No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay for business
Good hotel with courteous and polite staff. Food is better then in most business hotels with the breakfast freshly cooked to order rather than a buffet. Would stay here again if similar good rates were available. My only negative is the car park was poorly laid out and due to lack of marking cars were not parked well making finding a spot tricky.

Reviewed by
E Brimson

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel weve stayed at in plymouth

Reviewed by
iain smith

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had prob with broken bed moved immediatly to better room had prob as xmas party going on to all hours got full refund of stay staff couldnt be more helpfull we will be returning for our 3rd stay

Reviewed by
louise odonnell

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money - could benefit from modernisation.
I enjoyed my 1 night stay at the new continental in Plymouth - the room was spacious and clean with all the nice little complimentary products you'd expect i.e. shower gel, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer etc. The breakfast (@£6pp) was excellent. The fact that they offered free leisure facilities was a bonus - we used the pool and sauna. Although the pool was small, it was still nice to go for a morning swim.
The whole place could do with a bit of modernising - I thought the leisure facilities, corridors and our room looked a little tired compared to the reception area.
Overall a good stay.

Reviewed by
l hall

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
As it says on the tin

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for the pavillions
Stayed in a single room, clean adequate accomodation, well equipped- ironing board ,fan in closet. plenty of provisions for tea and coffee, shower was very noisy, was woken at 7am when room next door was showering , thought someone was hoovering! Then couldnt get back to sleep.
Lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Although I did request to be near some friends who were also staying at the hotel , but this request could not be met which was disappointing!
Generally would recommend this hotel, it is well situated for the hoe and shops. And especially the Plymouth pavillions which is across the car park.

Reviewed by
gina j

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for the Pavillions
stayed overnight to see a concert at the Pavillions, therefore this hotel was a fantastic location as just next door. The hotel was clean albeit a little dated in places but perfect for what we wanted. We chose the option to have breakfast which was good value for money. Would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for the Plymouth pavillions, this hotel is excellent and offers valve for money
Quality of food is also excellent with all products branded, A GEM FIND we will be returning

Reviewed by
SARAH K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Came and stayed for 1 night so we could see Sean Lock at the Pavillions , excellent location for access to the Pavillions (right next door) friendly staff , very efficient set up , rooms are nice and clean and tidy , had a lovely meal in Steves Brasserie, can highly recommend the twice cooked belly pork.

Reviewed by
Mark K

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend break
After reading some of the reviews about this hotel we were a little wary, however we had no need to worry,
On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was up to date and very clean. Our only negative about the room was that the shower was a little noisy. The bar staff were friendly and quick to take your orders - the drinks were a little on the expensive side but I suppose that is expected in a hotel. The breakfast was varied with fresh fruit, cereal followed by a lovely cooked breakfast accompanied by toast and tea or coffee.
We also used the leisure facilities which was an added bonus!
We had a lovely weekend at the new continental and would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Lynnette Harwood

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next