You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Abbeyfield Hotel


Talybont, Bangor, LL57 3UR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Dominic K

  • April 2016

Lively, friendly, clean B and B

Arrived late on Friday evening to find the bar absolutely buzzing.

Clearly a hit with the locals as well as visitors, we were welcomed for a few drinks before we turned in for the night.

A pleasant room with good facilities in a lovely spot on the country. Breakfast could have been better but was definitely great value for money.

  • William C

  • January 2016

Cozy room, friendly staff.

I was down in Bangor visiting relatives in the area, I stayed at the Abbeyfield, I had never stayed there before and I was pleased with the room, it was cozy and reasonably quiet and had been recently decorated as it had the smell of fresh paint.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was enough to start the day. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Sandra Stevens

  • November 2015

Warm Welcome

Friendly welcome on arrival.

Due to departure for Snowdonia marathon too early for breakfast however sandwiches were packed for us which I thought was a very thoughtful gesture

  • Kevin H

  • October 2015

Quality Service

Very accommodating staff.

  • Fiona L

  • September 2015

Late arrival

The room, view and location were excellent.

Waking in the morning to a view of the mountains and fauna set the tone for the rest of the day. However we arrived at approx midnight and whilst the room remain available the greeting was a little staid to say the interest in the trip or us as visitors...but appeared in a hurry to get back to the guests in the bar. We were told where the room was which contained Demi Tass cups for coffee and tea. Given the time of arrival we obviously missed dinner but no offers of a sandwich were made and unfortunately given the 9 hour drive, the late arrival and the stress of the precious day took its toll and we also missed breakfast. Again however nothing outside of breakfast was offered. So no going the extra mike for us...sadly. I would definitely recommend staying there even if it was just for the view.

Response from hotel

As our terms clearly state when making a booking, our last check in is 11.00pm So the fact that you arrived at 12.30am is the reason you were not offered anything to eat. I had other residents in the bar and had no staff due to it being so late, which is why we have a cut off point for check ins.

Sorry you feel neglected but it was nothing personal.

  • Donna Clayton

  • September 2015

Stayed at this hotel for one night with a group of friends, staff were friendly, helpful and made all of us feel really welcome.

The food was excellent and reasonably priced, the rooms was clean, tidy with ample space and fantastic views. I would definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it.

  • Brian P

  • March 2015

Short stay

Stayed for three nights, the room was comfortable and clean.

The hotel was in a convenient location for my visit. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent which enhanced my stay.

  • Ayaz Sheikh

  • March 2015

Ideal Stay

I was most impressed with the hotel and reception; plus a clean and comfortable room.

En-suite facilities were ideal. Would recommend to others and next time, bring my girlfriend.

  • Maggie R

  • November 2014

A much needed break

My expectations were met.

Thank you everyone at Abbeyfield for your friendly welcome. The room was pleasant and the bed wasn't too hard or soft, in fact it was just right. Great menu for evening meals. Ideally situated for touring the area.

  • Michael S

  • October 2014

A group of us stayed here after hiking Snowdon.

It was only about a fifteen minute drive away and offered everything we needed. The owners were very accommodating; we were a group of five and they offered to put an extra matress in the family room for a very reasonable fee (to cover linen and breakfast charges). The shower was great (you felt like you had been washed down with a power hose... ideal after hiking).

We ate dinner there and were very happy with the food (and generous portion sizes) and there is a good sized bar with a pool table and darts, so plenty to occupy a group of friends if you didn't want to go further a field. It was a very welcoming establishment and just right for what we needed.