No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 170 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city centre location
Clean, friendly, good location. Pre-theatre supper was excellent quality and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Lesley P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming stay
The hotel looked lovely as soon as we pulled up. We were tired and in need of a hot shower after a horrible journey down and we were met by the nicest receptionist ever! She was a breath of fresh air and very welcoming g, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely and welcoming. The staff at breakfast were very cheerful and the food in the dining room was excellent. Would definitely stay there again. We were sad to leave .

Reviewed by
susan cox

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Customer Service
Excellent customer service from staff at the Hotel with particular reference given to the reception staff. A generous size room with an excellent standard of cleanliness - an extremely comfortable bed resulted in 2 great nights sleep. Swimming pool and gym were an added bonus.
Hotel is ideally situated for exploring Plymouth and the surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
Sandra S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff and room was very good

Reviewed by
E Walker

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classy and clean
I took the opportunity to stop off and visit Plymouth on my way to Cornwall. The New Continental was a nice part of experience. I was well attended to, even with a Dutch coach tour and a wedding party at the hotel. The ground floor has most of the Cluedo board and really nice restaurant, brasserie and breakfast areas. The immediate location of the hotel isn't the most attractive, but it is handy for accessing city centre shops and the beautiful Hoe waterfront / foreshore. The room felt clean and airy. The blackout blinds in the room was a nice touch which helped me get a good rest- that aren't always found at this rating.

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
we enjoyed this hotel and felt it was very good value

Reviewed by
B HOWARD

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel except for noisy night club across the road
Only thing that spoiled the stay was lack of sleep due to noisy night club across the road. Otherwise they couldn't have done more.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff - hotel is a little dated but service levels are excellent
We stayed here for a couple of nights this week taking advantage of the little one being on holiday with the school so we had chance to have a few days relaxing. On arrival the receptionist was excellent and very friendly, room was clean whilst the hotel is a little dated it was very clean, cleanliness is more important to me than anything else! Our room didn't have an inspiring view but we were not there to sit looking out the windows so again not problematic, we booked this through a discount site and only saw some of the mixed reviews later, I accept some travellers may not be impressed but you can't please everyone!! Whenever travelling we never pay for breakfasts as it's always much better value to eat elsewhere ( there is a Weatherspoon's opposite).Although we booked this hotel for it's leisure facilities we didn't use them so can't comment on them, we were having too good a time in Plymouth to spend a lot of time at the Hotel. Car park is not in the best of condition, it is only £3.00 a day though, we weren't even charged for this which was a nice bonus. Worst part for me was the large graffiti on the back wall, if approaching from the car park this is your first impression of the Hotel - note to owners - get it cleaned off, does spoil the initial impression of your Hotel! In relation to the heat, we stayed when it was hot and the ceiling fan and large opening window were ample to keep the room cool. Personally would have liked a mini bar in the room as the bar is only open until 11.00 pm. We were on holiday after all! Would we stay again, yes, it's clean and has good staff, what more do you want!!! One other thing for the owners to note on a service level, if you have a lot of elderly guests visiting why not get them escorted to their rooms and show them how to use the key card room entry, we had to assist three guests in obtaining entry to their rooms which didn't mind doing at all ( lovely irish OAP's) but if the Hotel had done this it would have enhanced the service received. As a smoker, I went down late one night for a cigarette before going to sleep ( why no cigarette butt bin - butt ends all over the floor - again first impressions) stood outside smoking and there was an abundance of Police and Ambulances passing with sirens going, made me glad to have an inner room. Wifi worked very well, towels changed daily, though did have to nip to Primark as I'm a big lad and use two bath towels when showering, haven't stayed in many Hotels that only give you one - another note to owners?. Overall a nice hotel, pleased to recommend it and whilst I am sure there are better Hotels in Plymouth none are going to always be perfect, the staff make or break a Hotel and the staff here were excellent, even down to the Cleaners who all wished me a Good Morning with a bright smile on one of my early morning cigarette trips. Bed was not saggy baggy or too soft- i slept like a baby.I personally think some of the reviews on here are unfair but we all look for different things in the places we stay, for me it has to be clean with good staff and in this respect it ticked the boxes. The location is superb for walking in to the Harbour

Reviewed by
MARK C

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel room had not been booked by late rooms as promised! When I arrived no booking had been made by late rooms as promised. Fortunately they had one room left! Hotel were great but have lost confidence in late rooms.

Reviewed by
Mark Morgan

From Abingdon, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice Hotel
A nice and tidy room with all the basic facilities you would expect.

Reviewed by
Phil Newcombe

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next