No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Dragon

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Main Street Dent, Sedburgh, LA10 5QL
Nestling in the heart of Dentdale a few miles from the market town of Sedbergh. Dent is renowned as one of the quaintest and prettiest villages in the Yorkshire Dales.

Situated in idyllic countryside within easy reach of the Lake District and the West Coast, Dent provides the perfect holiday base.

The George and Dragon is a grade 2 listed building situated in the centre of Dent Village overlooking the famous Adam Sedgwick Memorial Fountain.

The Main Bar area hosts a 42" Plasma Screen TV, Screening Live Sporting Events & Pool Room with Gambling Machine and Dart Board

Traditionally furnished with relaxed public rooms the George and Dragon has two spacious dining areas serving home cooked meals daily 12 noon to 8.30 pm.

Tap House for Dent Brewery
Picture of The George & Dragon , Sedburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
This was a last minute booking, I liked the look of the place from the website and wasn't disappointed when we arrived. The room was clean and had a very cosy, traditional feel to it. The rest of the hotel was clean throughout and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would be happy to stay here again in the future.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub, easy to find, just on the left as you come into Dent. They have information on short local walks and activities. Nestled in what is one of the nicest Yorkshire dales villages I've ever been to, very picturesque and charming. Definitely planning another trip there soon.

Reviewed by
Rebecca T

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Dent on 31 October 2014
Small but cosy room with good hospitality tray, and very comfortable bed. Excellent magnifying mirror in ensuite on windowledge, but in order to shave had to position it on towel rail !!!
Restaurant empty so dined in lounge bar and thought price high for what I had ( Cumberland sausage & mash ) Good breakfast produced very quickly when someone eventually came to take my order 10 minutes after I had sat down.

Reviewed by
David Davies

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a short break
Friendly place to stay, excellent breakfast and clean spacious rooms. Customer service excellent and of course great beer and cider. Great location for getting outdoors.

Reviewed by
Laura T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great few days great food / beer /cider . Friendly helpful staff . Great room . Thanks phill

Reviewed by
Phillip France

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Spot
We had an excellent short stay in this beautiful village. The accommodation was very good and the staff friendly and efficient. Excellent breakfast. The downside was the evening meal-pretty dreadful and overpriced. We would certainly stay here again but eat elsewhere.

Reviewed by
D HAMILTON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet break
We wanted to look around Dent after a 20 year absence. Much has changed, and there is less to see and do! The George and the Dragon is very good accommodation for the price. We would happily have stayed here for a second night, but were moving on. The poor single staff member at breakfast looked overworked, so there were some inevitable delays, but it is pointless rushing in Dent,
so we were patient and just waited our turn.

Reviewed by
Tim L

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Nice friendly homely pub.
We stayed at the George and Dragon for just one night, the food was lovely and good value for money, the pub is a dog friendly kind of place (unlike the Sun just up the road).
We were made to feel comfortable, the room was also comfortable and the bed was just as comfy.
The breakfast in the morning that Teresa) made was spot on.
We will stay again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Moya Flynn

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay if you're doing the Dales Way.
Very comfortable stay. The rooms were clean, modern and the breakfast was good. The selection of booze on offer certainly helped to relax our tired muscles!

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional old Inn with top class Dent ales
Centrally located in this tiny town, an excellent base for walking the Dales way. Excellent range of Dent brewery ales and a range of draught ciders. Good quality pub food, with good bar and restaurant service. Clean adequate room, great breakfast. All you need to fuel a walk in Dentdale, a hidden treasure.

Reviewed by
terry d

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next