No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtlands Hotel visit 20 - 22 d July 2013
The hotel had rather a late check in time (1400) in my opinion. I arrived round about noon and had to leave my luggage in a small secure cramped room. As I has travelled to Brighton by motorbike I also had to leave my leathers and helmet there too. This meant I had to get changed into "normal" clothes in the public washroom of the hotel. The hotel itself comprises several large houses which have been joined together by a first floor passageway. Getting to my room involved a lift ride to first floor, along passage and then one and 1/2 staircase descent to ground floor of adjacent building. I didn't even wish to try and logically understand the room number system as the first floor was 101 onwards and down stairs was 501 onwards ???. As it was later in the evening when I finally checked in I had to navigate all this up and down business with arms full of luggage and bike wear.
Apart from this the room itself was more than adequate for my needs and was clean and well appointed with a modern en-suite bathroom. The only down side was the street noise on the first evening of my stay which continued well into the early hours of the morning as my room was literally at street level. If I stayed again I would choose an upper floor.
The breakfast room was lovely, as was the food offered. All of the staff were courteous and attentive.

Reviewed by
Mac Houston

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room No. 101 has only one main light which means that in you have to turn light off at mains switch and return to bed in a dark room.
Due to buffet type breakfast hair contaminated food which we reported to the staff on duty. Was offered another breakfast to be brought from the kitchen. Left without Saturday breakfast and due to the problems with for breakfast did not have breakfast on our second day Sunday. No apologies or refund offered.
An extension to the hotel partially built to the side of the hotel perhaps due to finances have not been completed. Looking behind the curtain that was drawn closed at all time found the building as being used by pigeons as a roosting coop. Dead birds on the disused scaffold and rusting ladders, this explained why the curtain was permanently drawn.
Other window in the bedroom overlooked a disused conservatory which was boarded up with ply-boards.
Overall our experience was extremely disappointing when you consider hotels used in the past supplied by late rooms.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Belvedere, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean but well worn
bedroom was clean, a reasonable size, but it was all a little tired. Bathroom in particular needed refurbishment. breakfast was good- and waitress was friendly.
However all the positives were overshadowed by the noise of the pigeons and seagulls on the flat roof outside the room i had. It was impossible to sleep through the noise on the 2nd night. i guess rooms at the front or on lower floors may be more quiet.

Reviewed by
anne d

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,clean and comfortable
we were coming to Hove for a wedding so particularly wanted to be in Hove rather than Brighton so we were very happy with location, just seven minutes walk to the church. Also just two minutes walk to the seafront, great for walking off very nice breakfast we had at hotel. Very good, plenty of choice, room was very comfortable and clean with lovely big bathroom. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
P Warren

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but dated
A basic no frills hotel! The room had all amenities and was clean. The decor was dated but what you would expect. A shame that prices were doubled on a summer Saturday - I have stayed here midweek in the winter at half the price. The breakfast was adequate but I personally would have preferred a breakfast cooked to order rather than buffet style.

Reviewed by
Patricia J

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd time we have been here
We have stayed here before so that must say something. The man who greeted us on our arrival could not have been more friendly, and the rest of the staff were fine. Room was good, although the shower was only OK. Perhaps the stag party on the 2nd night was something we could have done without. The groom was OK but he did have a couple of "loud" friends who seemed not to consider the fact that there were other guests staying in the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Cole

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful room
The room was delightful. So spacious, it was like a mini flat. Generous tea and coffee supplies.
Only problem was hot water took a long time to come through. Also due to a domestic crisis I had to miss breakfast!

Reviewed by
Andrew Jarvis

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
Very clean. Service good. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
William O

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cliff concert stay
lovley hotel just round corner from concert very helpfull staff brill room could not wish for any beter

Reviewed by
h bott

From coalville, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, warm, inviting hotel, excellent location to all amenities
friendly,warm inviting hotel excellent location for all amenities.

Reviewed by
karina wood

From bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next