You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hotel Celebrity

3

47 Gervis Road Bournemouth, Bournemouth, BH1 3DD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (64)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Shaw

  • April 2015

Pleasant stay and good value

It's not the best looking hotel - but it ticked all my main boxes so I went for it.

Staff were friendly, it's in a good location for both train/coach station and the sea and town centre. Room was big enough and I was very happy to have the complimentary wifi and breakfast. Good price too.

  • l g

  • April 2015

Easter break

Breakfast wasn't too bad but the evening meal was horrendous.

We were informed that it probably wasn't worth saying anything as the young chef was a friend of the manager. Parking was limited on a first come first parked basis. Hotel looks quite run down.

  • Carl B

  • April 2015

Excellent Value

We stayed on a Sat evening, for the money it was excellent value.

The hotel was busy with lots of groups, so the receptionist moved us upon check in to a quieter part. Room was clean and well equipped. The shower was a little under powered but this might be due to the water softer equipment. Breakfast was really well laid out and plenty to choose from

  • April S

  • April 2015

Not too bad

The hotel itself was quite novel, with each room being dedicated to a different celebrity and the wall of the hallway being covered in photos and posters.

You could see tell tale signs of where previous pictures had been hung in the room before the current ones.

As this is quite an old hotel, the floor boards are quite creaky so we didn't really appreciate being woken up by the people above us while they walked around on the creaky floorboards for an hour quite early in the morning.

Breakfast was within a good timeframe but it was quite basic. The hotel was in a good location close to the town and very close to the beach. There was just enough parking for everyone.

  • paul smith

  • April 2015

Hotel Celebrity

Brilliant hotel.

  • G Hicks

  • April 2015

Mixed bag

Our one night at the Hotel Celebrity would have been fine were it not for the constant noise from floor boards above.

The celebrity theme was quite amusing at first but soon became a little tiresome. Staff were excellent, parking was ok and breakfast was fine if a little cramped at self service area with lids and tongs needing moving and replacing In a tight area.

  • Chris D

  • March 2015

Good value and pleasant, if quirky, accommodation

OK, so we went for price first and lowered our expectations accordingly.

As it turned out, no need with Hotel Celebrity. Yes the hotel is tired, but they do appear to be renovating some rooms, and the guest areas are absolutely fine. The staff were welcoming on arrival and the standard room was perfectly adequate and a reasonable size. The bathroom was past its best, but clean and everything working. The breakfast was very good and by the number of guests, they have their niche. The whole celebrity branding was quirky, I would probably have preferred Catherine Zeta Jones room, but Michael Jackson was fine, though the missus found seeing a lifesize image of the star in the mirror a little odd. They even have their own ghost. Good value and an easy walk to the town centre.

  • m stokes

  • March 2015

great location

Excellent location I walked into town centre.

Loads of cafes and bars nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. A very nice hotel, very clean with a wonderful in house restaurant.

  • Karl P

  • March 2015

A unique hotel in this age of conformity

In what would have been a lovely 1930s building, which has admittedly seen better days, this hotel is certainly different to the norm.

Staff are very friendly, the room clean and the breakfast good. For the price I don't think it can be beaten.

  • Ed T

  • March 2015

Comfortably functional at a keen price, with added themed interest.

The "celebrity" theme is imaginatively presented - without being over-commercialised or "brash".

The little exhibits depicting the celebrity themes witnessed were appreciated, along with the decor in which they are set. Some of these were interesting and well-researched, even though we beg the question of whom a celebrity might or might not be. Staff encountered were agreeable and helpful, especially the waiter / bar manager on duty that evening. Although quite basic, both meals eaten were wholesome. The bedroom, amply sized for single occupancy, was equipped with a comfortable bed and a very good quality TV - both much appreciated.

The location of the room, however, was potentially very noisy, and would have been had the hotel been more fully occupied. For me, this would have turned a fine night's rest into a miserable experience. (Some wall insulation, perhaps...?)

All things considered, this was a good value stay in the "low" season.