No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Lion Hotel High Street, buckden, pe19 5xa
The Lion Hotel is a 15th century, Grade 11 listed building, imposing and refined – able to impress the most discerning of guests. Welcoming guests into it “Grand Hall”, retaining much of its original 15th Century fireplace, burning natural logs within a decidedly cosy atmosphere. The oak-panelled restaurant provides an elegant setting to enjoy some carefully prepared, local produce. All of our 15 bedrooms are fully en-suite; four posters, double, twin and family rooms. They all have central heating, direct dial telephone, trouser press, hair dryer, remote controlled television, radio and tea and coffee making facilities. There is an access ramp for one room which is suitable for the disabled.
Picture of Lion Hotel, buckden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired period property with sublime good meals
General appearance of room is very tired and dirty. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, if at all. This was rectified immediately by the Assistant Manager, but the floor in the rest of the room remained u n hoovered or cleaned for some time.
A serious review of household should be considered by the management.
The food is in total contrast to the rest of this hotel. Simply sublime good quality no matter one ordered on the menus . Shame that the very tired state (not old) and the cleanliness let this lovely d place down.

Reviewed by
Charmen H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem of a pub
An excellent B&B. The host and all the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was clean and tidy, food, especially the evening meal, excellent quality. The floors were somewhat uneven, but what do you expect in such an old building. Excellent location just off the A1.

Reviewed by
R Hooson

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to book, excellent value and quirky but comfortable room with very good breakfast. Would be happy to come again.

Reviewed by
Michael J

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Friendly, clean, comfortable. Not keen on apple sausages for breakfast and poached egg very vinegary.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food. Tired surroundings.
Good food and good breakfast included. Really excellent young staff.
Mis-judged the guide and price of this small hotel and in the end thought accom.was a little too tired.
Two table lights out of three had blown innapropriate bulbs.
The bathroom had faulty extract fan but being practical rather than one to make fuss I used the bathroom via the shaving light which did not trigger the noisy fan.

Reviewed by
barry p

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed
Unfortunately the lady that checked us in wasn't helpful but all the other staff couldn't be more attentive. The room was much too hot and we were unable to turn it down but this was compensated by the general, lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice. Most of the staff make you feel genuinely valued,

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
A good nights stay - our first room had electic issues and after reporting them we were moved rooms by reception in a happy manner with quality service. New room had no issues and was excellent. Breakfast was good and well served.

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lion Hotel
The room is great value for money. The room was welcoming and warm with an individual style (not another boring hotel room).
Food is brilliant and overall value is best I've stayed in through 2013-2014

Reviewed by
Ian B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly disappointed
I have stayed a number of times here and always had a very enjoyable stay. This time my room was disappointing the bathroom v shabby with a very noisy clanky fan with the light and to the toilet flush .the toilet roll holder was broken and the sink wouldnt drain properly. The bed was propped up on books and the bed head broken .there were thick cobwebs hanging in in the corner if the room with flies in it...I had to ask for this to be removed which it was.I was also very disappointed by the food. Previous yrs the resturant has been very busy with outside and residents ...I dont know if the chef has changed but the place was near empty. The food in the evening was poor lacking flavour and even skill and I ate very little of it.breakfast was poor ..limited choice in cereal ..burnt toast and no fresh fruit a available.

Reviewed by
s sharp

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great local inn
A comfortable, traditional and atmospheric inn with a lovely smell of woodsmoke from the open fire to accompany good beer and food. Our regular 'home' when visiting friends in Buckden.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next