Reviews - Spyglass and Kettle


Spyglass & Kettle 25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth, BH6 3PW

Price From 114.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (60)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Leberl

  • October 2015

A day in Bournemouth

They were very friendly people.

I loved it.

  • D Carr

  • September 2015

Spyglass and Kettle

Staff were polite and helpful as required.

Great location right on the seafront with easy access to town centre and other local attractions.

  • Michael C

  • September 2015

Very pleasant staff, good food and a good selection of drinks, the position was perfect for us either when using the car or the bus, I would recommend the Spyglass and kettle for short breaks.

  • sally n

  • April 2015

Spyglass and Kettle

Paid £118 for two nights for a twin room.

The picture looked lovely so I took a chance on the price. Unfortunately when they did the refurbishment, the ran out of money to do the room. Very basic room, although very clean,needed updating. The staff were friendly but the whole experience was impersonal as you have to deal with bar staff during your stay. I would stay again but the company needs to review their prices.

  • d dutton

  • April 2015

Spyglass and Kettle


  • S Rowley

  • March 2015

Great Welcoming Atmosphere

Newly refurbished pub with lovely atmosphere, clearly family friendly with well trained and helpful (but not pushy) staff.

Just on the sea front with sea views from the first floor and above. Excellent range of drinks available and good menu. Rooms more than adequate, scrupulously clean, with comfortable beds and bedding. We were the only guests staying on this particular out of season date, and our arrival at the breakfast table (already well laid out) came as a little surprising to some of the staff, but their care, courtesy and prompt supply of a beautifully cooked (and generous) breakfast more than made up for our brief wait. Live entertainment in the evening (duo - excellent) did not continue beyond 11.30 pm so no problems at all getting a restful night's sleep. Great being able to park in their car park instead of roadside. Convenient location for what we wanted - and just 15 minutes drive to Bournemouth sea front.

  • C Petrie

  • December 2014

Stay over Xmas period

1) First single room shown was filled with furniture still being made.

Shown and offered alternative room which was very nice. First room should have been cleaned and ready. 2) Unfortunately the room was directly above where a live band was performing Sat night. Deafening music till 12.30 am was not really appreciated after long drive from Newcastle.

3) Major problem with returning to pub after closing time Mon night.. Swipe card did not function and bell was unanswered so no entry possible. On a bitter night goodness knows what I could have done if I had no contacts in the area.

4) Breakfast needed more supplies of crockery, knives, butter etc, as none available when I had breakfast at 9am. Good point was that the customer service person did not dispute the concerns and refunded the night charge when entry was impossible.

  • Nicola Cooper

  • November 2014

staff on evening excellent but person in the morning when called spoiled a good review

arrived to find out that the rooms were prematurely booked as none ready it had only reopened that day.

however the staff were lovely getting a room ready and looking after us very well. But the morning the place was in darkness and locked we had to go out for the day at 8.30 so had to take the room key. I kept calling the hotel tel no until someone answered and the lady who it appears was the cleaner .. told me they needed the key by 2pm quite adamantly - so with her tone she spoiled the overall experience slightly as there should have been someone at least there in morning never mind the option of having breakfast . but have to commend the staff on the night time they were lovely

  • E cooper

  • September 2014

good visit but need updating

The room were a good size but need updating

  • Tony Lister

  • September 2014

Good location but rooms in need of updating and/or decorating.

Service good. For us the location on the front, a bike ride from Bournemouth centre was all we required.