No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cleanish, basic, old fashioned but perfect for a short stay

Reviewed by
ian r

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Stay
I stayed with my mum and my two daughters. We really enjoyed a lovely stay. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had two nice breakfasts which catered for all our different tastes. I would definately like to go there again.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean rooms, good stay
The receptionist needed to smile but we checked in easily enough. Rooms basic but clean and very comfortable beds. Didn't eat as early start meant restaurant wasn't open for brekky when we were leaving but overall a good value budget hotel in a central location.

Reviewed by
Gavin A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular visitors to this hotel
We found when returning one evening that there had been a leak in our room. All our possessions had been carefully moved and arranged in a room with a small sitting area. This visit seemed to be a shortage of staff both on reception and dining room.

Reviewed by
P Clapp

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
By 9am on Sunday there was no bacon left, very little scrambled egg, tomatoes and beans on the help yourself counter, and we had to wait nearly half an hour for replenishment s. The next day my granddaughter s hot chocolate arrived as we were leaving the dining room, so we took it back to the bedroom. Service was not good.
The bedroom was in poor condition. The shower was a joke.

Reviewed by
m holmes

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room and bathroom, clean and comfortable hotel. Parking facilities a real plus.
Although the hotel is a little tired looking the room I stayed in was a good size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and really good size but I couldn't have a bath as the plug didn't appear to work. However the shower was absolutely fine. The menu choice was good and the food really tasty and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Lesley S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtlands & Cricket
Very handy location for the Hove county cricket ground. Hotel is a bit of a 'rabbit warren' (you take lift to 2nd floor to get to 3rd!). Clean room, everything worked. Reception very obliging. Best feature is that the hotel does not insist on a 2 night booking as do some other hotels in the Hove area.

Reviewed by
James Daniel Sisson

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation. Comfortable and clean.
We went during the heatwave so a fan in the room would have been good. Idea for brighton approx twenty min walk.

Reviewed by
Christine M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtlands Hotel visit 20 - 22 d July 2013
The hotel had rather a late check in time (1400) in my opinion. I arrived round about noon and had to leave my luggage in a small secure cramped room. As I has travelled to Brighton by motorbike I also had to leave my leathers and helmet there too. This meant I had to get changed into "normal" clothes in the public washroom of the hotel. The hotel itself comprises several large houses which have been joined together by a first floor passageway. Getting to my room involved a lift ride to first floor, along passage and then one and 1/2 staircase descent to ground floor of adjacent building. I didn't even wish to try and logically understand the room number system as the first floor was 101 onwards and down stairs was 501 onwards ???. As it was later in the evening when I finally checked in I had to navigate all this up and down business with arms full of luggage and bike wear.
Apart from this the room itself was more than adequate for my needs and was clean and well appointed with a modern en-suite bathroom. The only down side was the street noise on the first evening of my stay which continued well into the early hours of the morning as my room was literally at street level. If I stayed again I would choose an upper floor.
The breakfast room was lovely, as was the food offered. All of the staff were courteous and attentive.

Reviewed by
Mac Houston

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room No. 101 has only one main light which means that in you have to turn light off at mains switch and return to bed in a dark room.
Due to buffet type breakfast hair contaminated food which we reported to the staff on duty. Was offered another breakfast to be brought from the kitchen. Left without Saturday breakfast and due to the problems with for breakfast did not have breakfast on our second day Sunday. No apologies or refund offered.
An extension to the hotel partially built to the side of the hotel perhaps due to finances have not been completed. Looking behind the curtain that was drawn closed at all time found the building as being used by pigeons as a roosting coop. Dead birds on the disused scaffold and rusting ladders, this explained why the curtain was permanently drawn.
Other window in the bedroom overlooked a disused conservatory which was boarded up with ply-boards.
Overall our experience was extremely disappointing when you consider hotels used in the past supplied by late rooms.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Belvedere, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next