No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Graham Arms Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
English Street , Longtown, CA6 5SE
The Graham Arms is a former Coaching Inn and was built about 200 years ago. In days gone by, the hotel was an overnight coaching stop; the horses would be put to graze in the fields to the rear of the hotel (long since built on) or, rested overnight in the hotel stables before continuing their journey to Edinburgh or London. Once the coaches had been cleaned and serviced, they were "garaged" in one of the two coaching stables at the rear of the building.

The Graham Arms and Longtown make an ideal touring base for Scotland's Solway Coast & Border Regions, the English Lake District, Kielder Forest, Hadrian's Wall, romantic Gretna Green and of course the historic City of Carlisle.

The hotel has recently won an award for the second year running making us ‘Carlisle District and Eden Best Bar None Winners’ (Rural Catergory) for 2011 and 2012.
Picture of Graham Arms Hotel, Longtown at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic rooms on a busy road

Reviewed by
Julie c

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect, in nearly every way...
We had a friendly welcome and a good sized family room. We had to eat in the bar with our two young boys due to a party going on in the restaurant. Not a problem - the kids menu was fine and the food freshly cooked and tasty. It being a Tuesday, we thought we'd be safe from the party going on. Sadly not. Our boys slept through, but we were less lucky. Noise outside until after 12 and then a loud conversation outside our door at half 3 meant we didn't get a lot of sleep. A tasty breakfast helped revive us though and we got on with our day.

Reviewed by
duncan w

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good local hotel
Warm friendly welcome, I contacted the hotel in advance to check details and received a prompt reply. Room was comfortable and good value for money, hotel is short drive from Carlisle and good base to explore the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel full of character. The room was was basic but clean and quiet.

Reviewed by
jean housden

From nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice friendly greeting clean tidy room

Reviewed by
b hambidge

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Above a pub !!!
Lovely breakfast but very noisy as above a pub, beds were very uncomfortable but very clean rooms and friendly staff. The only thing that peed me off was that bleach ruined by sons shorts after he used the toilet downstairs and we were almost home before I realised, neat bleach must have been used somewhere. Apart from that not a bad place.

Reviewed by
lisa w

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review on a little mini break
The hotel room we booked was a double en suite it was perfect for us & our 2 young children! Clean lots of room
For us... The only concern I had was the bar & music downstairs! We did hear loud music for a whole but did soon stop! Over all a comfortable enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
lucy i

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was adequate and clean. A warm night so with the window open there was some late noise from bar customers using the smoking area down below, but I was tired enough to sleep anyway. Decent pub grub, especially liked the cheesecake which tasted genuinely home made. Good value for money

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional hotel in small country town offering value for money rooms, decent food and a friendly crowd of local people in the bar..

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff, clean hotel, nice food. Value for money. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
denise b

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next