No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleased with room
Hove is a bit of a walk to Brighton, but location good for bars and shops and the hotel and room was better than expected. Free car parking was useful.

Reviewed by
Simon Lindsey-Noble

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good old seaside hotel
This is a typical British seaside hotel.. Large, faded grandeaur, great staff, old school decor. Not to everyone's taste if you like a modern hotel, but everything you need and clean,

Reviewed by
R Miller

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reception less than helpful, breakfast good, dinner terrible, main parts of hotel freezing.
3 of us sent soup back as it was luke warm, came back warm?,fish dinners overcooked. WE were virtually shivering all through dinner. had to wait ten minutes before any hot water came through to bath & sink.

Reviewed by
y compton

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spacious and clean room
I was very happy with my room on the top floor, both bedroom and bathroom were very clean, the bed was comfortable in every way.
The breakfast and coffee are excellent!..
Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Marianne W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value for Brighton & Hove. Strange hotel, quite quirky, advertises that it has a swimming pool on the front of the hotel, but saw no sign. Nevertheless, room was spacious enough, a free car park in the centre of Hove is worth it, and although some maintenance is needed (lift was o.o.o., floor tiles in bathroom were a bit loose - Room 311, and a weird empty light fitting) I couldn't fault it too much.

Reviewed by
Marc W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Courtlands Hotel
The receptionist was pleasant and helpful. The carpark was an added bonus as we had a hire car. We were able to leave the car on the carpark during the sunday we had checked out, leaving us free to spend the sunday exploring Brighton and Hove.
The room was basic but comfortable and very warm.
The carpet was hoovered but had quite a few stains on it.
The headboard (being fabric) was dirty. The bed mattress itself was comfotable and the linen was clean. The bathroom was clean and functioning properly. The breakfast was good and being self-service meant you could have as much or as little as you wanted. We have stayed at the Courtlands Hotel before and would do so again.

Reviewed by
Rosa S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff were helpfull and the room was ideal

Reviewed by
john fawcett

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Great service and standards well above it's rating

ManagementResponse

We really appreciate such a ringing endorsement for the hotel which means so much. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we can see you again very soon.

Reviewed by
les french

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Good welcome by friendly staff. As this was our second stay, we requested a specific room with an adjoining room for our teenage daughter which wasprovided for us. The hotel seemed incredibly quiet we didn't encounter anyone in the bar and we didn't see anyone eating in the restaurant. Even at breakfast there was only one other guest. The breakfast was OK so we only had it once.

ManagementResponse

We appreciate your positive comments which are much appreciated, thank you. Business is picking up well now after a quieter period and we are looking forward to Easter and some warmer weather! Hopefully we can welcome you back for your third visit before very long.

Reviewed by
Gillian P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent !

Reviewed by
a barnes

From England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next