No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shirley

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
66 Braddons Hill Road East , Torquay, TQ1 1HF
Built in 1888, 'The Shirley' is an individually-styled Victorian villa which still retains much of its original charm, warmth and character. Well-situated, facing south it has a heated outdoor swimming pool (available June until September) with a sun terrace. We have a comfortable, well stocked licensed bar/lounge serving a number of locally produced beers, branded spirits and quality wines from around the World, plus an elegant dining room for you to enjoy your freshly cooked full English or Continental breakfast. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, Freeview colour TVs, FREE Wi-Fi connection, hairdryer and branded complimentary toiletries. Natural local spring water is also available on each of our landings and in the dining room. 'The Shirley' is quietly located away from the traffic noises of the main road, yet is only a seven minute walk from the harbour, marina and town centre with its vast array of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. ‘The Shirley’ is also close to the Riviera International Conference Centre. Our location is ideally suited for exploring the beauty of Torbay with its miles of unspoilt coastline, 18 beaches (many of them have been awarded the Blue Flag award), secluded coves and the rugged Dartmoor National Park. Exploring the surrounding Devon countryside including the coastal towns of Dartmouth, Dawlish and Salcombe is a must with good bus and road links. Exeter is only 25 miles to the east and Plymouth 29 miles to the west. . For those of you wishing to travel to us by car, we also have a private on site car park and easy on-road parking. If the train is your preferred mode of transport then Torquay station is only just over a mile away. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, you can be assured that our hospitality will allow you to relax, unwind and enjoy yourself.
Picture of The Shirley, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really good place to stay
Excellent food wouldn't change the service maybe an extra plug in the room we were staying would've been better apart from that excellent all around

Reviewed by
S Mallen

From , England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gary & Debbie were great host, and made you feel at home, there place was spotlessly clean,the food was excellent, just one minor point was our room was at the top of the hotel with no lift, but Gary is very strong and will carry your cases up fo you, YES I will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alan Skinner

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The en-suite was modern and very clean, the room and beds comfortable and the breakfast was super. The owners are warm and friendly with a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding location. We will be happy to return to 'The Shirley' if we are in this part of the country.

Reviewed by
L Davies

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service, very welcoming
From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel welcome; rather than standing at the desk checking in, we were ushered into what looked like a family sitting room (lounge/bar) and offered a tea and coffee prior to filling in any paperwork. Every effort is made to make you feel at home, the rooms are scrupulously clean, breakfast is all local produce and is delicious.
If I was to try to find a negative, I could only say that some may not appreciate quite so personal a touch and may prefer a larger and more commercial establishment; this is not the kind of place where you can blend into the background unnoticed!

Reviewed by
Niall A

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Customer Service
Lovely accommodation and Garry and Debbie are great. Customer service was excellent, rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely recommend The Shirley.

Reviewed by
R Walsh

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
debbie and gary are charming hosts and the hotel is well worth its 4 stars.

Reviewed by
charles ponsford

From Fowey, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome retreat
It is rare to find a hotel with a 100% recommendation rating, and I do always wonder what awaits me when I arrive.
Surely it can't be THAT good?
Well, actually on this occasion, yes, it can!
Lovely (quaint) small hotel (only 12 rooms) with a genuinely warm welcome, comfortable clean (and quiet) rooms, and a breakfast well worth getting up for!
Put simply, if you want a small non corporate hotel as your stay in Torquay, you will be hard pressed to do better than this :)
Completely recommended

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent shirley
one of the first hotels we have stayed at that lives up to 4 star rating,hosts very frendley, breakfast excellent, as was accomodation, could'nt do enough for you, pleasure staying there,would recommend to anyone,easy to get to main centre and harbour

Reviewed by
a beeston

From Burton on Trent, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a charming & welcoming place to stay, run by pleasant & enthusiastic people.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Peterborough, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pleasant place to stay would recommend
Really nice people Debbie and Gary, warm welcome with a pot of tea.
Room was a little small but we were only staying two nights so not a problem, found it hard to sleep as the people next door flushed there toilet in the night and had to wait for the cistern to fill, anyway lots of advice form Debbie for places to stay and found a small private beach that I remembered in Brixham robin hood bay.
Gary greeted us every morning and quite funny as times lots of advise also thank you, everything you what in a good breakfast to start your day perfect.
Highly recommend would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Lakin

From Dodford, England
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next