Reviews - Lion hotel Buckden

High Street Buckden, St Neots, PE19 5XA

Price From 134.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Fiona M

  • December 2014

Lovely place to stay, great value for money

  • p cook

  • November 2014

room bad food good

Very simple review.

The room was tired and with broken and moldy bathroom fittings it really needed a overhaul. Food in hotel was in contrast excellent. Breakfast was good quality. Waiter service quality was variable . Although the girls were very good.

  • Sara B

  • October 2014

Traditional Charm

Lovely old fashioned inn.

Decent pot of tea on arrival and upgraded free of charge to a lovely big four poster room. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Fantastic rack of lamb and bottle of red wine compensated for a losing day at Huntingdon races. Will definitely stay here again.

  • S Peacock

  • October 2014

It was a charming hotel full of character and charm,

The only problem that was a talking point was the sounds from the plumbing

  • Jennifer G

  • October 2014

The Lion Buckden

Our room was large and comfortable.

It was situated over the bar and we could hear the people below but that was only to be expected and did not go on too late or keep us awake. The breakfast was very good. Overall it was good value for money


  • September 2014

Lovely Olde Worlde Hotel

It was the first time we had stayed at the Hotel even though we live locally.

Staff polite and well organised, four poster room very spacious, bed very comfortable. It is an old Hotel so allowanaces must be made for plumbing and age of rooms but we enjoyed our stay, even though it was short. Breakfast lovely too, poached eggs cooked to perfection. was nice to be able to choose what we wanted, since mine was a bacon sandwich.

Would definitely go back if the situation arose.

Many thanks

Alison & Paul Bath

  • d reed

  • September 2014

We stayed here for two nights,and all the staff were very helpfull and the room was lovely and food was great too,Well defo go back.

  • Trevor D

  • September 2014


Tired and in need of a renovation.

Welcome not helped by being given keys to someone else's room. The half dressed young lady was not impressed. Parking is in the street in reality. At the end of the day it was OK, but that's it.

  • Michael C

  • September 2014

A Night at the Lion

An old English inn with a lot of character.

I recommend getting a double room even if you are on your own and the large one with the four poster bed is worth trying to book. The staff are friendly and helpful. They have recently had a new manager and the service in the restaurant seemed rather slow, but it was a Saturday night. Recommended.

  • Julie Howe

  • September 2014

Excellent as always

Have stayed in the Lion in Buckden on several occasions and have never been disappointed.

Room one with the four poster is a huge room with sofa and lovely bathroom. Staff are always top notch and very friendly and the food is even better than we remembered. Will definitely be staying their again Highly recommended!