No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sampson Barton Guest House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Sampson Barton Guest House, Kings Nympton, , South Molton, EX37 9TG
Our country guest house is 400 years old, full of original features and rural Devon character. Luxury, country-style furnishings sit beside oak beams and huge inglenooks, creating the ideal setting for a wonderful break. Nestled between the quaint villages of George and Kings Nympton, just 3 miles from the market town of South Molton, our delightful, converted farmhouse has 5 double en-suite rooms and 1 twin bedded room with private bathroom, all with fantastic views of the garden, rolling green hills and Exmoor beyond. After a peaceful night's sleep, awaken to the best breakfast in Devon; local produce, home-made bread and eggs from our own hens really set you up for the day. Dinner is served every evening and Neil' s cooking has everyone coming back for more; using only the best ingredients to provide big flavours and with such a wide and varied choice (menus change daily) we guarantee you won't be disappointed! Vegetarians are well catered for, as Bev is veggie and insists upon it, in fact all dietary needs can be catered for. Sampson Barton provides a great escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our secluded hideaway has ample parking for 6 cars, provides free wi-fi and is fully licenced. We pride ourselves on the excellent, professional and extremely friendly service we offer. Attention to detail is very important to us, we love having guests to look after and if you're happy then we're happier! Whether staying with us for a walking holiday, romantic break, lazy days on the beach, fishing, riding or just for a quiet retreat, you will want for nothing and hopefully love our home as much as we do.
Picture of Sampson Barton Guest House, South Molton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There are Guest Houses, Good Guest Houses then there is the Sampson Barton Guest House
We were passing through and stayed just one night but could easily have stayed the whole summer. The ambiance is pure peace and the situation of the Guest House is absolutely idyllic. Unfortunately we were unable to sample Neil's cooking, however the breakfast was superb. We cannot recommend this Guest House more highly and are looking forward to the opportunity of a return visit soon. Bev could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Do not miss out on a great experience.

Reviewed by
Derek C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfaction Plus!
My wife and I were very impressed by Sampson Barton Guest House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay over the Easter long weekend. We were so well looked after in such welcoming and comfortable surroundings, we didn't want to leave! Bev and Neil obviously know what they're doing because every little thing a guest could want had been thought of and provided. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean, very comfortable and with beautiful views. Neil's cooking is worth travelling distances for! The evening menu was sophisticated and his breakfasts were scrumptious. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
John Lee

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and friendly hosts
We were staying here to attend a wedding in a nearby village and had a wonderful stay. We received a very friendly welcome with a cup of tea, the room was very comfortable and clean and the entire guesthouse setting is beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic (we're vegetarian and we got a full cooked breakfast as well as toast, fruit and cereal). We would highly recommend this guesthouse!

Reviewed by
Ben F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring Break in North Devon
Sampson Barton is off the beaten track but well worth finding. Bev and Neil are very friendly and welcoming hosts, and the food and accommodation are excellent. We had a very enjoyable 5 night stay and would thoroughly recommend this guest house and restaurant which is well placed for many local attractions.

Reviewed by
Rowland Reynolds

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people, beautiful setting, gorgeous room, great food, we loved it

Reviewed by
J Martin

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This guest house is charming as are the owners. Out of the way lovely views. Food excellent.
Cream tea on arrival. Decided to have evening meals too. All very quaint and want to return one day.

Reviewed by
David Samways

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sampson Barton Guest House
I do travel alot on business alot. I stayed at Sampson Barton and it was a wonderful experience. It is recognised by the AA, as it clearly shows upon entrance. I was greeted by a wonderful Host Bev. Such a lovely person. The room were perfect. Dinner provided was excellent. I enjoyed meeting other guests staying and had good conversations. I felt at home in this place. Breakfast was good and also speaking to the host Bev got to know the history which i enjoyed.
The whole area was clean in the countryside breathtaking views nearby. Peaceful. Wifi and phone signal was good. Its wonderful when you meet lovely people with smiles. I was really relaxed in this Guest House.Lovely caring Host. Highly recommend it to others. I will definatley visit again.

Reviewed by
fraz awan

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sampson Barton - A great find.
A fantastic welcome from Bev & Neil to their lovely guest house. The atmosphere is relaxed and very much a 'make yourself at home' approach from our hosts... literally. The accommodation is very comfortable and the bedrooms spotlessly clean and well equipped. A beautiful rural location with views across rolling fields and farmland. Very quiet with no passing traffic so ideal for a peaceful retreat. The restaurant is welcoming and the food good. Neil uses fresh local ingredients and the included breakfast is superb and cooked to order. I would gladly recommend the Sampson Barton and will definitely stay there again if in the area. An enjoyable stay all round.

Reviewed by
Rob H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend Sampson Barton
Welcomed with a delicious cream tea. Room was quite small but very well furnished. Excellent power shower. Breakfast was enough to keep you going throughout the day and the evening meal was very good. Lovely unspoilt area of Devon. Excellent for walking

Reviewed by
Vanessa M

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hosts were very friendly and provided us with a cream tea on arrival!! Outstanding place, BOOK!!
I received a welcome email as soon as I had booked, along with extra directions. The place is beautiful and the people are lovely and very helpful. The resident cat was lovely too. Our room was so quaint and the shower was great. The views are breathtaking. Absolutely my sort of place. The breakfast was top notch, proper butchers' meat, uncut toast, real butter perfect!! 4 hour drive but would go back again and again!! Thank you Bev and Neil you have got it spot on :)

Reviewed by
D Potts

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next