Reviews - Thorpe Thewles lodge

0

Drummoyne, ,, Stockton-On-Tees, TS21 3JB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (33)

55% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kevin T

  • February 2015

Good value

Great value for money and would recommend this.

Only problem was finding this place... Maybe a location pin point on the website would be ideal apart from this I would 100% go back. Very polite staff.

  • Fred D

  • January 2015

Somewhere different

I wanted somewhere differerent to the usual corporate chain hotels.

This was really good, but only suitable if you want some isolation. Access is up a pot-holed farm track (call for directions), and the night I stayed was icy . There was nowhere to easily walk to. However, the room was warm and comfortable, the local village pub does good meals and is CAMRA listed for good beer. Room had good WiFi and Sky TV. Breakfast was plentiful, and cooked to order.

  • Thomas L

  • January 2015

Nice stay

Nice place, track to get there is full of pits.

It snowed over night and however beautiful it was in the morning it was a bit scary. It was quite difficult to find too

  • SUSAN G

  • November 2014

So near and yet so far! Not for the faint hearted ...

Please do not rely on satnav to find this place.

I speak as one who is not easily daunted, however my promised 3 mile journey from my place of business, took 50 mins. Driving up and down a busy road in the dark trying to find an access which did not state ' no access to b&b!. I eventually found it by leaving my car in the forbidden drive ( with a clamping warning) , climbing over a locked gate in pitch darkness and exploring a muddy farm yard. When I found the place there was an envelope with my name pinned to the door. Inside was a phone number and an entry key code. The lady who answered was clearly no stranger to this type of query, which she has apparently talked regularly to the owner about, and was very apologetic and I was finally able to get directions. I then got back in my car and drove another circuitous 2 miles until myself and my vehicle had both finally arrived!.

I had chosen to stay overnight as I had a late finish and early start the next day with my business, however I felt as if it would have been easier to drive 1 1/2 hours home instead. Had I not paid in advance I would not have perservered. Other reviewers have said enough about huge pot holes etc so I will not elaborate. Accomodation was adequate but quite pricey and definitely tarnished by my horrible experience. In daylight the following morning it was clear that the place is very untidy outside. I don't think the owner caresa jot. Please insist that this owner sends proper directions to all future guests as many in my position would have given up.

  • Muhammad Mubeen

  • November 2014

Best trip in Stockton on Tees

I really enjoyed my stay in farm house.

  • Victoria S

  • September 2014

Needs a clean

Great price good space for a large group but fails as very dirty accommodation needs a deep clean

  • Chuen P

  • September 2014

Nice little secluded lodge in Thorpe Thewles

It was difficult to find the lodge.

Access road not shown on sat nav. Had to call to ask for directions. Arrived very late at night, so did not manage to meet with owner/receptionist. Note was posted at front door with message and instructions. Thought was for me only as arrived late but this was how the owner operate to everyone. Lacks the warmth and hospitality on arrival. However, helper in the morning was very warm and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Good value for money. Full English breakfast (at an extra cost) was great.

  • J Brittain

  • September 2014

Clean and modern room however promised wifi and hair drier were non-existent, heating would not work overnight, and one of the towels provided had a dirty stain on it.

  • Duncan Bristow

  • September 2014

Great stay

Myself and my partner stay for 2 nights and it was a pleasant surprise at the quality of the accommodation I must say it was amazing old beams and an open fire in the room rolling country outside the doors the village is only aile away and has 2 good pubs everyone was so friendly it was great 😃😃😃😃

  • joe p

  • August 2014

Oh Dear....

The staff were friendly however the room and grounds were awful.

There were bare wooden floors in the room above and when the occupants came home drunk it sounded like a heard of elephants were crashing around, which was great at 00.40 in the morning. The rooms were also so poorly insulated that we could hear them breaking wind and laughing about it, as if they were in the room with us. Delightful. I did not get a decent nights sleep the entire stay. There were also loose tiles in the bathroom which were camouflaged with a matt thrown over the top of them as well as other broken/poorly maintained fittings and furnishings. There was a picnic area and grass grounds to the rear of the building onto which our french doors opened. It looked pleasant except that there was litter (bottle tops, cigarette packets, bottles etc) that was present when we arrived and was still there when we left. One of the workers, who appeared to live in a caravan onsite, also excersised two dogs in this area, allowing them to foul and leaving the mess, which was unpleasant. The exteranal bins were also overflowing when we arrived and were not emptied over the course of our three day stay. Broken furniture and discarded mops were also left propped up against walls and lying around the floor. The only decent thing about the stay was the breakfast. It was by far the best cook breakfast I've had in a long while, with extremely generous portions. The lady that cooked and served the breakfast was also lovely. I felt very sorry for her as she was in the firing line for complaints from other guests, even though the upkeep was not her responsibility.