No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Windsor City Centre

5Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
69 Great Pulteney Street , Bath, BA2 4DL
Location Location Location
The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.
Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.
The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete the package and add to the guest experience.
Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return.


Picture of The Windsor City Centre, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable hotel in a beautiful city
We stayed on the top floor of this lovely hotel which meant climbing several flights of stairs toget to our room because it is a listed building there was no elevator, so it would not be good for disabled /infirm people. Our room was small,but comfortable ,clean and nicely decorated.Next to the kettle was a variety of coffee,tea ,herbal teas and evens couple of sachets of diluting juices which was a thoughtful touch for those who do not like hot drinks.There was a beautiful view over Bath from the window.Our ensuite bathroom had a shower in it.The water took several minutes to heat up ,but there was a notice warning us that this was the case. The shampoo (which smelt lovely)was in large bottles which were refilled when necessary.I liked this idea,as it is more environmentally friendly than having to replace small bottles all the time.The continental breakfast which was included in the price was fine.The orange juice was so good I had a second glass.As my husband chose kippers which he seemed to enjoy, this cost extra.The staff were very helpful and friendly.One concern we had when we arrived was to do with parking.Our concerns vanished when we discovered that we could buy a parking permit from the hotel.

Reviewed by
Jenny F

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single traveller on short stay
I stayed for one night in a single room. The room and ensuite were very clean, and nice and quiet. The staff were very helpful, professional and friendly, and my room and the public areas were very well maintained. The location is perfect for sight-seeing. I ate from the continental breakfast which is included in the price, and couldn't fault the food or service.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accomodation and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in a Georgian House
The Windsor Hotel is a former house in a lovely Georgian terrace. It is small, intimate and friendly. My room was at the top of the house - probably a servant's room in former times. It was small, but the amenities were modern and comfortable. The bed was clean and I slept very well in it. The en-suite facilities were small but of a good standard. The toiletries were of excellent quality, and with piping hot water what more could one ask for? The staff were friendly and helpful. A good continental breakfast was included in the room rate, and cooked breakfasts were also on offer for a modest extra charge.
As a lone traveller I was more than satisfied with my small room, but there are also larger rooms suitable for couples and families.
There is no lift, which might be problematic for someone with mobility difficulties but, to its credit, the hotel points this out in its advertising.

Reviewed by
Konrad M

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Bath
Excellent location for central Bath.

Reviewed by
Douglas W

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath Stay In April-May 2014
The customer service and cleanliness of the accommodation were both on point. There wasn't any large extravagancies about the them, but both were pleasantly acceptable.
However the reason I have given the quality of the room a 3, is because the downstairs guest suite had no ventilation (except large windows that weren't practical to open late at night) in the bathroom which left the room and bathroom smelling very damp. The smell was present as you walked into the room each time.
The total spend for 2 nights with breakfast was £262 and I have stayed twice already in different hotels in bath, thus I believe what i paid here was no where near as value for money as my previous stays. The food was given in small portion sizes and the serving of fresh fruit was in fact a serving spoon of orange and grapefruit segments from a tin on both days, and the serving portion of beans with a fried breakfast was just less than a tablespoon.
Therefore if you want better value for money and better food I would not recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewed by
A Punn

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 5* accomodation
We were dissapointed on arrival. The room had not been dusted, there was a lot of dust on arrival. I must say though the next day when the room was cleaned it was then dusted. There was a pubic black hair in the bath to greet us on arrival! Positive though was that the bathroom was clean (but small). Sub terraine room with no privacy, as the general public walking past could look straight into our room (we had to close the shutters or curtains). Breakfast was served to us in a chipped milk jug (large chip, you couldn't miss it!) and unbelievably when asked for a re fill the chipped milk jug came back to us. The quality of the food was good and the hotel was in a good location. Lastly NB this seems to be a hotel where all the staff go home at night, leave a message with a number on for emergencies and arrive back the next day! All the staff were foreign too. We will not be staying at this hotel again as we paid far too much (via laterooms.com) for the quality, service and room.

Reviewed by
Tracy W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very charming hotel and a nice experience.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location. Room was pleasant but being on the top floor, I found it very warm. Even though it was only April and cool outside I had to sleep with the AC on.

Reviewed by
R Klang

From La Canada, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break for one night x
We stayed in Bath at the guesthouse for one night. We were welcomed by a lovely lady who helped us in with all our stuff. We had a family room in the basement, two flights of stairs which was a bit hectic but ok once you take everything down there. The room was lovely and spacious with a seperate area with a television an sofa. This was nice when our daughter went off to sleep. BUT it had damp and a went floor which was not great we had to move all of our stuff away from the area and walls. The beds were ok, not the worst or best. The price is for the location not as it's a two minute walk into the centre of bath. All in all we had an ok stay and would go again. But maybe a different room. X

Reviewed by
Rebecca W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay in Heritage Bath
The Windsor is part of the original Georgian terrace and the character of the hotel derives from its age and original grandeur. The welcome is friendly. Because of the slope behind the street, the allocated bedroom, which was at the rear of the what appears to be a basement, is actually on the floor overlooking the rear garden. This double room is relatively small for two people, and the en suite shower/WC room is also cramped. The breakfast is wonderful. The hotel does not provide evening meals but the location is perfect for exploring the city centre, which is amply provided with eating places. Parking in the street is covered by a permit from from the hotel.

Reviewed by
Patrick R

From Wallington, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next