No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 162 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room and hotel
Comfortable room and hotel. Excellent wi-fi connection. Superb full English breakfast and nice underground spa with pool, sauna and steam room. Very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping weekend
Great little bolt hole in the city, light, airy, friendly, good facilities too.

Reviewed by
Alison P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the money
From the outside the hotel does not look very appealing, but inside it all works very well and most importantly it is clean and tidy. If you want a hotel that is near to the city centre then this is ideal. If you are into you fitness you will pleased to know that you will get free access to the gym at the back of the hotel.

Reviewed by
brant m

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Very happy with our stay. Rooms clean and fairly spacious. Great bed! Breakfast was more than adaquate. Complimentary use of gym and sauna/pool added a special element to the hotel and overall can say we enjoyed ourselves.

Reviewed by
Max O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel near city centre, Barbican and Plymouth Ho.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and the hotel is excellent. I booked a single room for one night and the room was a nice size with ensuite, tea and coffe making facilities and trouser press.
It is about a 20 minute walk to the Barbican and about 10 minutes from The Ho. City centre is a few minutes walk away. The restaurant is very good with a nice selection - also the breakfast.
Next door to the Plymouth Pavillions - an ideal hotel and central to the attractions.

Reviewed by
Pamela M

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice Hotel and good location

Reviewed by
Gaurav S

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All staff very friendly, the service in the Restuarant was excellent.
Just a couple of things. The car park was very off putting, especially the back view of the hotel, but once in the foyer I felt a lot happier and safer. One of the main reasons I booked the hotel was the use of the swimming pool etc, however I found this rather shabby, with men's clothes hung up around the edge of the pool, mops and buckets every where,, it could be lovely but felt a bit seedy. But on a positive note the hotel was superb. Thank you

Reviewed by
Helen S

From Betchworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay

Reviewed by
A Porter

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel

Reviewed by
alan l

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay and very good quality acccommodation.
We were very pleased with the standard of everything for a 3* hotel .It was in a brilliant location- handy for the shopping centre, theatres and restaurants.The lovely warm room and bathroom were absolutely spotless.....and I'm a very fussy person!! Lovely comfy bed, fair sized room with everything you could possibly need. Bathroom was complete with bath and lovely hot power shower, also lovely hot towels constantly on hand because of the hot towel rail. Beautiful freshly cooked English breakfast served between 7 and 10 a.m....and plenty of it!! Didn't have time to use the swimming pool so can't comment. Will definitely visit again!

Reviewed by
patricia c

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next