No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbeyfield Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Talybont , Bangor, LL57 3UR
Abbeyfield Hotel is located off the A5 on the edge of Bangor in an area of natural beauty. Each en suite bedroom has a digital TV and free wireless internet. The hotel is convenient for the mountains, lakes and forests of Snowdonia National Park, as well as Gwynedd's dramatic coastline.

There is a public bar and a small, cosy restaurant serving very good British food, using local Welsh produce where possible. In its many years, Abbeyfield Hotel has been a coaching inn, a farmhouse, and since 1968, a private hotel.
Picture of Abbeyfield Hotel, Bangor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a towel rail and shelf in the bathroom would have been useful, loved the full size kettle and teapot

Reviewed by
JEAN H

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Almost hidden in Tal-y-Bont, the welcome at Abbeyfield Hotel was just as if we were old friends returning. The room was airey with plenty of space. As for the bed? Well I had one of the most comfortable night's sleep I've had for ages! And the breakfast, cooked, with a choice of cereals, grapefruit, toast, and plenty of tea and coffee was the icing on the cake. With bangor just 5 minutes drive away, and Penrhyn castle a short walk away, its certainly a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Michael A

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
The accommodation was a bit dated but it had everything we needed; comfortable beds, a lamp, television, ensuite bathroom. The least attractive thing was the slight smell of damp, that may have been caused by the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom. For the price it was very good and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was straightforward but nicely cooked and the waiting staff were great.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Clynderwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Negative review
Room was close to railway ( not mentioned in addvertisement) Bathroom had no Extractor Fan or window, Stairs were very steep for elderly and very creaky and the place was very noisy late at night when other tennents left the bar with lots loud voices and banging doors. We will not be returning.

Reviewed by
R H

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value - Good Food
The Abbeyfield Hotel is ideally sited for trips around North Wales. The cost for accommodation is reasonable, the rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast one of the best I have ever had. I will certainly consider re-booking when I revisit.

Reviewed by
Andrew Harding

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room cold, radiator not working. Room adjacent to main railway line, hence subject to noise & vibration.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor for the money
Our room felt very tired and old. It was clean enough, but could do with a refit. Wouldnt mind if it was cheaper, but you certainly dont get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
P W

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant enough, not bad, not great.
Staff were helpful, food was reasonable and generally no major complaints. Sure, I have stayed in a nicer room, eaten better food and slept further from a railway line. All of which cost more money.

Reviewed by
David W

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely surroundings. nice atmosphere and friendly staff

Reviewed by
neil wood

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mountain bikers rest
Good food, hot shower & a comfy bed. Just what we needed after a long day.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next