No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
The Royal Oak, 36 Kirkgate, Ripon, HG4 1PB
The Royal Oak is located in Ripon's historic Kirkgate, just a stones throw away from the market square and a short walk from the spectacular cathedral, making it an ideal place to explore the shops, museums and many charms of Ripon or venture further afield to discover the delights of the dales. The Royal Oak was originally built as a coaching inn and that tradition of superb hospitality continues today with fantastic food and drink, stylish bedrooms and a warm welcome. All of our rooms, bar & dining areas were extensively renovated & extended in August 2007, to create one of the best places to stay, eat and drink in the city, with a stunning new look. Our bedrooms have been transformed into an oasis of style and sophistication with plump pillows, crisp white cotton bedding and soft fluffy towels. All of our rooms have en-suite bath or shower rooms, flat screen TV's, a selection of tea & coffee making facilites and complimentary toiletries. Some also have views over the rooftops of Ripon and others of the Cathedral. All room prices include a full traditional hearty Yorkshire breakfast to start your day, or a lighter choice of croissants, cereals and fruit juices, all with as much Costa coffee or Taylors of Harrogate tea as you would like. Food is served at The Royal Oak throughout the day and late into the evening. We are very proud of our menu and being in an area so rich in quality local produce, we have worked hard to create a variety of dishes using these ingredients, sourced through local suppliers and cooked fresh to order. Our specials board also changes daily according to availability & season and what our chef is planning for the next menu. We believe a superb menu needs a drinks list to match and The Royal Oak is well known for its great selection of fine wines and of course its famous Timothy Taylor hand-pulled Yorkshire ales. We are also in the Good Beer Guide for 2008. We have two opening roaring log fires for you to relax with a large coffee and the newspapers to watch the world go by on Kirkgate, or dining areas suitable for business lunches also. We have facilites for children that include high chairs and changing areas. So whether you are calling in to lunch or dinner, or staying overnight, we are confident that you will be as delighted with The Royal Oak as we are: superb fresh food, locally sourced produce, Timothy Taylor's cask ales, fine wines, fantastic coffee, en-suite modern rooms, excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay staff really good room very good for price our room had a broken toilet seat the only thing to let it down

Reviewed by
Martin O

From Southminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room was very clean and tidy and very comfortable and the staff were very pleasant indeed.My breakfast was excellent but my partner asked for Continental breakfast
( Ham and Cheese) and was very politely told that was not possible so she just had toast.
Cheese and ham would have been cheaper I think??
even the cleaning lady was nice, bless her.
The areas outside were veyr tidy and very well planted, well done.
We did not eat there because we went to a party with friends and a buffet was provided.
Would I stay again or recommend, sadly I don't think so, despite giving a great service the one factor we did not like were the parking facilities, an extremely bumpy car park which we could not enter into because of the very deep humps and holes.
I need to be content that my car is safe and sadly I did not feel that.
I think the owners have that in hand as I speak but until then no thanks, sorry!
if the parking were better we would deffinitely stay again.
again well done for service and clenliness.

Reviewed by
STUART GARFOOT

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel - great stay
Warm welcome, lovely room with side view of Cathedral. Bar and restaurant classy and comfortable.
Already planned our return. Thoroughly recommend!

Reviewed by
H O'Connor

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice and welcoming stay
The Royal Oak was very welcoming with a tidy room and good beer. People / staff are friendly, breakfast was very nice and the beer is good too.

Reviewed by
John R

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT - As usual
Great in all areas - staff, hotel, facilities, location & price ..... Simple as!!
Kim & Dave.

Reviewed by
David l

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable stay.
A very comfortable night away in a very nice hotel. It's easy to forget that this was a city break!

Reviewed by
C Housley

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place.warm welcome and great food.

Reviewed by
Chris a

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire Relish
Comfortable hotel round the corner from the market square and the Cathedral, one of the few Timothy Taylor hotels which means really good beer. Good size room, big comfy bed, clean new bathroom and car parking nearby. Dinner menu had flair and the food was good. Breakfast had local produce and was generous. With Marmite on the table! Don't miss Appleton's pork butcher in the square.

Reviewed by
Linda Coggans

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay,friendly staff. Just a tip - choice of fruit at breakfast would be nice as cereal is not for everyone.

Reviewed by
R Hill

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location being in the Market Square and ideal for exloring Ripon and other areas. Staff very pleasant especially those at breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. Very clean. Many stairs to climb and no lift available. Room was excellent but could have done with hooks in the bathroom or behind the door. Another towel rail and /or shelf would have been welcome as would a chair or stool at the dressing table. Bed was large and comfy. The driveway to the small car parking area which is shared with other businesses and householders should have the large holes filled in.
On the whole a very pleasant experience and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next