No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
The Royal Oak, 36 Kirkgate, Ripon, HG4 1PB
The Royal Oak is located in Ripon's historic Kirkgate, just a stones throw away from the market square and a short walk from the spectacular cathedral, making it an ideal place to explore the shops, museums and many charms of Ripon or venture further afield to discover the delights of the dales. The Royal Oak was originally built as a coaching inn and that tradition of superb hospitality continues today with fantastic food and drink, stylish bedrooms and a warm welcome. All of our rooms, bar & dining areas were extensively renovated & extended in August 2007, to create one of the best places to stay, eat and drink in the city, with a stunning new look. Our bedrooms have been transformed into an oasis of style and sophistication with plump pillows, crisp white cotton bedding and soft fluffy towels. All of our rooms have en-suite bath or shower rooms, flat screen TV's, a selection of tea & coffee making facilites and complimentary toiletries. Some also have views over the rooftops of Ripon and others of the Cathedral. All room prices include a full traditional hearty Yorkshire breakfast to start your day, or a lighter choice of croissants, cereals and fruit juices, all with as much Costa coffee or Taylors of Harrogate tea as you would like. Food is served at The Royal Oak throughout the day and late into the evening. We are very proud of our menu and being in an area so rich in quality local produce, we have worked hard to create a variety of dishes using these ingredients, sourced through local suppliers and cooked fresh to order. Our specials board also changes daily according to availability & season and what our chef is planning for the next menu. We believe a superb menu needs a drinks list to match and The Royal Oak is well known for its great selection of fine wines and of course its famous Timothy Taylor hand-pulled Yorkshire ales. We are also in the Good Beer Guide for 2008. We have two opening roaring log fires for you to relax with a large coffee and the newspapers to watch the world go by on Kirkgate, or dining areas suitable for business lunches also. We have facilites for children that include high chairs and changing areas. So whether you are calling in to lunch or dinner, or staying overnight, we are confident that you will be as delighted with The Royal Oak as we are: superb fresh food, locally sourced produce, Timothy Taylor's cask ales, fine wines, fantastic coffee, en-suite modern rooms, excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean friendly pub
We had 3 very comfortable nights at The Royal Oak. Everyone was very friendly and made us welcome. We ate in the pub and there was a good choice on the menu along with a varied selection on the specials board. The selection at breakfast was more than enough and the salmon and scrambled egg would have fed us both - although I managed all by myself! We also enjoyed the porridge, which seemed appropriate on a cold wet windy morning. Our bedroom was clean cosy and comfortable with a reasonable size bathroom. We were able to make the most of our stay despite the weather.

Reviewed by
Susan G

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at The Old Royal Oak Ripon
We stayed at The Old Royal Oak for one night and it was great , we had a lovely room and a very comfortable bed . The food is really good ,the staff are very helpful and friendly ,we shall stay at The Old Royal oak again

Reviewed by
Lucy Butler

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Place to Stay
Having never been to Ripon before, we expected there to be nice pubs every other door around the market square. This is not the case, and The Royal Oak has to be the best option for somewhere to stay and eat. The only other option seemed to be Wetherspoons. We stayed in Room 1 and it was large enough to have a good sized sofa to lounge on. The bed was very comfy Kingsize. The tea and coffee was plentiful. My only comments to improve the room would be for a larger TV - we struggled to see it from the sofa and bed and we both have excellent vision! Another point would be for a shelf or console table in the bathroom to put my toiletries on. The toiletries provided were good; shower gel, shampoo, handwash and body/hand lotion. We ate in the dining room the first evening and the food was fantastic Masterchef quality. The breakfast was similar quality and lots of choice. The pub itself could take a leaf out of Wetherspoons book and provide some comfy seating for customers just wanting a drink - it seemed there was space for "locals" watching the racing, playing dominoes or there is the dining area, no inbetween. The staff were excellent, friendly, knowledgeable. They recommended Marios Italian for eating - we ate there and enjoyed the meal.

Reviewed by
helen smith

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful, accommodating staff. Well located for town, intimate yet spacious in layout.

Reviewed by
C Harding

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another enjoyable stay
Expect a very warm welcome, excellent food and comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed by
P Fell

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jan 3013
Plesantly surprised, lovely old building. Excellent room and food. Would benefit from additional car parking.

Reviewed by
Gareth Farrar

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Oak, Ripon
Clean, comfortable, spacious room, worth paying a little extra for. Very friendly staff, delicious food & decent beer.

Reviewed by
Sally C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would recommend this hotel & will be back when in Ripon
This is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in. The staff on check in were very friendly and welcoming, check in was quick and we were immediately taken to our room with an offer to carry our bags and shown how the room operated, heating, TV, etc.
Our room was large, modern, well decorated and very clean with a Super King size bed, this is the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in, not to mention the comfort of the pillars.
Access to all rooms by a separate room key operated door therefore you do not have to pass through the Bar / Restaurant customers.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant with a good choice of cereals and a freshly cooked breakfast, (Traditional English, Salmon & Cheese Omelette to name but a few).
Tips 1. Our room was Room one , Be aware steps to all rooms

Reviewed by
Geoff P

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Oak stay - December 2012
Excellent place to stay, room only marked down as it was quite small & a lot of light came through the door! The bed was big & very comfortable too. the food was excellent, but unfortunately, our meal on the first night arrived cold in the middle but it was replaced quickly with a new, piping hot plate. The breakfast was excellent though & there was a good selection. Would definitely stay here again if we ever visit Ripon.

Reviewed by
D Hannon

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay
We only stayed here one night to break the journey to the North. The hotel ticked all the boxes at a verry reasonable price will probably stay again.

Reviewed by
HAZEL WILSON

From London, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next