No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Dragon

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Main Street Dent, Sedburgh, LA10 5QL
Nestling in the heart of Dentdale a few miles from the market town of Sedbergh. Dent is renowned as one of the quaintest and prettiest villages in the Yorkshire Dales.

Situated in idyllic countryside within easy reach of the Lake District and the West Coast, Dent provides the perfect holiday base.

The George and Dragon is a grade 2 listed building situated in the centre of Dent Village overlooking the famous Adam Sedgwick Memorial Fountain.

The Main Bar area hosts a 42" Plasma Screen TV, Screening Live Sporting Events & Pool Room with Gambling Machine and Dart Board

Traditionally furnished with relaxed public rooms the George and Dragon has two spacious dining areas serving home cooked meals daily 12 noon to 8.30 pm.

Tap House for Dent Brewery
Picture of The George & Dragon , Sedburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Spot
We had an excellent short stay in this beautiful village. The accommodation was very good and the staff friendly and efficient. Excellent breakfast. The downside was the evening meal-pretty dreadful and overpriced. We would certainly stay here again but eat elsewhere.

Reviewed by
D HAMILTON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet break
We wanted to look around Dent after a 20 year absence. Much has changed, and there is less to see and do! The George and the Dragon is very good accommodation for the price. We would happily have stayed here for a second night, but were moving on. The poor single staff member at breakfast looked overworked, so there were some inevitable delays, but it is pointless rushing in Dent,
so we were patient and just waited our turn.

Reviewed by
Tim L

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Nice friendly homely pub.
We stayed at the George and Dragon for just one night, the food was lovely and good value for money, the pub is a dog friendly kind of place (unlike the Sun just up the road).
We were made to feel comfortable, the room was also comfortable and the bed was just as comfy.
The breakfast in the morning that Teresa) made was spot on.
We will stay again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Moya Flynn

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay if you're doing the Dales Way.
Very comfortable stay. The rooms were clean, modern and the breakfast was good. The selection of booze on offer certainly helped to relax our tired muscles!

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional old Inn with top class Dent ales
Centrally located in this tiny town, an excellent base for walking the Dales way. Excellent range of Dent brewery ales and a range of draught ciders. Good quality pub food, with good bar and restaurant service. Clean adequate room, great breakfast. All you need to fuel a walk in Dentdale, a hidden treasure.

Reviewed by
terry d

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was extremely pleasant and much better than we expected for the price

Reviewed by
P Martin

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay in a beautiful village
A traditional real ale pub with great food and the bath after a long day of walking was a real bonus

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay.
Thoroughly enjoyed stay. Room on top floor with fascinating view of goings on below in street. Beds clean, warm and comfy. Biscuits and hot chocolate on tea tray daily and fresh milk on offer. Even had a tea towel to dry mugs! Plenty of hot water in taps and shower/ bath and provided a shower cap in addition to usual toiletries. Meals in evening were massive and of a high standard and the breakfasts were really superb. It's a camera pub with very good choice of local beers and cider . . and the coffee and scones available in the afternoon kept the non drinkers happy. Local area is picturesque with a small but must see museum in the village. Great for walkers and cyclists too as drying facilities were on offer!

Reviewed by
Vanessa B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking accommodation

Reviewed by
Anita T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast excellent but evening meal a bit of a let down, Rooms in keeping with establishment but might not be modern enough for some but very clean and comfy.

Reviewed by
P Dodwell

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next