Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff Hotels > Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LONGUEIL CLOSE,SCHOONER WAY, CARDIFF, CF10 4EE
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of Cardiff Bay and the vibrant City Centre. Close to Cardiff Indoor Arena, shops, nightlife and conference venues, the hotel is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests alike.

Rooms are modern, light and equipped with comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. Some guest rooms over-look the canal and guests can take advantage of the complimentary buffet breakfast served each morning in the Great Room. Guests are invited to relax and socialise in the Lobby bar. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Secure parking are both available for a small charge. Business guests can take advantage of meeting rooms and the business centre.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
On arrival the young man who checked me in was very helpful and friendly - but still professional. He was also on duty the following morning and again that evening - he works hard! The room was clean and comfy - small points let them down - only two teabags, and these weren't replenished & no biscuits. I don't like the shower gel/shampoo. luckily I always carry my own. The hair dryer was a waste of time. For the nightly rate I would expect better facilities. The breakfast also seemed 'cheap' - especially the sausages

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

helpfulness
We left my husbands hearing aid and the staff were very helpful in returning it to us by post.

Reviewed by
vera hainsworth

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked a double room but was given a twin. Being a married man in his 40`s its a been a long time since i`ve been made to sleep in a single bed and was not comfortable at all. Tried to complain to reception staff when i checked in but was fobbed off. Not happy at all with the service at this hotel, if i`d wanted to sleep in a single bed i would have booked a single room.

ManagementResponse

Dear M Turner, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
M Turner

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city location
Good location if you want to visit Cardiff City. Breakfast selection was poor though with the toaster broken one morning.

Reviewed by
Graham Allen

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great comfort and value.
The H.Inn Express at Cardiff Bay is extremely comfortable. The service is excellent. The location is great as a base from which to explore the history, shopping and entertainment that Cardiff offers in abundance. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
J Jenkin

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to Cardiff Bay
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. I requested a quiet room and I was allocated one. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from Cardiff Bay and I found it easy to travel to and from the M4.

Reviewed by
Janet L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Found the hotel to be clean and tidy and the reception staff very helpful and welcoming. We were able to book into the room a few hours before the stated time which was a great help. Only a short 10-15 minute walk from Cardiff Bay

Reviewed by
Andrew Dearn

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lacklustre and tired
I stayed at this hotel with my partner on Monday & Tuesday this week. Having worked in hotels for many years, I know that a lasting impression is made on the guest is made by the bed, shower and breakfast. Unfortunately......yours did nothing of the sort.
The shower alternated between burning the skin off your back and leaving varying parts of the body hanging in icicles!
The bed was lumpy and the pillows gave us both headaches no matter what combination we tried.
And breakfast? Wow....words fail me to describe the lumpy and still frozen scrambled egg, uncooked sausages. The bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms were all missing so I do not think that scrambled egg, beans and sausages constitutes a cooked English breakfast in any way, shape or form.
All in all......very disappointing

ManagementResponse

Dear Jo Sprawling, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience during your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the condition of the room, specially the bed and the food selection may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, John, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Jo Sprawling

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

vey basic , noisy, twin beds when double requested, food very limitted in choice.

ManagementResponse

Dear Christopher S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Ferdinand, IHG Care

Reviewed by
christopher s

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Approx 10mins to cardiff bay and town centre

ManagementResponse

Dear Eileen Pearson, First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Ferdinand, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Eileen Pearson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next