No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Dragon

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Main Street Dent, Sedburgh, LA10 5QL
Nestling in the heart of Dentdale a few miles from the market town of Sedbergh. Dent is renowned as one of the quaintest and prettiest villages in the Yorkshire Dales.

Situated in idyllic countryside within easy reach of the Lake District and the West Coast, Dent provides the perfect holiday base.

The George and Dragon is a grade 2 listed building situated in the centre of Dent Village overlooking the famous Adam Sedgwick Memorial Fountain.

The Main Bar area hosts a 42" Plasma Screen TV, Screening Live Sporting Events & Pool Room with Gambling Machine and Dart Board

Traditionally furnished with relaxed public rooms the George and Dragon has two spacious dining areas serving home cooked meals daily 12 noon to 8.30 pm.

Tap House for Dent Brewery
Picture of The George & Dragon , Sedburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room in a Historic Hotel Right in Centre of Village
I don't stay in hotels often and this one was nicer than I expected. I had a double room and it was comfortable and had everything I needed. I thought it was quite expensive considering I was a lone traveller but I guess most places are.
Staff were friendly and helpful and I could see the church from the bathroom, which was nice! I wish I had eaten here after all as the food at The Sun was dire.
Be aware that traffic on the cobbles is very noisy and the bar was very noisy until after midnight but once people had gone home it was great.
Saturday night, guests were not friendly, but in the morning they really were and that was very appreciated.
I probably would stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Coyle

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We visited this pub many years ago and it was soul-less but its been turned around into a friendly pub with a vibrant atmosphere, great beer, good value food (huge portions) and comfy beds. The location's great too. We'll be back!

Reviewed by
Krystyna D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good bed and breakfast
Stay at George and Dragon was very enjoyable, food was excellent . We were well looked after and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Wendy J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George and Dragon, Dent
Room clean and good size (ensuite with a bath) with tea & coffee making facilities.
Staff helpful. Food excellent - evening meal & breakfast. Good range of beers and ciders. Welcome well behaved dogs in the bar and some bedrooms. Excellent location for walking holiday.

Reviewed by
verity b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
This is a very friendly, well run pub/inn. We were made to feel very welcome and our room was beautifully clean. The bathroom was spacious and had some nice toiletries. Breakfast was lovely, good quality produce.

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, everything you could expect and more
For a pub in the middle of nowhere (in a good way), you can't get better. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The food downstairs in the pub was excellent. The staff were great, putting some breakfast out early for us to head off in the morning.

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good
We cycled and our bicycles were kept in an outbuilding. The room was basic but fine for what we needed. We booked using late rooms and payed £25 for B&B rather than £45!

Reviewed by
G Williams

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything fine, enjoyable one night stop.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate place to stay in a lovely area
Our room was over the bar (room 8) so this was a tad noisy until midnight. Sound insulation poor but room was fine. I do not recommend the food here as it is overpriced and poor and service could be improved significantly.

ManagementResponse

The weekend you came was a bank holiday and yes it was very busy in the village so noise levels will be louder and I am sorry for this but we don’t run a monastery but we do run a very busy public house which services a large number of people which 90% of them are visitors to the dales. I can’t for the life of me think how are food prices are overpriced with food from £10.95 for a main course. The prices have been frozen for 12 months and with the beer prices on the bar coming down an average of 30p per pint to give everyone more for their pound and with the discounts on room prices I can’t believe people would complain about this. All the food is prepared on site and bought from local suppliers by which is not the cheapest way to do things. We only sell British beers on the bar and all cask beers are from your own brewery and all ciders are from real cider and Perry makers in the UK. I would like to say if, you would have spoken to me or my wife about this we might have been able to look into the matter but to complain after and when you have left it’s a bit much I know it’s the way now to complain after, but I would like to say please take the time to talk to us before you walk away.

Reviewed by
Maureen P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely dog friendly pub hotel in great, quaint setting
Simple hotel with friendly owners. They were very accommodating to our westie puppy and served good breakfasts. We also bought some of the beer from their brewery for presents! Dent itself is beautiful and a great place if you like pretty walks and getting your boots muddy.

Reviewed by
Georgia A

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next