You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - pentahotel Reading

4

Oxford Road, Reading, RG1 7RH

Price From 234.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (16)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • George Blackman

  • April 2016

Tatty old room . Called penta plus. Room 108

159 for a Wednesday night with breakfast.

Paid upgrade for penta plus . View was a scaffolded building with workmen. Worst room ever, paint on carpet, chipped walls and furniture.

Dirty walls and carpet. Poor picture on TV.

I reported all of this to reception and was told "sorry there's nothing I can do.but that's £159 please. Cash or card "?

  • James P

  • March 2016

Penta

Good hotel, nice staff, pleasant stay

  • K Singh

  • February 2016

pentahotel Reading

Penta Review

  • P Hardman

  • February 2016

A good clean hotel with nice staff

  • Timur S

  • October 2015

Style over substance

Noisy room d/t position next to road.

I found a silverfish bug on my towel.

Good to have USB/PWR etc facilities. Not ideal to check-in during busy times in the bar.

  • p harland

  • February 2015

Noisy room by road

Unfortunately our room was on the side of the hotel which was by a very busy road, so the traffic disturbed us.

We had to wait about 20 mins to check in. The décor in the rooms was ghastly and cheap-looking.

  • r christopher

  • December 2014

great stay

Close to centre .

Rooms clean and new beds comfortable. no noise when window shut.

  • Anne J

  • September 2014

Wont go back

Customer service very poor.

At least two of the staff on reception had very poor English. Nothing was explained. We had a problem with cold showers in one of the rooms we booked. To be fair I don't think the member of staff understood English enough to realise our problem but no spontaneous apology was offered. Overpriced, no tea/coffee making facilities. Lighting in the foyer on the evening we arrived was enough to make us feel dizzy.

Response from hotel

Dear Anne,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that you didn't have the great experience you should have with us. I am surprised you had a challenge with the language from our team members. Although we are an international team we ensure our front facing team are fully conversant. There should have been an apology but can only put this down to a misunderstanding. Please accept my personal apologies.

Sorry about your shower, our engineering team are looking into this very rare issue.

I am intrigued about your comment 'overpriced' as we are extremely competitively priced within our market. Tea and coffee facilities are available in every room in the draw unit and now with a choice of teas!

Sorry our lighting made you feel dizzy, it changes gradually throughout the day to suit the mood and the majority of our guests love the ambiance of our funky pentalounge.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best wishes, James Gardiner - Hotel Manager

  • N Ahmad

  • September 2014

Excellent Atmosphere

I have booked with pentahotel many times and consider them to be a amazing hotel.

Staff are really helpful and alow you to have your on privacy too. Rooms are amazing with really good decoration and peace in the rooms (heard no noise). The power shower is a plus. I would defiantly recommend to anyone staying for a long weekend or one night

  • S Marshall

  • September 2014

Really poor service, mediocre

The room was really weird- I booked a double room and got twin beds zipped together, really poorly.

Wifi was overpriced and didn't work at all. Receptionist was unhelpful and didn't really seem keen to help me. They seem to think that the nice lobby can mask rather bad rooms, poor service and noise from the street. Don't believe the blackout curtains, light from the corridors drifts in anyway...

Response from hotel

Dear S Marshall,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that everything wasn't perfect for you. Generally our beds are loved by our guests and are super comfortable. We can sometimes put two of our massive beds together to make an even more comfortable sleeping experience but am sorry this didn't work for you.

We test our wifi every day but am sorry you had challenges with it - we have a technical support number for tech-help you may wish to use next time.

We have free and extremely competitively priced one hour and 24 hour super-speed wifi available for everyone.

I am sorry to hear one of our team could have been more helpful and will address this directly.

Thank you for your comment on our curtains, they are genuine black-out ones and with no windows onto our subtly lit corridors I am confused by your comments on this; please let us know if this is something we can help with if you are visiting again to make your stay more comfortable.

Best wishes, James Gardiner - Hotel Manager