Reviews - Jersey Farm Hotel

4

Jersey Farm Country Hotel Darlington Road, Barnard Castle, DL12 8TA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jean N

  • November 2014

Definitely different!

A farm converted to a hotel sounded intriguing, and it is certainly different.

However, the overall experience for us was a little mixed. Good points. The location is walkable from the town (if you wanted to); the staff were all very helpful and friendly, particularly in the restaurant. When the wine we wanted wasn't available, we were able to try another before deciding. And the dinner menu was very good - well priced and well cooked and presented. For the large appetite, the carvery seemed exceptionally good value. Not so good points. The predominantly red and black decor in our bedroom was a bit 'loud' for my taste and the bathroom in our room, whilst having very stylish and modern fittings including whirlpool bath, had an open 'wet room' type shower. For me, style over practicality. Also as our bedroom was in a converted exterior building, the echoing sounds of revellers from the wedding reception that night who passed our door at 2.00 in the morning did not contribute to the most peaceful night - but that's not the hotel's fault!

  • Sabrina K

  • October 2014

Friendly staff and very comfortable accommodation

  • Adrian Lake

  • September 2014

Absolutely first-class from the moment entered hotel.

Service excellent, attentive and friendly. Room and public areas very clean. Food was brilliant. Cannot fault in any way and the best experience I've had in a hotel of similar stature etc. Can't wait to stay again!

  • David T

  • September 2014

A great surprise

I usually stay in one of the chain hotels but all were booked on this occasion which gave me the chance to try something different.

The hotel itself is in a lovely location with views all around of pleasant countryside. My room was a really great surprise - modern, clean, and with a very good bathroom. The only improvement I would like to see is a more modern (and light) hallway outside the rooms.

  • David Y

  • September 2014

very friendly staff, requested a quiet room and got one, great carvery and desserts

  • Sarah C

  • July 2014

Brilliant

A fabulous hotel with brilliant staff, food and shetland ponies.

Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Nicholas P

  • July 2014

An anniversary celebration!

Our stay at Jersey Farm Hotel was excellent.

I would recommend it to anyone for either a special occasion or just a get-away. All the people were friendly and helpful. No complaints - just praise.

  • Carol H

  • May 2014

Surprising jersey cow

Stayed for 2 nights.

Wasn't sure from website of quality, what to expect at hotel but wanted somewhere near Bowes Museum. Hotel easy to find. Outside/ entrance disappointing and looks dated/forgotten. Reception staff pleasant and interested throughout stay. Hotel appears in transition from chintz to a modernised decor. Room surprising clean, enough room, bed really comfy nicely decorated. Not sure I'm that keen on the cow theme decor in reception area bit tacky. Ate in restaurant both nights. Food excellent good choice, cooked well (accept for potato rots I starter which was too peppery for salmon). Price wise moderate and worth money. Not keen on sweets though. Good choice of drinks at bar. Breakfast. Good choice freshly cooked and help yourself to toast etc when more guests staying. Very happy with stay would recommend and return if revisiting town. Bowes Museum was really interesting.

  • M Dixon

  • May 2014

Weekend break

Enjoyed our stay staff excellent.

Room was good food good and value for money would definitely stay here again

  • c farrow

  • May 2014

Lovely hotel with great customer service will definitely stay again.