You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Swan at Choppington


The Swan at Choppington, , Choppington, Morpeth, NE62 5TG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Denise Jones

  • September 2016

The Swan at Choppington

Very good stay.

We stayed here as we were at the Great North Run. Excellent value for money, the room was large, airy and clean, if a little tired. Having said that, for what we paid, it was excellent and we would book again. Be aware of booking in times like this as it is restricted!

  • Martin Jowett

  • August 2016

The Swan at Choppington

Good choice, we would recommend to anyone.

  • Catherine D

  • July 2016

Stayed here for one night.

The accommodation was separate from the pub it's self which is nice.

Ample free parking. The staff were pleasant and polite. The room was large and mostly clean though a bit in need of up dating however this didn't affect our stay. The beds were clean and extremely comfortable with very soft sheets. I slept better in their bed than I do in my own. A slight negative was that breakfast was served 0730-0900hrs and check out was before 1000hrs. Despite this I would stay here again. Great value for money.

  • C Lynn

  • February 2016

Wouldn't serve us food

This was the second time we have stopped here.

The first time was good but this time they wouldn't serve us an evening meal because they had a party of 31 eating there. Now surely as paying guests we should of came first. Needless to say we won't be going back.

Response from hotel

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

As you mention we did have a large golden wedding celebration in the restaurant on the night of your stay, who were also ‘paying guests’ and had booked their event in advance. We therefore couldn’t serve you at exactly the same time as this party. However, as we discussed with you on your arrival, we would have been happy to serve you later that evening.

We never assume that overnight guests will eat with us but, providing there is a little flexibility on time if necessary, we can always serve dinner to our guests with or without a booking. I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion and thanks again for bringing your views to our attention.

  • Peter R

  • February 2016

Value for money

Very clean and modern.

Huge room and fantastic reception. A credit to the owners.

  • alan t

  • February 2016

my stay

very handy location, near to relatives, found staff very friendly and helpful, bed comfortable and bedding was clean and crisp, hot water at all times décor a little dated but did not distract from overall comfortability of the room.

all in all a good place to stay, value for your money.

  • D Macrae

  • December 2015

The Swan at Choppington

good modern accommodation

  • C Lynn

  • November 2015

Very nice

Very nice self-contained rooms very spacious.

CCTV on car park and a play area for the kids.

  • Richard H

  • October 2015

Excellent budget accommodation

Providing you remember that this is not a luxury hotel, the accommodation is fine.

It was clean and warm, and the bed was very comfortable. TV and tea and coffee are en-suite. We were able to park right outside our room, and public transport to Newcastle, (35/40 minutes by bus), stops at the front door of the premises. The food is excellent, and the young lady who acts as both waitress and barmaid is polite, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Very good value for money.

  • J Harris

  • September 2015

Good base for touring

Great size rooms 2 chairs and table as well as good dressing table and stool ,32in television large bathroom with comfortable beds, rooms are 6 chalet style next to the pub which is nice and has conservatory as well as bar are to find in, meals are lovely with great service from nice staff.