No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD
The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 185 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly staff and helpful

Reviewed by
SIAN SPRING

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Strong odour in a no smoking room. Very disappointed. Reception found an air freshener but no offer to move us.

Reviewed by
Marcia M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned but pleasant hotel, staff very helpful
We missed having a fridge in the room but otherwise everything was fine.

Reviewed by
Douglas P

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location,very clean,nice staff
pity they charge £3 to park a car.

Reviewed by
harry w

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a good experience
Only negative comment is that the pillows were too bulky and uncompromising ,one was not enough two was too many, hotel bar shut promptly at 11 pm without giving guests the opportunity to order another drink before it closed,otherwise a lovely hotel staff excellent ,we have stayed here more than once and will return ,very convenient for Plymouth Pavillions

Reviewed by
Alison C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
We booked a deluxe four poster room with spa bath. The room was of good proportions and very clean. The bathroom was immaculate. The only problem was that the room got rather hot and as with most hotels there was no air conditioning. As the room overlooked a main road having the windows opened made for quite a noisy night.

Reviewed by
J Morrison

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room

Reviewed by
Kirstie Harvey

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New continental
Full room rate was £110 but paid £85 through late rooms. That is about the maximum I would wish to pay, but noted that several of the large hotels were charging a similar price. Excellent double bed, although overlooking a busy road very little noise and I slept well. Sunday breakfast was 0700 to 1000 and a large meal was served by waiter service. Food was of very good quality.

Reviewed by
John H

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Great hotel, clean room but the room during the night was like a sauna even with the windows open. I got the room off of Late nights.com so was cheaper than the normal rate and some of our other friends were staying in the Travel Lodge around the corner which was just as good, so maybe this place is for people with a little more money. All in all a very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Rob B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good service with good staff
I have stayed here a few times. The staff are great (especially as I messed up my booking). Rooms are clean tidy, and well looked after. Really good gym onsite and location is great to head to the barbican. Not the most modern hotel in town, but overall definitely my preferred place to stay in Plymouth centre.

Reviewed by
Gaylen S

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next