No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Celebrity

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
47 Gervis Road Bournemouth, Bournemouth, BH1 3DD
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!

The Head Chef (Owner's wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional "home cooked" food.

Alternatively, our vibrant Birdcage Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!!

Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary "all you can eat" buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day.

The Hotel's comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32" flat screen TVs (with exception of 2 single rooms that have smaller TVs) , offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation.

We offer free off-road parking facilities (first come first serve basis) and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC.

GROUPS: We require the bond from all groups at time of arrival. This can be paid by pre-authorisation of a credit card produced on arrival. Should the bond, or part of the bond, be called due to any damage/unreasonable behaviour during the stay an invoice will be posted to the nominated address within 5 working days of check-out.
Bonds are required from single sex groups booking into hotel.
3 - 4 guests £100.00
5 - 8 guests £150.00
9 or more guests £250.00
Bonds can be paid by pre-authorization of credit card or cash deposit, (in both cases payable on arrival).
Pets are allowed. There is a pet fee £15 per pet per day (maximum £30 per stay).
Picture of Hotel Celebrity , Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms were spotless and clean. We had a very nice experience , although there was a party of men who I think was a stage party, and they were very noisy. On return to there room in the early hours . But excellent stay, and would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
Kathleen Winsor

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I recently stayed in this Hotel and i really do recommend this hotel. I will be staying in this hotel again on my next visit too Bournemouth. It is really good for people way for a drinking weekend as there is a 24 hour bar with 10% off all drinks of people staying in the hotel. All staff were really friendly and helpful and also the hotel was very clean, I personally enjoyed my stay at this Hotel and was very happy with my time here

Reviewed by
Jade Davies

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, no complaints about the food which was well above adequate. The room was perfectly acceptable, clean and reasonably well appointed. We will certainly return and recommend to others

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel for a Great Price!
We only stayed for one night but was very impressed with the hotel. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
christina hilton

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best value ever
did not expect much for what I paid.....but WOW was I shocked, clean,friendly,comfortable....wiah I couldhave stayed longer ... great friendly staff

Reviewed by
l viner

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
hotel was in a very good location, a close walk to the seafront and main street with the bars. i was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the breakfast was very nice. my only 2 niggles was that our room was not very modern at all, but we did notice they are in the process of modernising the rooms and some we looked in going down the corridor were decorated to a good standard. i guess we were just unlucky to get one of the older rooms. Also, they had a private function on so the bar area was closed off for guests. purely for location and value for money i would definitely stay again though.

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Celebrity Hotel, Bournemouth
On being invited to a 70th birthday party in Bournemouth, I chose to book one night at the Celebrity Hotel because it was reasonably priced, had great reviews and had a bar. I found it to be a rather run down hotel but, to be fair, the literature did say that they had finished renovating the ground floor and was now starting on the first floor and this very much needed a decorating job. My room was a small double with a door that was difficult to open using the key provided although help was at hand from a chamber maid. The room on the first floor was right at the very end of a long winding corridor tightly up against another room which was occupied by two young men. There was, rather disconcertingly, an interconnecting door between the two rooms and, when one of the men was showering and singing in the shower, it sounded as if he was in my room. Unfortunately we did not share the same taste in music!
After booking into the hotel and returning from a trip to the shops, I thought it would be nice to have a drink in the bar but it was not to be. It seems that on party nights (150 women in one party and a stag party in the other), the bar is closed to residents! Oh dear! but I was served a drink at reception and could take it to a sitting room. Later I was having trouble putting on my television and a staff member from reception promised to come and have a look but it took her quite some time to arrive at my room so I was ready to go out by the time she arrived. There was no problem at that point; the set just needed switching on although it was difficult to find the 'on' button. I did point out to the staff member that I did feel a little isolated as a single woman travelling on her own in a room so far at the end of the hotel and right next to two men especially with the interconnecting door. She hastened to reassur me with the comment that the door was locked!! She also did offer to change my room but, as I was ready to go out to my party, it was really too late so I suppose I should have spoken up earlier. Next morning, I made it to breakfast and, at first glance, it looked quite good, a buffet cooked breakfast and fruits and cereals but I have to say that, by the time I got back to my seat and started to eat, I found the breakfast to be just lukewarm. They really need to keep the food hotter. When I went to my room for the last hour before checking out and to watch an hour of television, to my annoyance, the television digital reception vanished and, half an hour before checkout, all the electricity went out. When I went to reception to check out and reported this, I was told that they knew about the problem and were trying to sort it out.
Well what can I say? My hotel room was reasonably priced and the bed was comfortable but it was certainly not ideal. To sum up, the hotel upstairs was shabby and rundown; there was no access to the bar; my room was right at the end of the corridor and it was interconnected via a locked door to a room inhabited by two young men (not an ideal room for a single woman); breakfast was lukewarm; there wre problems with television and electricity. I am not sure I would ever stay again.at the Celebrity Hotel.

Reviewed by
Kathleen B

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated rooms and not very helpful staff
I was due to arrive in the evening to check in so asked on my booking if a parking space could be reserved and that i had wifi access from my room (as hotel advertises). I got a promt reply to say its on a first come first serve basis (not helpful knowning i couldn't be there til latecand already paid up!) and that certainly i would have wifi.
When i arrived, sure enough car park was full! Checked in, lady was unhelpful on desk and making me walk back to check registration number of car so i could check in. Then got given wifi side and off i went too find my room. Not easy based on staff non help. Eventually got to room, changed for bed, turned on wifi only to find they had shoved me in far corner of hotel when wifi didnt even detect!
Room needed renovation, and breakfast was dated - deep fried bread etc. Not the nicest!

Reviewed by
Craig M

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money..I will recommend
A good stay and value for money

Reviewed by
W M

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel celebrity
The room was clean, and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Only down side was that it wasn't very warm when we arrived about 5pm, apparently the heating would be on soon, and we borrowed a heater which was not very good. We also had hot water issues when we tried to run a bath in the evening, but by morning the water was piping hot for our shower. They do something odd with the water here, and drinking water is on the centre of each floors corridor, which is ok, but a bit of a walk if you don't plan in advance, and fill your kettle up like a jug. The hot breakfast was disappointing for vegetarians, but there was cereal and toast. We left our car there the next day, although how long you could do this for depended on the member of staff you asked. The hotel literature advertised a bar and disco and there were drinks offers, so it could get a little noisy on a Saturday night, but we stayed on Sunday night and it was very peaceful and very central location.

Reviewed by
J Whitmore

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next