No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
The Royal Oak, 36 Kirkgate, Ripon, HG4 1PB
The Royal Oak is located in Ripon's historic Kirkgate, just a stones throw away from the market square and a short walk from the spectacular cathedral, making it an ideal place to explore the shops, museums and many charms of Ripon or venture further afield to discover the delights of the dales. The Royal Oak was originally built as a coaching inn and that tradition of superb hospitality continues today with fantastic food and drink, stylish bedrooms and a warm welcome. All of our rooms, bar & dining areas were extensively renovated & extended in August 2007, to create one of the best places to stay, eat and drink in the city, with a stunning new look. Our bedrooms have been transformed into an oasis of style and sophistication with plump pillows, crisp white cotton bedding and soft fluffy towels. All of our rooms have en-suite bath or shower rooms, flat screen TV's, a selection of tea & coffee making facilites and complimentary toiletries. Some also have views over the rooftops of Ripon and others of the Cathedral. All room prices include a full traditional hearty Yorkshire breakfast to start your day, or a lighter choice of croissants, cereals and fruit juices, all with as much Costa coffee or Taylors of Harrogate tea as you would like. Food is served at The Royal Oak throughout the day and late into the evening. We are very proud of our menu and being in an area so rich in quality local produce, we have worked hard to create a variety of dishes using these ingredients, sourced through local suppliers and cooked fresh to order. Our specials board also changes daily according to availability & season and what our chef is planning for the next menu. We believe a superb menu needs a drinks list to match and The Royal Oak is well known for its great selection of fine wines and of course its famous Timothy Taylor hand-pulled Yorkshire ales. We are also in the Good Beer Guide for 2008. We have two opening roaring log fires for you to relax with a large coffee and the newspapers to watch the world go by on Kirkgate, or dining areas suitable for business lunches also. We have facilites for children that include high chairs and changing areas. So whether you are calling in to lunch or dinner, or staying overnight, we are confident that you will be as delighted with The Royal Oak as we are: superb fresh food, locally sourced produce, Timothy Taylor's cask ales, fine wines, fantastic coffee, en-suite modern rooms, excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommended
Situated in an ideal spot just off the Market Place with a really good choice of cafe's and restaurants to choose from (including the hotel itself). Parking is limited but the staff made sure we got a space on arrival. Ripon Cathedral is just round the corner (so long as you don't mind the early morning chimes !). 20 minute walk to the racecourse (taxi was £6). Really enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
M Connor

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
We noticed that the hotel is being refurbished in the foreseeable future so that will address many of the negatives regarding the quality of the accommodation (e.g. torn wallpaper, poor quality of lighting). When they do refurbish, might I suggest providing a small fridge or cooler for each room? Most American hotels/motels do this nowadays and they are surprisingly useful. On a more positive note, the food on offer for dinner was very good. We ate there twice during our stay and were completely happy with the food and service on both occasions.

Reviewed by
Heather Simpson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff , excellent room , excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
mark davidson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in all respects, but breakfast would have benefited from an option that included fruit
Best Burger and Chips I have ever eaten!

Reviewed by
Nicola S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location & very hospitable
Stayed here with friends whilst visiting the races. Great spot and having parking was a bonus. Eating in the restaurant is a must, despite there being many other restaurants to choose from.

Reviewed by
Sheila S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Oak Ripon, a must !!!!
Just got back home from a brilliant couple of days in Ripon, the occasion being a wedding which was held at The Deanery, two mins walk from the hotel, from entering the hotel to leaving my wife and I could not fault anything, The staff, room and food were fabulous, first rate!!!!!!

Reviewed by
ken stevens

From south elmsall, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Oak Hotel
The hotel, rooms staff, food and ambience was fantastic at this hotel. Everyone in connection with the hotel were helpful and pleased to serve you as a customer. The Food was first rate as well as the cask ale.

Reviewed by
Ian Strettle

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only stopped one night, we was shown to our room the room was just like what we had seen in the picture,clean warm a lovely big bed, shower nice and hot and clean,we put our jim jams on the radiater for later, (it was freezing that weekend) then went for a drink, we came back to the acommodation for a drink then went to bed, We had Breakfast a great choice, different cereals nuts and dried fruits yoguart my husband had the English breakfast and i had the scambled egg with the smoked salmon it was spot on very good, no complaints

Reviewed by
g butcher

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming old character pub in the very heart of Ripon, an interesting town in its own right.
A warm welcome was extended to us by all the staff. Food was excellent with a tempting menu. As far as value for money is concerned, we will certainly return. Ripon has a lot to offer and needs a few days to allow exploring. Town Horn Blower was interesting and something which is easily experienced from this central accommodation.

Reviewed by
John G

From Templecombe, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in!!
We had a great time in ripon and the Royal Oak. The hotel could not be faulted in any way and we will definately be returning.

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next