No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Night stay
Nice clean pleasent hotel. Advantage of on site parking and reception covered all night. Very pleasent staff. Would recomend and use again.

Reviewed by
C Castle

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget quality at a budget price
Free off-street parking, and only half an hour's walk from Churchill Square, was an important point for us. There was also free wi-fi, tea, coffee (inc. decaf), milk, soap and shower gel. Spacious but tired old Victorian room, with Victorian plumbing. Jacuzzi bath was an unexpected extra, so I couldn't really complain that two of the four jets didn't work and it was underpowered compared to a modern one. There wasn't enough hot water to fill the bath in one go, but I eventually got it reasonably hot and full. The shower head didn't fit the holder properly and kept falling down, but the water pressure was good. The mattress was a soggy old sprung one, but it could have been worse! The room was so hot after a hot summer's day that we had to leave the windows and curtains open all night, so that it eventually cooled down enough to sleep - if only the seagulls had shut up! Reception staff were polite, friendly, and most importantly, always there when needed. They don't offer a continental breakfast, only a cooked one, and I wasn't prepared to pay the 'cooked' price for a slice of toast and marmalade, so we skipped breakfast. As we had all other meals out with family, I can't comment on the catering at all. Over all, it was an acceptable stay for the price, which was about the same as I usually pay at the best chain of budget hotels.

Reviewed by
Joan F

From WATCHET, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend Stay in pleasant hotel
We enjoyed the warm and friendly welcome from reception. Our twin room was spacious with high ceilings, large windows, loved the fact it had wonderful, old, untouched decorative features. Spacious bathroom with bath and shower. We had complimentary towels and items for hot drinks and showering. It was a quiet room, well situated near the sea for walking along promenade or there's a bus stop down the road. It was lovely to slowly walk into town and stop at café's on route. There was on-site parking. We enjoyed good quality breakfasts and dinner during our stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful! Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
Marina D

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean room. Reception slightly unite rested in guests. Wifi not great in my room. Good stay

Reviewed by
D Jungling-Bradshaw

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once a beautiful hotel, it is now in need of serious updating and TLC and staff training.

Reviewed by
Janice P

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice comfortable hotel in Brighton by the sea front
I was looked after very well by the staff, the choice of dinner was good and the quality of the food was exceptional. although a car park is available there was plenty of on street parking as well. easy walk to the sea front. the only thing that requires a bit of attention is the décor other than that the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Sidwell

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was kind of our rescue after having survived a night in an awful hostel.
The room was really spacious, actually we had two rooms because we were 3 women travelling.
The bathroom was really clean.
The interior was quite old but had style. Only it looked really old and also already a little damaged, but it was not important to us.
THe customer service was really good and we were really satisfied with the room.
It would have been nice to have breakfast included in the price, but we also understood that nowadays it is not necessary anymore.
We paid 85 pounds for one night which was a little expensive, although it was bankholiday.
Overall we were satisfied with the room and definitely would recommend it to others!

Reviewed by
Ilona S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for money
The hotel was only passable but for the money was poor value. Staff were pleasant enough but room was tired.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Goddard

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights in Brighton
This is exactly what we needed - the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the situation was good for where we neede to get to.
For perfection, softer pillows would be good.

Reviewed by
Judith M

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A proper hotel.
This hotel looks nothing from the street. But it's a traditional hotel. Staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are traditionally furnished to a high standard, but nothing like a Holiday Inn or equivalent so if that's the sort of place you like to stay in the Courtlands maybe is not for you.
Have stayed there for 3 nights in total and each time was a peaceful experience. Right in the heart of Hove, so walkable everywhere for Hove/Brighton. A big bonus is the free parking. Excellent.

Reviewed by
Janet S

From Confolens, France
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next