No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cain Valley Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Cain Valley Hotel, High Street, , Llanfyllin, SY22 5AQ
Llanfyllin is a charming town surrounded by the gentle rolling hills typical of the Mid-Wales borders, it is an ideal centre for exploring Mid- Wales, Snowdonia and the Welsh Coast. The Cain Valley, a 17th Century Coaching Inn, is full of Character and has an impressive Grade I listed Jacobean staircase. Our friendly courteous staff will ensure you have a comfortable stay in our family run hotel. The Hotel comprises a total of eleven double or twin rooms, and two very spacious family rooms (suitable for up to 4 adults). All rooms are comfortable and wherever possible we have retained the buildings original features complete with “sloping floors” and exposed heavy oak beams. For a weekend away, a mid week break or perhaps a weeks touring holiday, we are sure that you will be well looked after. With a good mix of locals and residents our popular bars provide a friendly atmosphere. Real ale drinkers will appreciate our regular and guest beers. We also offer a wide selection of wines from our cellar The Cain Valley offers a comprehensive menu of home cooked meals, made with locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. Vegetarians are also well catered for.
Picture of Cain Valley Hotel, Llanfyllin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful staff
Stayed here for 2 nights. It is a family run hotel and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very at home. Had dinner there on the second night and there was plenty of choice. Meals were large and very tasty. Breakfast had a variety of cereals, juices and cooked items including full breakfast. We has an enormous family room with a double and 2 single beds, a couch and tv area. The room was at the front of the hotel and the street cleaners started early which woke us up but there is nothing the hotel could have done about this. If this would be a problem for you, you may want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. All in all a very enjoyable stay. We would go back.

Reviewed by
Linda G

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel offering good service with a smile.

Reviewed by
L Taylor

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky, old fasioned, homely

Reviewed by
Glyn Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Hotel with very friendly staff
Good value for money. Nice room, comfortable bed, welcoming staff and excellent breakfasts. Better than most of the competition in this area. I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Stephen Drummond

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Nice hotel. Large rooms & Comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Sarah-Jane H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really warm welcome and our second visit
We enjoyed our second stay and will be definitely booking again.

Reviewed by
H Boyling

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great Discovery
This hotel was a great surprise. It had character and although quite quirky, offered delightful accomodation and good honest food. The service was exceptional - staff were friendly and anxious to please. Food was delicious and very good value. It was an old building with interesting features - incredible sloping floors, beams and space. Our room was large and full of character. Reluctant to post a good review as too many people will want to stay here.

Reviewed by
J Page

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Ian Rouse

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Cain valley hotel
We booked to stay over for a wedding and found all staff to be very helpful and friendly which was the same in the village and at the venue, great nights sleep and everything we needed in the room

Reviewed by
Georgi Hart

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next