No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good, but a little sad in places
Nice hotel, excellent staff although we kept getting told we had not paid for breakfast, even though we had paid at time of booking and had the receipt - reception don't seem to talk to kitchen !
Nice room, nice bed, bathroom somewhat dated, needs an upgrade or at least a paint job and the taps fixed - didn't need a bath which was just as well as the "combined" tap was stuck in the "shower" position. You have to wait ages for the hot water to come through but it is nice and hot once it reaches the room.
Don't know if it is common for Brighton (actually the hotel is more in Hove) but the sea-gulls seem to make more noise at night that they do during the day - it was exceptionally hot on the two days that we stayed and we had no choice but to leave the windows open - but got little sleep due to the bird screeches and (as we were on the top -3rd - floor their constant padding around on the flat portion of the roof !)
Breakfast was good but not exceptional. Note that the prices on their web site do not include breakfast, adding £32 to our bill.
At the rear of the hotel, and partially affixed to it, is what appears to be an abandoned extension. This was outside out bedroom window and I was interested in the story behind it, but none of the staff that I asked had any information about it, or had been told to blank enquirers!
The bus service in Brighto/Hove is exceptional and car parking difficult and expensive - so being able to leave the car in the hotel car park and travel around by bus was a joy.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The shower was fine but the mixer tap would only give you hot or cold water so needed fixing, only stayed one night so wasn't too bad.

Reviewed by
David J

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick breakfast away
We wanted a quick break away so looked on the internet and found the Courtland Hotel Hove. Didnt want to pay too much and wasnt disappointed with the Hotel overall. It was clean and the bed was comfortable although the fixtures and fittings were a bit jaded and could have done with an upgrade to bring it to the 3 star rating it was advertised as. The staff were polite and helpfull and the breakfast was well cooked and the service was good. I would use the hotel again as I feel it was value for the money.

Reviewed by
norman tomlinson

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Want to stay in a hotel decorated in the 1980 - this is the one for you!
The bathroom was smaller than some cupboards at home! I did not use the shower because it was so filthy! The smell of drains in the bathroom was so bad I had to place towels over all all the plug holes and when I brushed my teeth I was heaving from the smell. NB I have photos of the dirty bathroom that I can supply. I would like an acknowledgement and comments from laterooms in respect of my comments and grim experience of one of their hotels.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Berkhamsted, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Night stay
Nice clean pleasent hotel. Advantage of on site parking and reception covered all night. Very pleasent staff. Would recomend and use again.

Reviewed by
C Castle

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget quality at a budget price
Free off-street parking, and only half an hour's walk from Churchill Square, was an important point for us. There was also free wi-fi, tea, coffee (inc. decaf), milk, soap and shower gel. Spacious but tired old Victorian room, with Victorian plumbing. Jacuzzi bath was an unexpected extra, so I couldn't really complain that two of the four jets didn't work and it was underpowered compared to a modern one. There wasn't enough hot water to fill the bath in one go, but I eventually got it reasonably hot and full. The shower head didn't fit the holder properly and kept falling down, but the water pressure was good. The mattress was a soggy old sprung one, but it could have been worse! The room was so hot after a hot summer's day that we had to leave the windows and curtains open all night, so that it eventually cooled down enough to sleep - if only the seagulls had shut up! Reception staff were polite, friendly, and most importantly, always there when needed. They don't offer a continental breakfast, only a cooked one, and I wasn't prepared to pay the 'cooked' price for a slice of toast and marmalade, so we skipped breakfast. As we had all other meals out with family, I can't comment on the catering at all. Over all, it was an acceptable stay for the price, which was about the same as I usually pay at the best chain of budget hotels.

Reviewed by
Joan F

From WATCHET, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend Stay in pleasant hotel
We enjoyed the warm and friendly welcome from reception. Our twin room was spacious with high ceilings, large windows, loved the fact it had wonderful, old, untouched decorative features. Spacious bathroom with bath and shower. We had complimentary towels and items for hot drinks and showering. It was a quiet room, well situated near the sea for walking along promenade or there's a bus stop down the road. It was lovely to slowly walk into town and stop at café's on route. There was on-site parking. We enjoyed good quality breakfasts and dinner during our stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful! Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
Marina D

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean room. Reception slightly unite rested in guests. Wifi not great in my room. Good stay

Reviewed by
D Jungling-Bradshaw

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once a beautiful hotel, it is now in need of serious updating and TLC and staff training.

Reviewed by
Janice P

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice comfortable hotel in Brighton by the sea front
I was looked after very well by the staff, the choice of dinner was good and the quality of the food was exceptional. although a car park is available there was plenty of on street parking as well. easy walk to the sea front. the only thing that requires a bit of attention is the décor other than that the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Sidwell

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next