No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Reading

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Road, Reading, RG1 7RH
At pentahotels you will be anything but bored We have removed old fashioned hotel stereotypes in every single room and created a new standard with our successful blend of modernity and laid back style. When you take a close look- you will discover a few more fabulous features with excellent quality in the things that really matter to you.
Picture of pentahotel Reading, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy room by road
Unfortunately our room was on the side of the hotel which was by a very busy road, so the traffic disturbed us.
We had to wait about 20 mins to check in.
The décor in the rooms was ghastly and cheap-looking.

Reviewed by
p harland

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Close to centre . Rooms clean and new beds comfortable.
no noise when window shut.

Reviewed by
r christopher

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wont go back
Customer service very poor. At least two of the staff on reception had very poor English. Nothing was explained. We had a problem with cold showers in one of the rooms we booked. To be fair I don't think the member of staff understood English enough to realise our problem but no spontaneous apology was offered.
Overpriced, no tea/coffee making facilities.
Lighting in the foyer on the evening we arrived was enough to make us feel dizzy.

ManagementResponse

Dear Anne, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that you didn't have the great experience you should have with us. I am surprised you had a challenge with the language from our team members. Although we are an international team we ensure our front facing team are fully conversant. There should have been an apology but can only put this down to a misunderstanding. Please accept my personal apologies. Sorry about your shower, our engineering team are looking into this very rare issue. I am intrigued about your comment 'overpriced' as we are extremely competitively priced within our market. Tea and coffee facilities are available in every room in the draw unit and now with a choice of teas! Sorry our lighting made you feel dizzy, it changes gradually throughout the day to suit the mood and the majority of our guests love the ambiance of our funky pentalounge. Thank you again for your feedback. Best wishes, James Gardiner - Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Anne J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Atmosphere
I have booked with pentahotel many times and consider them to be a amazing hotel. Staff are really helpful and alow you to have your on privacy too. Rooms are amazing with really good decoration and peace in the rooms (heard no noise). The power shower is a plus! I would defiantly recommend to anyone staying for a long weekend or one night

Reviewed by
N Ahmad

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really poor service, mediocre
The room was really weird- I booked a double room and got twin beds zipped together, really poorly.
Wifi was overpriced and didn't work at all. Receptionist was unhelpful and didn't really seem keen to help me. They seem to think that the nice lobby can mask rather bad rooms, poor service and noise from the street. Don't believe the blackout curtains, light from the corridors drifts in anyway...

ManagementResponse

Dear S Marshall, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that everything wasn't perfect for you. Generally our beds are loved by our guests and are super comfortable. We can sometimes put two of our massive beds together to make an even more comfortable sleeping experience but am sorry this didn't work for you. We test our wifi every day but am sorry you had challenges with it - we have a technical support number for tech-help you may wish to use next time. We have free and extremely competitively priced one hour and 24 hour super-speed wifi available for everyone. I am sorry to hear one of our team could have been more helpful and will address this directly. Thank you for your comment on our curtains, they are genuine black-out ones and with no windows onto our subtly lit corridors I am confused by your comments on this; please let us know if this is something we can help with if you are visiting again to make your stay more comfortable. Best wishes, James Gardiner - Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
S Marshall

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfy beds
Lovely room massive bed good all round room

Reviewed by
t holmes

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel at a Great Price
Stayed for one night for a drinks evening in Reading and this had a great price. Don't be put off by the look of the building from the outside as a very non descript red brick building. Inside it is very modern, clean and fresh with great amenities. Not many hotels in this price range provide free WiFi, free pay TV, good toiletries, breakfast included (depending on rate) and complimentary water. The icing on the cake though is that checkout is 3pm on a Sunday - good when you have had a few drinks on the Saturday.
Staff were attentive and polite and looked after you without being in your face.

Reviewed by
Gareth Evans

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Music festival
It was very convenient, since it was close to everything. It is personally the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The breakfast buffet was marvelous. It had an extensive selection. I enjoyed my 25 minute walk from the hotel to the festival.

Reviewed by
R Chan

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent modern hotel
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel lobby and bar area is great and the rooms are very comfortable. Huge bed, great bathroom and I particularly liked the technology panel allowing you charge various devices etc.

Reviewed by
S Button

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent! We will be back!
I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and this was our first trip to Reading. When we arrived, we were greeted and checked in instantly and given all of the information we would need to know. Breakfast was included which was a bonus! Parking is just across the street and Pentahotel give you an additional ticket which gives you a discount, brilliant! Our room was immaculate, a lovely size and very creatively decorated! Very modern and such huge and very comfy beds. I had read the reviews previously which mentioned the comfy beds, and was so pleased when we saw them. Also a lovely and modern bathroom, with a brilliant shower. A TV which worked and had lots of channels to choose from. The bar area downstairs is very nice and spacious, and has a lovely atmosphere for an evening drink. The hotel is located very close to all of the shops and restaurants which was perfect for us. In the evening we ordered some room service, and the food was delicious, very worthwhile. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, lots of variety and all delicious. Upon checking out, again we received a lovely service from the friendly receptionist. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with our stay and we were both very impressed with the hotel and the service that we received. We will definitely be back, and if we ever visit Reading again we will be staying here. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Carley M

From Southsea, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next