No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Spyglass and Kettle

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Spyglass & Kettle 25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth, BH6 3PW
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Situated on a cliff top this 8 bedroom hotel offers sea views in most of their bedrooms. All rooms have freeview televisions. At around 4-5 miles from Bournemouth town centre this hotel offers an ideal location with towns close by to visit, such as Boscombe and Southbourne. This welcoming hotel offers bright decor yet keeps a homely traditional feel, making it quite popular among families. The restaurant is most famous among locals, with an extensive menu and weekday offers to choose from. You will be greeted with a warm welcome from the friendly staff upon arrival who aim to make your stay the most enjoyable.
Picture of Spyglass and Kettle, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but rooms in need of updating and/or decorating. Service good. For us the location on the front, a bike ride from Bournemouth centre was all we required.

Reviewed by
Tony Lister

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good visit but need updating
The room were a good size but need updating

Reviewed by
E cooper

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good place to stay .only down side we had top floor room ,a lot of stairs to room as i am part disabled but was worth effort good sea view. the meals are good value for money .service friendly and and helpfull

Reviewed by
keith evans

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bedrooms
Even though we had upgraded our room it was a little poor ,no wardrode just a rail and head board was lose. The water pressure was also poor and showerhead was basic. Could not fault the staff who were friendly and welcoming

Reviewed by
Sarah A

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and easy parking
A one night stay in this lovely old quirky building/pub by the sea. Ok, luxury it is not but for £45 including breakfast for two and free parking outside, what is not to like?

Reviewed by
Toni W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
On our first day we noticed that the hotel had be taken over by a new company and on the second day they were having meetings to up grade the property down stairs I just hope they do the same with the accommodation the rooms were very dated but the bedding and towels were very clean but the bed was ready for replacement very lumpy and you could sit on the edge without sliding off Plenty of hot water which was good the location for us was ideal too. If they clean up this place it will be very nice indeed just looking very tired just needs some tender loving care x

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short overnight stay for the football
Booked a room for an overnight stay to watch my football team against Bournemouth. The B&B is above a public house and a little out of the City Centre but right on the sea front. For £45.00 including breakfast it was a real bargain.
The bed was comfortable and tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room.
The room I was in was a little tired looking decor wise and in need of a refurbishment plus the shower struggled however for an overnight stop I was more than content staying here but for a longer stay say more than a couple of days I would probably look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Dave Brown

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Value in a very pleasant location.
We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at this large pub with accommodation. Our room was clean, large and homely and had a wonderful sea view. A complete contrast to the sterility that you experience in many chain hotels. The staff were friendly and the breakfast we had superb with a wide range of choice. Best of all was the clifftop location meaning that the beach is just a short walk.
Those more used to five star hotels may find things a little basic but for the price, you could not ask for a better place to spend a night or two.

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money.staff very friendly and accommodating.good atmosphere arouend the place.

Reviewed by
glyn t

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Day Break
36 Spiral stairs to rooms a problem if elderly. Room requires updating. Mind sloping ceiling in bathroom. Comfortable bed good linen.

Reviewed by
William H

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next