No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eshott Hall

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
ESHOTT HALL , MORPETH, NE65 9EN


Just 5 minutes from the A1, between Morpeth and Alnwick, this elegant
boutique Hotel is set in 35 acres of beautiful grounds and offers fine
dining, log fires, free Wi-Fi and parking.

Originally built in the 17th Century, this stunning country house is now a
luxurious privately owned Hotel nestled within its own spectacular gardens
and woodland. Designed to give the discerning guest a taste of authentic
country living, it perfectly blends the grace and charm of the past with the
contemporary comforts of the present.

Each of the Hotel's en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed and
sympathetically furnished in keeping with the history of the house. They all
combine traditional style with modern facilities to ensure a comfortable and
relaxing stay. Each room boasts views across the gardens and woodlands and
includes free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, luxurious bath
products, soft robes, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Some
rooms have free standing baths, others have four poster beds, yet all are
distinct in character and charm. There are also several Classic rooms
located in Eshott Grange, a beautiful cottage just a 2 minute walk from the
main building.

Dining at Eshott Hall is an exquisitely wonderful experience. Their 2 AA
Rosette restaurant takes great pride in creating exciting and innovative
menus that utilise classic flavours with a contemporary twist. Wherever
possible they endeavour to use fresh, locally sourced produce and
ingredients, much of which comes from their own kitchen garden. Indeed such
is the quality of their food that they have been awarded an AA Rosette for
the highest standards of creative cuisine.

For those seeking a place to relax and unwind, there's the Library, with its
'gentleman's club' atmosphere, as well as the elegant surroundings of the
Drawing Room. The property also makes for the perfect venue for a wide range
of special occasions and private functions including weddings, celebrations
and corporate events.

The property is situated in the heart of Northumberland not a 5 minute drive
from the A1 and 15 minutes from both Alnwick and Morpeth. Newcastle upon
Tyne is just half an hour away and offers exceptional transport links to the
rest of the country, indeed there is also a local train station at Morpeth.
For those flying in, Newcastle International Airport is less than a 30
minute drive from the Hotel.

Eshott Hall is a perfect base from which to explore the spectacular beauty
of Northumberland. They are just a short distance from Alnwick Garden and
Castle, Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh, the Holy Island of Lindisfarne, the Heritage
Coastline, the Cheviots and Northumberland National Park. Newcastle upon
Tyne is also nearby and is world renowned for its vibrant nightlife and
extensive shopping. The city also boasts a fabulous architectural heritage
from the Norman Castle Keep, sweeping Georgian streets and landmarks of the
industrial revolution such as The Baltic - now the world's largest
contemporary art centre. Also down on the Quayside, close to two of the
city's imposing bridges, is the Sage Gateshead, Sir Norman Foster's
magnificent contemporary concert hall, an amazing venue for live music.

Picture of Eshott Hall, MORPETH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely country house hotel
It may be worth checking when you book this hotel if your room/en-suite has a shower as you may be disappointed to find out you only have a bath in the middle of your bedroom.
However we managed to Change our room and we where pleased with the new room!
The only downside with our new room was the loud fan which came on every time we ran the tap!!!
On the plus side the staff were very polite and friendly.

Reviewed by
Fariborz L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

H

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really needed a night away from two small children to relax and found the perfect get away in Eshott. Delicious food, quiet and calm, even though it was fully booked you were hardly aware of anyone else. I was glad that we got a deal on late rooms as it would have been slightly too expensive otherwise. Perfect for what we were looking for with very friendly staff to look after us. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Louisa T

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely country house hotel
Well situated close to A1 but in a very quiet location, and with lovely gardens/grounds this hotel suited us perfectly for a 2 night stay. The food was excellent but we noted that the dinner menu did not change which would mitigate against a longer stay.

Reviewed by
A Miller

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
We have stayed here three times, and will keep returning. The hotel is beautiful and discreet. The staff are attentive and the customer service manager, Mariza, really goes the extra mile.

Reviewed by
N Blackwell-Brown

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lovely!
I chose Eshott Hall because it is half way between the towns of Morpeth and Alnwick so very convenient. I had read excellent reviews of the hotel - I stayed for two nights with breakfast included. The hotel is stunning and the grounds surroundings are breathtaking - I stayed in the 'peacock room' with wonderful views of the lawns and gardens. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming, the accommodation magnificent and the dining experience superb. Even when we requested extra guests to join us for lunch ( which we hadn't booked) the staff went out of their way to accommodate our wishes even setting up a table for us in the lovely library room all to ourselves - the meals were absolutely delicious, beautifully presented . The same standards even when requesting room service dining. A lovely stay. Very impressed.

Reviewed by
Catriona G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful tranquility
An excellent quality hotel in a fairly remote area but nevertheless easily accessible to Alnwick and Morpeth and also national treasures such as Lindisfarne Holy Island and Cragside.The hotel offers large bedrooms which are very clean and well presented.The food is excellent and the standard of service is first class.The only negative was the temperature in the drawing room and a log fire in the fireplace would not have gone amiss as the temperature the evenings were quite chilly

Reviewed by
Geoffrey S

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eshott Hall
We had a very nice weekend at Eshott Hall.
Our room was in Eshott Grange Cottage. We had the benefit of sitting room in the cottage which was good since there was not room in the main drawing room or library to find a seat on the afternoon we arrived. Might be an idea to provide some more cartons of milk - we ran out very quickly.
The food at the hotel was excellent - both dinner and breakfast, though the music was a little on the loud side and they could benefit with changing the CD more often - seemed to be on a loop and became a little irritating after a while
With the late rooms price the room was good value for money
Would certainly go back

Reviewed by
Barbara S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

eshott review
Really great staff and the food was faultless. The first room had a very small bathroom with a very small shower but when mention to staff we were given a fantastic room on the second night. Our stay was very enjoyable and would definitely go again.

Reviewed by
P Lord

From Ouseburn, York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night only then wanted to stay an extra night as it was so good! Really welcoming.
My only comment would be that there was a constant (boiler) type noise until late in the evening. We did mention it. However it did stop through the night and didnt spoil our stay.

Reviewed by
Adrian Drake

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next