Reviews - Lion hotel Buckden

High Street Buckden, St Neots, PE19 5XA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Frank N

  • October 2015

Wrong room

When I stayed before I was in a 'lodge' at back of the car park.

This time single room in the main hotel. Single bed which was fine, and big bathroom. Shower was weak. No TV remote which was annoying but not the end of the world. The noise all night from a nearby boiler (?) was really too much. Positively the service was very good, the ambiance excellent and the food including breakfast very good. I would stay again but not in Room 2

  • a mcmurray-day

  • October 2015

Relax at the lion hotel

after a hectic drive down the M1 and 2 hours crawling along the A14 we arrived early evening at the Lion in Buckden the staff polite and friendly showed us our room which was a spacious double room in the anex .

The hotel is an old coaching inn and if you like your hotel with character and history you will not be disappointed. The restaurant was busy and with the quality of the food you can understand why, food was served promptly and the staff were friendly and helpful. the bed was comfortable and we slept well . Breakfast was included in the room price and was served with the same helpfullness as diner. i would certainly recomend this hotel, Also if you have a spare hour Buckden towers across the street are well worth a visit.

  • Kerry G

  • September 2015

Simply put - very tired

The title says it all.

There's an awful lot of room for improvement here.

  • Eric T

  • September 2015

Lion hotel Buckden

The staff and the food were excelent the room was ok but a little tired.

Main dissappointment was the bathroom. No hook to hang things on, cracked wash basin. remains of shelf but no shelf over sink. The floor where it touched the walls was not very clean. Just needs a general spuce up.

  • k williams

  • August 2015

Weekend away

Booked the lion for a saturday night away, room 1 was excellent clean and very peacefull over looking court yard and church.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and good. Service a little slow but friendly. Was told the resturant was booked for a party and was told would end at 11.00pm was a little concerned but at 11.00pm the music was turned off. Heard no noise except the birds in the morning. Very pleasent stay would use again when in the area.

  • Gill M

  • August 2015

Lovely Hotel

Had a lovely Meal in the restaurant.

The room was lovely, if a little tired. The shower only had boiling water and although was reported, wasn't fixed. (It was the weekend)

Would stay here again,

  • s bennett

  • June 2015

creaky boards loved them

stayed here for 1 night cannot fault it.

will be back. what a little gem to find.

  • David S

  • April 2015

One night stay at the Lion Hotel

Checked in by a very pleasant receptionist and shown to room (biggest bathroom ever!) it was exactly as we were expecting, very old and quaint.

Even the floors sloped!

  • Eileen Moodie

  • January 2015

good rooms good service

every thing perfect couldn't ask for better!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Keith B

  • December 2014

a nice getaway

A bit of a rambling property but that adds to its character.

Good food and overall a relaxing overnight stay.