No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation
Tidy interior, good food, quiet and close to local amenities

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality three star hotel
Friendly reception staff on arrival and helpful throughtout our stay. Accommodation was more than adequate for our requirements. Family room with comfortable large main area and two single beds in a small adjoining room. Bar meals only being served but were acceptable and well cooked and presented. Breakfast choices at the buffet table were plentiful and the full English breakfast was very substantial. Overall a pleasant weekend stay with our two grandchildren.

Reviewed by
Jane Field

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant short stay at a friendly hotel
spent a very pleasant few days at this hotel. Couldn't fault anything.staff appeared to be happy in their job and extremely helpful. Clean room and comfy bed( overslept one morning). Also easy travel into brighton.

Reviewed by
Rod Nickson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value accommodation
My daughter and I stayed just one night, so didn't get to sample all the hotel's facilities, but the room was clean, very spacious, and rather grander than we expected, and the beds were very comfortable. It was a good location, with the bonus of off-street parking, and it was quiet. All in all, really good value for money.

Reviewed by
a pearson

From Hull, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night working, reconsider.
I was working nights and sleeping days, First impressions were great, quiet room, soft bed, etc, but soon found out the hotel staff not prepared for room service at times that suited my working and sleeping hours, (I got new towels when I asked for them though). There was also an issue that the car park was full when I returned from working at 0600, and the alternative car park I was sent to, nearly got me clamped, I was woken up to be told to move it or it will be clamped. This could have been planned better, especially for night workers. I would stay again if sleeping nights.

Reviewed by
John P

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for weekend, and free parking
I chose this hotel as it was as close to Brighton centre as we could get where parking was offered. Coming from outside of the area, I didn't want to pay city prices to park my car which may double the cost of the weekend.
All in all the hotel was acceptable, we didn't eat there, but other than the mod scooters (it was the Scooter run!) it was peaceful. Parking was across the road at a solicitors but I felt it was safe as was the hotel. It was comfortable although the fittings were "traditional", that was fine.
The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and we were able to load/unload the car outside the ground-level front door.
The only issue was that it was a minimum of two nights and over a bank holiday the prices doubled.
On the whole, a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Graham W

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Clean, comfortable & convenient.

Reviewed by
B Leadbeater

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for beach & Hove but needs TLC!
Very impressed with the size of the rooms (to sleep a family of 4 we had a double bed and in an attached smaller room 2 single beds), however the hotel needs some TLC! The curtains in our room didn't hang properly as they weren't completely attached at the rail and some of the windows didn't open or close (the sash cord was broken). Unfortunately the manager let the hotel down when he needed to move us from our room (a window pane had fallen out of the frame!) but didn't offer any assistance to us with luggage in spite of it being late at night and me travelling as a single adult with 2 young children. Comfortable beds, warm room and friendly receptionist though.

Reviewed by
D Wildman

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good, but a little sad in places
Nice hotel, excellent staff although we kept getting told we had not paid for breakfast, even though we had paid at time of booking and had the receipt - reception don't seem to talk to kitchen !
Nice room, nice bed, bathroom somewhat dated, needs an upgrade or at least a paint job and the taps fixed - didn't need a bath which was just as well as the "combined" tap was stuck in the "shower" position. You have to wait ages for the hot water to come through but it is nice and hot once it reaches the room.
Don't know if it is common for Brighton (actually the hotel is more in Hove) but the sea-gulls seem to make more noise at night that they do during the day - it was exceptionally hot on the two days that we stayed and we had no choice but to leave the windows open - but got little sleep due to the bird screeches and (as we were on the top -3rd - floor their constant padding around on the flat portion of the roof !)
Breakfast was good but not exceptional. Note that the prices on their web site do not include breakfast, adding £32 to our bill.
At the rear of the hotel, and partially affixed to it, is what appears to be an abandoned extension. This was outside out bedroom window and I was interested in the story behind it, but none of the staff that I asked had any information about it, or had been told to blank enquirers!
The bus service in Brighto/Hove is exceptional and car parking difficult and expensive - so being able to leave the car in the hotel car park and travel around by bus was a joy.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The shower was fine but the mixer tap would only give you hot or cold water so needed fixing, only stayed one night so wasn't too bad.

Reviewed by
David J

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next