt underneath the cover was moldy and stained, there was damp and mold on the walls. Upon reporting these issues to the staff at the Hotel at the time they were advised that they were already aware of these problems before any of the guests entered the rooms and offered no alternative or solution as it if were perfectly normal and almost added extra freebie - part of the service! All the guys stated the cooked breakfast was inedible and preferred to go without as it was so revolting. - Feel terribly let down as the website led me to believe so much more than what was actually on offer - very misleading and very disappointing! - Does not give a good first impression of my experience of LateRooms.com!

Reviewed by
P Hamon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next