No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at courtlands
Had a fantastic nights stay at the Courtlands hotel we booked last minute and we were very impressed the staff were very friendly and helpful we didn't arrive untill the evening but there was someone on hand to welcome us the standard of room was fantastic more like a suite very clean and comfortable would have happily stayed alot longer and look forward to our next trip would definatly stay again.

Reviewed by
w waite

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too few staff
There weren't enough staff on at breakfast time. Toast and tea and coffee took 20 minutes plus on 6 out of 7 days that we were there. Poached eggs on toast took 30 mins. Coffee and tea was cool by the time it arrived. On one day we waited 17 minutes to get teaspoons, having asked both staff available.
Suggest a coffee machine and teabags and a hot water urn for people to do their own and a toaster for people to do their own toast. A basket of rolls could also help. This would get over the staffing issue.
Considering that the weather had changed for the worst with night temperatures below 7 degrees C I'd have hoped that some heating could have been put on for the evening and early morning. My elderly parents experienced severe cold during their weeks visit.

Reviewed by
G Clarke

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
every one of the staff were excellent they were polite and cheery, willing to help you the hotel was very clean and inviting ,it had its own carpark which was good as you could leave your car and walk into the town or to the beach in less than half an hour along the sea front. apart from the seagulls the hotel being in a side road did not get a lot of noise even at night.
great place this was our second visit and will be going back again thats a possitive.

Reviewed by
rosemary akehurst

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cleanish, basic, old fashioned but perfect for a short stay

Reviewed by
ian r

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Stay
I stayed with my mum and my two daughters. We really enjoyed a lovely stay. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had two nice breakfasts which catered for all our different tastes. I would definately like to go there again.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean rooms, good stay
The receptionist needed to smile but we checked in easily enough. Rooms basic but clean and very comfortable beds. Didn't eat as early start meant restaurant wasn't open for brekky when we were leaving but overall a good value budget hotel in a central location.

Reviewed by
Gavin A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular visitors to this hotel
We found when returning one evening that there had been a leak in our room. All our possessions had been carefully moved and arranged in a room with a small sitting area. This visit seemed to be a shortage of staff both on reception and dining room.

Reviewed by
P Clapp

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
By 9am on Sunday there was no bacon left, very little scrambled egg, tomatoes and beans on the help yourself counter, and we had to wait nearly half an hour for replenishment s. The next day my granddaughter s hot chocolate arrived as we were leaving the dining room, so we took it back to the bedroom. Service was not good.
The bedroom was in poor condition. The shower was a joke.

Reviewed by
m holmes

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room and bathroom, clean and comfortable hotel. Parking facilities a real plus.
Although the hotel is a little tired looking the room I stayed in was a good size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and really good size but I couldn't have a bath as the plug didn't appear to work. However the shower was absolutely fine. The menu choice was good and the food really tasty and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Lesley S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtlands & Cricket
Very handy location for the Hove county cricket ground. Hotel is a bit of a 'rabbit warren' (you take lift to 2nd floor to get to 3rd!). Clean room, everything worked. Reception very obliging. Best feature is that the hotel does not insist on a 2 night booking as do some other hotels in the Hove area.

Reviewed by
James Daniel Sisson

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next