No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Dragon

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Main Street Dent, Sedburgh, LA10 5QL
Nestling in the heart of Dentdale a few miles from the market town of Sedbergh. Dent is renowned as one of the quaintest and prettiest villages in the Yorkshire Dales.

Situated in idyllic countryside within easy reach of the Lake District and the West Coast, Dent provides the perfect holiday base.

The George and Dragon is a grade 2 listed building situated in the centre of Dent Village overlooking the famous Adam Sedgwick Memorial Fountain.

The Main Bar area hosts a 42" Plasma Screen TV, Screening Live Sporting Events & Pool Room with Gambling Machine and Dart Board

Traditionally furnished with relaxed public rooms the George and Dragon has two spacious dining areas serving home cooked meals daily 12 noon to 8.30 pm.

Tap House for Dent Brewery
Picture of The George & Dragon , Sedburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast excellent but evening meal a bit of a let down, Rooms in keeping with establishment but might not be modern enough for some but very clean and comfy.

Reviewed by
P Dodwell

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Dent
Boasting its own range of excellent beers from the Dent Brewery and a Landlord devoted to cider and real ale, the George and Dragon, Dent also serves delicious food at very reasonable prices. Townies beware, the portions are huge reflecting the generosity of Yorkshire hospitality. After your hearty full English breakfast its straight out of the front door and into the hills. When you get back you'll enjoy a perfect night's sleep. If you fancy a lazy day hop on the train at Dent station and enjoy a trip on the Settle-Carlisle railway. Breathtaking scenery!

Reviewed by
Philip U

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George & Dragon
Meals were good and the hotel was clean.

Reviewed by
John Latham

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not as good as previously
We had very little contact with management, they weren't very interested. The young waiting staff were good and enthusiastic apart from one evening when they needed a bit of guidance. There wasn't the same atmosphere as before when we stayed and the bedrooms were cold. We did have a severe drop in temperature for August, the radiators weren't on. Eventually we got another type of radiator to work. Disappointing but we did have some great walking

Reviewed by
S Morris

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
lovely village great beer good food = nice sleep

Reviewed by
david g

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George & Dragon
Good pub in an away from it all location. Slightly disappointed that there was a shortage of their own brewed beers available, but the alternative offerings were very good instead. Nice restaurant for the evening meal, and a first class breakfast !

Reviewed by
M Blackie

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we needed
Spent 2 nights here to go walking in a very comfortable roomy twin with great view and enjoyed 2 great breakfasts and evening meals

Reviewed by
Judith D

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Our room was comfortable and clean with ensuite bathroom that had a shower that worked well. It had all the basic things you need in a hotel room. Th staff were very friendly and helpful. The pub serves a variety of beers including some from their own brewery - well worth a try. There is a restaurant attached to the pub and it served a good choice of meals that were well cooked and presented.
The pub was in the centre of the old part of the villlage with narrow cobbled streets, which made it a little bit noisy , althought there was not a lot of traffic. The church (just across the road from the pub) is over 1000 years old abd has recently been restored. It is well worth a visit. We found the locals extremely friendly in an old worldy way which was charming - the England we don't see so often these days.
Overall a delightfull place to stay, although it may be a bit on the pricy side for pub accomodation.

Reviewed by
John C

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
The George and Dragon is situated in a lovely quiet village, though it is a little off the beaten track. It serves very good food and first class real ale and is very good value for money, three reasons why I'll be going back !

Reviewed by
Michael Roberts

From Tenby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room in a Historic Hotel Right in Centre of Village
I don't stay in hotels often and this one was nicer than I expected. I had a double room and it was comfortable and had everything I needed. I thought it was quite expensive considering I was a lone traveller but I guess most places are.
Staff were friendly and helpful and I could see the church from the bathroom, which was nice! I wish I had eaten here after all as the food at The Sun was dire.
Be aware that traffic on the cobbles is very noisy and the bar was very noisy until after midnight but once people had gone home it was great.
Saturday night, guests were not friendly, but in the morning they really were and that was very appreciated.
I probably would stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Coyle

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next