Reviews - The New Continental Hotel


Millbay Road, Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Price From 135.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (151)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Wilderspin

  • December 2014

Weekend Stay

The staff are very helpful and polite.

The room was clean and tidy although the furniture is a little dated. The bar area has been kept up to date, although a little expensive. You do have use of the on site gym, which was included in the package for free.

  • A Wilderspin

  • December 2014

Catch up with friends

Although situated in the centre of town, the hotel is slightly set back, so as not to be to close to the evening noise.

The staff are very helpful, polite and do the utmost to make you stay comfortable. The rooms are clean and spacious, idea for a weekend and holiday. The furniture in the rooms is a little dated. Breakfast and use of the onsite gym is included in the price. Definitely recommended.

  • JOAN G

  • December 2014

Great stay with friend - last minute booking for Pavilions visit - super food. Will be back

One night stay with friend.

Had spacious 2nd floor room above main entrance. Great pre-show meal in brasseries - excellent value and lovely food. Will be back for that if I'm in Plymouth and needing to eat early, even if going home afterwards. Room excellent, clean and plenty room - king bed plus single. Very comfortable beds. No disturbance from fellow guests although near lift and function on that evening - thank you fellow guests. Minor niggles, which WON'T stop me booking again:- 1) No bedside light for reading - disaster - hadn't taken travel one myself as just away 1 night 2) No bedside table (shelf would do!) one side of double bed, so my phone and bedside clutter was on the floor. Done for space reasons, but I think compromise possible. 3) TV on swivel base in dressing table - would have stopped me using as desk because cramped - would prefer it on wall bracket 4) wall lights - 1 bulb not working - other lamps mismatched. 5) Room v hot - didn't have easy set thermostat or air con - for that reason would probably avoid in hot weather, despite fan being in room (in December) 6) Traffic and people noise until early hours - to be expected in central city but could be troublesome if had to have windows open at night to cool room. 7) Breakfast was OK but nothing startling. Fine for friend (selected items from the full english) and I (continental - nice croissants). Suited my mobility needs as didn't have to queue for toast machines and hot buffet, etc. but might select somewhere else if with husband - who really loves a substantial breakfast - it's a major part of his trips.

Friendly and efficient reception staff and brasseries service was good - no feeling of pressure for guests despite being fully booked.

It was my first stay and I will definitely be back. Didn't have chance to try the pool as it was closed for maintenance, which was a shame, but I knew when I booked.

Thank you everyone. It was lovely to be able to support an independent hotel.

  • I Tarpey

  • December 2014

booking problems

We had no problem with the booking with late rooms, the only problem we had was although we had the booking reference with us when we arrived they had no record of us been booked in.

Fortunately the hotel was not busy so they booked us in as' drop ins' and i am not sure if they credited you for the booking. We needed to stay at the hotel the following week, so we booked directly with them on the second occasion. I asked if they had taken up the previous booking with late rooms and they said that they always had problems with yourselves over booking of rooms. We would have not found the accommodation without yourselves and we would certainly use late rooms again, but you may want to take up the booking problem direct with the hotel.

  • Rebecca Barnes

  • December 2014

Everything was excellent!

Lovely costumer service and great value for money!

  • R Hopkins

  • December 2014

The New Continental Hotel

Close to all amenities.

friendly staff. Good value for money.

  • angela s

  • December 2014

Lovely room but the windows didn't shut properly causing a draft in the room.

We were on the first floor directly under the function room and their was a private function on which was very noisy keeping us awake in a family room.

  • Patricia Hawkins

  • November 2014

Autumn break

An enjoyable short break , good central location, room spacious and clean.

Bed comfortable ,bathroom again clean and warm. Enjoyed swim in hotel pool which was a bonus. Breakfast very filling and served hot and quickly. Very good value for money with safe on site parking. Will be happy to return in the future.

  • christopher w

  • November 2014

nice hotel

Lovely hotel, Geat location,a little noisy but to be expected in the middle of a city

  • Anne P

  • November 2014

Theatre trip

Very helpful reception staff, room clean & comfortable