No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbeyfield Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Talybont , Bangor, LL57 3UR
Abbeyfield Hotel is located off the A5 on the edge of Bangor in an area of natural beauty. Each en suite bedroom has a digital TV and free wireless internet. The hotel is convenient for the mountains, lakes and forests of Snowdonia National Park, as well as Gwynedd's dramatic coastline.

There is a public bar and a small, cosy restaurant serving very good British food, using local Welsh produce where possible. In its many years, Abbeyfield Hotel has been a coaching inn, a farmhouse, and since 1968, a private hotel.
Picture of Abbeyfield Hotel, Bangor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A much needed break
My expectations were met. Thank you everyone at Abbeyfield for your friendly welcome. The room was pleasant and the bed wasn't too hard or soft, in fact it was just right! Great menu for evening meals. Ideally situated for touring the area.

Reviewed by
Maggie R

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A group of us stayed here after hiking Snowdon. It was only about a fifteen minute drive away and offered everything we needed. The owners were very accommodating; we were a group of five and they offered to put an extra matress in the family room for a very reasonable fee (to cover linen and breakfast charges). The shower was great (you felt like you had been washed down with a power hose... ideal after hiking).
We ate dinner there and were very happy with the food (and generous portion sizes) and there is a good sized bar with a pool table and darts, so plenty to occupy a group of friends if you didn't want to go further a field.
It was a very welcoming establishment and just right for what we needed.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine base for exploring North Wales
Cosy accommodation well situated for exploring North Wales and well rounded-off with a very good kitchen. The local mussels were superb!

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a towel rail and shelf in the bathroom would have been useful, loved the full size kettle and teapot

Reviewed by
JEAN H

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Almost hidden in Tal-y-Bont, the welcome at Abbeyfield Hotel was just as if we were old friends returning. The room was airey with plenty of space. As for the bed? Well I had one of the most comfortable night's sleep I've had for ages! And the breakfast, cooked, with a choice of cereals, grapefruit, toast, and plenty of tea and coffee was the icing on the cake. With bangor just 5 minutes drive away, and Penrhyn castle a short walk away, its certainly a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Michael A

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
The accommodation was a bit dated but it had everything we needed; comfortable beds, a lamp, television, ensuite bathroom. The least attractive thing was the slight smell of damp, that may have been caused by the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom. For the price it was very good and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was straightforward but nicely cooked and the waiting staff were great.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Clynderwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Negative review
Room was close to railway ( not mentioned in addvertisement) Bathroom had no Extractor Fan or window, Stairs were very steep for elderly and very creaky and the place was very noisy late at night when other tennents left the bar with lots loud voices and banging doors. We will not be returning.

Reviewed by
R H

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value - Good Food
The Abbeyfield Hotel is ideally sited for trips around North Wales. The cost for accommodation is reasonable, the rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast one of the best I have ever had. I will certainly consider re-booking when I revisit.

Reviewed by
Andrew Harding

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room cold, radiator not working. Room adjacent to main railway line, hence subject to noise & vibration.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor for the money
Our room felt very tired and old. It was clean enough, but could do with a refit. Wouldnt mind if it was cheaper, but you certainly dont get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
P W

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next