No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stop over hotel
I have used this Hotel quite a few times when staying in Plymouth due to its good location, Gym and pool.
They now have free wifi in the rooms (although i'm led to believe the signal strength is an issue in some) which is a great bonus as it is a real bug bear of mine to have to pay for this.
The room I had was a great size, lovely comfy bed and powerful shower. The downside is the breakfast. When having the full breakfast its a bit of a let down with regards to the amount, and the quality of sausages is particularly poor!! I will however stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Daniel P

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious rooms and service with a smile
The first thing you notice is that the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious fitting a double bed and a single bed along with table and chairs. I would recommend staying here again.

Reviewed by
chris s

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break away
Nice room good pool and spa, fire alarm went off at 10pm but did not afect us, would have been nice to have breakfast for 70 a night.

Reviewed by
m kelly

From Helston, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for one night to see a show at the Pavilions
Location of the hotel is perfect to see a show at Plymouth Pavilions. We were able to park our car at the hotel and enjoy a day in Plymouth before the show. Hotel staff and the room were excellent, we enjoyed a bar snack and only had to walk 20 yards back from the theatre after the show.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good staff and room
A warm welcome and very pleasant staff throughout the hotel, nice modern room, very clean, bit of noise from the disco on the fifth floor but nothing too serious.
In the bistro, the food was good, not great and expensive for what it was, once again the service was excellent, nice swimming pool but changing rooms looking well worn. Very good staff again.

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Caroline C

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful hotel
A wonderful hotel, very luxurious. The staff were very welcoming and the room was extremely comfortable. I had a queen size bed even though I had a single room. The quality of food and service in the restaurant was professional and tasty.
I was woken at four in the morning by noisy revellers arriving back, but this was no fault of the hotel and the amazing comfort of the bed soon had me back to sleep very quickly.
At £70 per night the hotel showed very good value for money. I would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
p williamson

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation
We stayed at the hotel for my son's graduation, we choose the hotel because we styed there before and found it to be very conveniently positioned for getting around Plymouth. The hotel staff are very welcoming, the food is very good and the bedrooms and public areas are spottles. Also I find the parking at the hotel very convenient. The hotel is our first choice when we come to visit our son who resides in Plymouth.

Reviewed by
L Fiore

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review from alison squrie
Excellent hotel. Centrally located and easy to find. Welcoming staff on the desk. Very helpful the next day. A few comments on the room. I would have liked a minibar as I arrived late, after the restaurant closed. Also there was no lock on the bathroom door which I would have preferred as I was sharing with my daughter, not a partner.
The next day, the breakfast was very pleasant but small and no hash browns - sorry, but I prefer them to saute potatoes.
Other than that, brilliabnt.

Reviewed by
alison s

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feeling welcome
Not felt that way I'm afraid. The first impression when we walked in of the hotel was good but then We spoke to a middle aged ,sour faced lady at the reception desk! We asked for directions and she made us feel like idiots when she replied "You've got the map upside down!"
We are returning in October half term for more days to stay so I hope that we meet someone rather more pleasant than that.

Reviewed by
Andrea C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next