No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 155 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the staff tried to be helpful, they didn't seen to know what they were doing. the staff on at breakfast time were excellent and friendly, the evening staff on arrival were not.

Reviewed by
Helen L

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently situated
Needed a hotel in the centre of town and this was close enough to be central and not to noisy. The room was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable.

Reviewed by
Jane E

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Met by happy friendly staff and given all required information for a comfortable stay, in a spotless though some what smallish twin room. Both food and service at breakfast was first class with enough choices for anyone to be satisfied.checking out again was a very easy experience.
would recommend to all as good quality and value for money.

Reviewed by
richard h

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab location for Pavillions. Staff helpful and friendly. Did not use any facilities just used as base to see a show.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really nice clean modern hotel, but boy racers in early hours spoilt a good nights sleep.
Not easy to find, but I enjoyed my stay. The rooms are really clean, modern and spacious , with all extras. The bar area, again modern, didn't have much atmosphere and was occupied mainly by business men. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was a real treat, being cooked to order, but didn't have to wait too long. My only critasisum would be the noise from the street racers in the early hours, followed by either police or ambulance syrenes,which were loud enough to wake me and keep me awake for several hours, to be fair I do have to have the window open.. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel for its high standard and it's location to the shops and amenities . If I stayed again, I would like to sample its bistro, who's menu I didn't spot until I was leaving, but it did look very interesting, and a better price than I'd paid the night before to eat at the barbican.

Reviewed by
Petrina Higgs

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super
Lovely room,very convieniant location,good food,friendly staff

Reviewed by
M George

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
hotel was lovely from the step through the door.l receptionist was very friendly n helpful. room was clean and tidy bed was ultra squishy and comfy :) we also ate in the restaurant and had breakfast both items of food were delicious. would highly recommend to friends and will deffo be stayin there again

Reviewed by
L Young

From St Austell, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Despite having my booking reference the unhelpful receptionist told me there was no booking in my name. When I protested another receptionist attended and soon found a room for me. It was the start of a bad experience. Later in the evening on my return to the Hotel I asked at the bar for a large brandy and lovage, and after leaving the bar through the rear door, the barman appeared with the drink already poured but it was not a double. I protested and the Head Barman then sorted the problem. Unfortunately problems still occurred at breakfast, I was shown to a table scattered with crumbs, laid for one person, when the coffee came I had to ask for milk, when the toast came I had to ask for butter and when the breakfast came I had to ask for a fork . This was not the experience I expected !

Reviewed by
Ray A

From Yelverton, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay for business
Good hotel with courteous and polite staff. Food is better then in most business hotels with the breakfast freshly cooked to order rather than a buffet. Would stay here again if similar good rates were available. My only negative is the car park was poorly laid out and due to lack of marking cars were not parked well making finding a spot tricky.

Reviewed by
E Brimson

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel weve stayed at in plymouth

Reviewed by
iain smith

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next