No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but dated
A basic no frills hotel! The room had all amenities and was clean. The decor was dated but what you would expect. A shame that prices were doubled on a summer Saturday - I have stayed here midweek in the winter at half the price. The breakfast was adequate but I personally would have preferred a breakfast cooked to order rather than buffet style.

Reviewed by
Patricia J

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd time we have been here
We have stayed here before so that must say something. The man who greeted us on our arrival could not have been more friendly, and the rest of the staff were fine. Room was good, although the shower was only OK. Perhaps the stag party on the 2nd night was something we could have done without. The groom was OK but he did have a couple of "loud" friends who seemed not to consider the fact that there were other guests staying in the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Cole

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful room
The room was delightful. So spacious, it was like a mini flat. Generous tea and coffee supplies.
Only problem was hot water took a long time to come through. Also due to a domestic crisis I had to miss breakfast!

Reviewed by
Andrew Jarvis

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
Very clean. Service good. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
William O

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cliff concert stay
lovley hotel just round corner from concert very helpfull staff brill room could not wish for any beter

Reviewed by
h bott

From coalville, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, warm, inviting hotel, excellent location to all amenities
friendly,warm inviting hotel excellent location for all amenities.

Reviewed by
karina wood

From bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty towers but without the laughs
Staff excellent, cannot be faulted for professionalism and helpfulness. However hotel owner / manager absolutely appalling man. Spent the whole time (or so it seemed to me) loitering around the foyer /bar area berating his staff. He was also surly and unfriendly to guests. Rooms shabby (and not chic), expensive and of very poor standard. Its the 21st century and I expect a proper shower. I do not expect to have to crouch in the bath attempting to shower (in luke warm water) with an out of date contraption that went out of date in the 1970's. Would not recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
B W

From Shefford, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent venue for our visit to Brighton

Reviewed by
Fiona N

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is ok but is not for me .
Is ok, but is to expensive not good for the prise. And is fare from beach

Reviewed by
Y MARINAJ

From London, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not as expected from website description and photos - a basic, tired hotel
We did not find that the hotel lived up to the description and photos shown on the website. We had expected a quality establishment, but it was a very basic, tired hotel - 'acceptable' if looking for budget accommodation, but not as somewhere to spend a special break.
The bedroom was basic, with dated décor, although on the whole clean and serviceable. However, the bathroom was in poor condition and seemed at least 30 years old, with a loose toilet seat, plus staining and bodged repairs to the bath, which made it appear as if not totally clean. The shower was just an extension hose from the bath taps, rather than an electric or power shower. The light around the mirror did not work, neither did the bathroom fan. On the whole, not up to standard.
As vegetarians, we were also looking forward to their full breakfast, which was particularly celebrated on the website, promising a good range of veggie options (of which a photo was provided). In fact there was very little on offer, as shown in that photo - no veggie sausages, sautéd potatoes, fried/poached eggs. There was just a very basic buffet with over-cooked scrambled eggs, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes - plus bacon and sausages for meat-eaters (and standard continental options). Tea and coffee were ready-made in flasks, so fine if you liked it well stewed. We were generally disappointed.

Reviewed by
Christine F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next