No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Spyglass and Kettle

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Spyglass & Kettle 25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth, BH6 3PW
Situated on a cliff top this 8 bedroom bed and breakfast offers sea views in most of their bedrooms. All rooms have freeview televisions. Situated around 4-5 miles from Bournemouth town centre this hotel offers an ideal location with towns close by to visit, such as Boscombe and Southbourne. This welcoming hotel offers bright decor yet keeps a homely traditional feel, making it quite popular among families. (In some rooms we do accept dogs) The restaurant is most famous among locals, with an extensive menu and weekday offers to choose from. You will be greeted with a warm welcome from the friendly staff upon arrival who aim to make your stay the most enjoyable.
Picture of Spyglass and Kettle, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short overnight stay for the football
Booked a room for an overnight stay to watch my football team against Bournemouth. The B&B is above a public house and a little out of the City Centre but right on the sea front. For £45.00 including breakfast it was a real bargain.
The bed was comfortable and tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room.
The room I was in was a little tired looking decor wise and in need of a refurbishment plus the shower struggled however for an overnight stop I was more than content staying here but for a longer stay say more than a couple of days I would probably look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Dave Brown

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Value in a very pleasant location.
We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at this large pub with accommodation. Our room was clean, large and homely and had a wonderful sea view. A complete contrast to the sterility that you experience in many chain hotels. The staff were friendly and the breakfast we had superb with a wide range of choice. Best of all was the clifftop location meaning that the beach is just a short walk.
Those more used to five star hotels may find things a little basic but for the price, you could not ask for a better place to spend a night or two.

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money.staff very friendly and accommodating.good atmosphere arouend the place.

Reviewed by
glyn t

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Day Break
36 Spiral stairs to rooms a problem if elderly. Room requires updating. Mind sloping ceiling in bathroom. Comfortable bed good linen.

Reviewed by
William H

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were away for a family celebration
When we arrived we found the owners and staff were extremely friendly. Our room was spacious and comfortable but the furnishings and decor were a bit dated. Beds were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. It had it's faults but the friendliness of the staff and the good food made up for them. We would stay there again

Reviewed by
C DEAN

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekender
I enjoyed my stay the people were very friendly and happy to please,this made up for the quality of the washroom which we found alittle below standard.the bedroom was lovely and clean and very spacious,

Reviewed by
Valerie S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find!
OK, it's not the Ritz - it's well overdue a refurb but what a fabulous place to spend a night. We paid extra for a sea view and, what a view. The room was large and comfortable, there was a kettle with tea making facilities included and the bathroom was good sized, We didn't know where to check in but you just go to the bar and it's done from there. I thought the accommodation would be cramped but it's incredibly spacious; therefore there's not enough parking out front. We came on motorbikes so 2 bikes took up one space! If you can look past the tatty wallpaper and (very) creaky staircase I'd highly recommend this place!

Reviewed by
J Murray

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be going back next year
Had a wonderful time at the Spyglass and Kettle. We went two years ago, and had such a good time that we decided to go back again this year. We hoped it was as good as last time, and it certainly was. The free breakfast was great; we had a full english, but there was a range of cereals, toast, tea, coffee, and orange juice. The room was not of a very high standard (wallpaper missing, rusty shower, etc), but it was the cheapest room, and was very clean, and everything worked. The staff were nothing but polite and helpful, and we ate there every night as the food was brilliant (and cheap).
The hotel itself is in a great location, which is important to us as we are non-drivers. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, and because it's not in the heart of Bournemouth, there is plenty of beach space for everyone, and it is not overcrowded, even at peak times. There is a little cafe and beach shop (selling buckets, rings, etc) at a very reasonable price, and a life guard post about a ten minutes walk left of the hotel. We walked to Bournemouth town centre on our last day, only taking an hour and a half. We also walked to hengistbury head and got a ferry out to Mudeford Quay (£1.50 for an adult), which took around 2 - 3 hours where we spent the afternoon crabbing. It was a scenic walk, but too much to do twice, so we got a taxi back.
The overall stay was brilliant, and very good value for money, and it is in a brilliant location. We will be staying there again next year.

Reviewed by
G Dene

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
Good service, good clean room, fantastic location!

Reviewed by
Leigh C

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Breakfast and staff were lovely, room was a mess... Toilet wouldn't flush, wallpaper chipped, bed dented. Breakfast and staff saved our trip.

Reviewed by
Sarah Q

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next