Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
92% would recommend it to a friend
Wouldn't serve us food
This was the second time we have stopped here.
The first time was good but this time they wouldn't serve us an evening meal because they had a party of 31 eating there. Now surely as paying guests we should of came first. Needless to say we won't be going back.
Response from hotel
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
As you mention we did have a large golden wedding celebration in the restaurant on the night of your stay, who were also ‘paying guests’ and had booked their event in advance. We therefore couldn’t serve you at exactly the same time as this party. However, as we discussed with you on your arrival, we would have been happy to serve you later that evening.
We never assume that overnight guests will eat with us but, providing there is a little flexibility on time if necessary, we can always serve dinner to our guests with or without a booking. I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion and thanks again for bringing your views to our attention.
Value for money
Very clean and modern.
Huge room and fantastic reception. A credit to the owners.
very handy location, near to relatives, found staff very friendly and helpful, bed comfortable and bedding was clean and crisp, hot water at all times décor a little dated but did not distract from overall comfortability of the room.
all in all a good place to stay, value for your money.
The Swan at Choppington
good modern accommodation
Very nice self-contained rooms very spacious.
CCTV on car park and a play area for the kids.
Excellent budget accommodation
Providing you remember that this is not a luxury hotel, the accommodation is fine.
It was clean and warm, and the bed was very comfortable. TV and tea and coffee are en-suite. We were able to park right outside our room, and public transport to Newcastle, (35/40 minutes by bus), stops at the front door of the premises. The food is excellent, and the young lady who acts as both waitress and barmaid is polite, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Very good value for money.
Good base for touring
Great size rooms 2 chairs and table as well as good dressing table and stool ,32in television large bathroom with comfortable beds, rooms are 6 chalet style next to the pub which is nice and has conservatory as well as bar are to find in, meals are lovely with great service from nice staff.
Great place to stay!
Room was huge, and immaculate.
The Hotel was lovely, we were welcomed on arrival, and made to feel at home. The bar/restaurant was a lovely room, and the food and service were superb.
We were made most welcome by the hosts, good clean accommodation, fantastic food, would highly recommend and hope to make a return stay soon.
The Swan at Choppington
They were two radiators in room radiator near door was cold - and for the temperature outside this was good.
The other radiator was hot making the room very warm and impossible to get to sleep, the radiator had a thermostat, but this just spun round and didn't lower the temperature . Couldn't have the window open as the noise from the traffic (with it being on a busy road) didn't help. during the night we had to open the outside door to cool the room down. 2 hours sleep all night - not happy. Beds were comfortable and room was reasonably clean. The food was good, but find it hard to understand why the The Swan was so empty on a Friday night,