No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fingle Glen

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Tedburn st mary exeter, exeter, ex66af
Situated on the main arterial road to Cornwall just outside of Exeter is the perfect place for the business or leisure traveller alike. Fingle Glen Hotel and Fairway Lodges combine the perfect mix of modern style and good old fashioned customer service. The new complete refurbishment of the main building have totally changed the aesthetics from the moment you arrive with beautiful planting adorning the walkway into reception and the modern timber building. Once inside you will find a smart, sleek look in reception, bar area and contemporary restaurant as well as superb alfresco dining/social area with splendid views of the manicured golf course and surrounding countryside. The bar offers guests a great place to relax and enjoy a huge range of beers, wines and spirits. For diners there is a great selection of bar snacks, daily specials which showcase local produce as well as regularly reviewed restaurant menu which enables you to choose from a wide selection of modern British cuisine. On top of this we are able to boast a well established golf course and on site fishing.
Our resident on site beautician offers a wide selection of beauty and body treatments that can be booked in advance or whilst staying with us.
Within the main building are our refurbished hotel rooms which are perfect for the modern traveller with stylish, un-cluttered accommodation. Each room is complete with mini bar, safe and LCD Television, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries to facilitate basic travel needs. Our rooms are all non-smoking and have private shower rooms. Additional to this our suite a stylish lounge area and has a bath as well as shower room. Room service is available during 7am-8pm. Free private car park and access to free wireless internet is an added bonus to assist our business travelers.
Also, within the complex are 24 contemporary fairway lodge cabins that are the best in self catering accommodation each being equipped with vaulted ceilings, large kitchen/diner areas, an en suite double bedroom and twin bedroom with adjoining shower room and facilities. These units are fully equipped from the complete kitchen including all glassware, crockery and cutlery and kitchen equipment to fresh linen and laundry as well as LCD Television, DVD, safe and iron/iron board. Evenings can be enjoyed outside on the private decking which offers a great place to eat, drink and unwind, soaking up the picturesque views
Hotel guests receive complimentary breakfast which is served between 7am and 10:30am. We serve breakfast to your table offering you a full menu from continental selection to the traditional full English breakfast, freshly cooked for you by our catering team.
Picture of Fingle Glen , exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price
I found this accommodation very comfortable, the staff we pleasant and the breakfast good. My only criticism would be the down the nose look a stranger receives from some of the golf club members.

Reviewed by
K Barnes

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fingle Glen
Hotel is adequate. If you're there to play golf, you would be in heaven! Only had breakfast which was OK, but not special. Room was somewhat small for a double/twin. Free wifi was a bonus.

Reviewed by
Ian Huckin

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its a golf club rather than a hotel...........
The room were clean bit need a bit of TLC, a spot of re-grouting maybe in the en-suite and a quick sweep of the cobwebs before any guests move in - but this was a golf club with rooms rather than a hotel with a golf course. However, the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were very good too. A good base for what we required and no regrets about our stay at The Fingle Glen.

Reviewed by
R Potter

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Working Trip
the room was very big , double bed very comfy the food was very good at an affordable price and the menu changed every day,all of the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was piping hot and fresh , the outlook onto the golf course from the bar was good.

Reviewed by
edward w

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The attitudes of the staff is very friendly but
I should say at first that the staff are quite friendly, and the breakfast is nice. However, I have to say generally we are not satisfied with the accommodation:
We booked one suite and one standard double room. However, when we got there, the staff told us no suit was available. The choices for us were two: first, have two double room and they would refund the difference; second, provide us a lodge with two double bed rooms which normally is self-catering, but we can still enjoy free breakfast . I viewed the double rooms.....well, they are really small, definitely not for family! So we chose lodge. The lodge is spacious, nice and surrounded by golf course. However, it was a sunny summer day. The temperature in the lodge was too high, not only for our baby but also for us. The staff then provided us two elctricty fans, but when we turned them on we found them full of dusts. ....after all these, we decided to leave the hotel until the evening.
Another problem I have with the accommodation is the cleanliness of the Lodge. I found a few spider web between the bed and the window in our bedroom when I walked through the space with bare legs. ......Maybe that's fine for those who prepared for adventure nights in lodges, but not for someone like me who planned to have a relax night in a proper hotel.

Reviewed by
Li Y

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing County Break
We originally booked for one night, but found the hotel great value for money,very relaxing and the staff very attentive, so we booked an extra night. Would stay again next time we are in the area, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
E Sanderson

From Penkridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over priced
The location was lovely, but the room was dirty. There was cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. It was a lovely day no air conditioning which made the room boiling. The rooms was a little small. When we wanted food the only thing that they was serving was a French night, there was no mention of this on the website.
I wanted some pampering only to be old that the lady was not there she was on holidays, again there was no mention of this on the website.
This place is ideal for golfers

Reviewed by
e evans

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and comfortable
This was a perfect location for my business trip. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The meals were of a high standard and well presented.

Reviewed by
Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good alternative for the business traveller
I used Fingle Glen whilst doing some work for a nearby company. Stayed in the Firs Suite (more or less the same price as a standard room) and was very impressed. The room was clean, modern and the bed comfy.
The staff were always eager to help and the restaurant/bar food was very good.
Did have a problem accessing the Wi-Fi with neither my tablet of laptop picking up any signal.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
J Newman

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel in a beautiful setting
Overall very happy with level of service, attitude of staff and setting of hotel. One criticism would be the size of the shower. We were in room 2 which was of a good size so thought it strange that the en suite was small and particularly the shower cubicle. Thought better use could have been made of the space available. Otherwise very happy.

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next