No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorpe Thewles Lodge

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
DRUMMOYNE, DURHAM ROAD, STOCKTON-ON-TEES, TS21 3JB
Thorpe Thewles Lodge is an elegant Bed and Breakfast and cottages created from an old and traditional farm house. The house has been lovingly converted into a warm and comfortable luxury place for you to stay.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and friendly atmosphere and we aim to make your stay as comfy and relaxing as possible.

Set in a peaceful village and beautiful surroundings its principal village is Thorpe Thewles located not far from Middlesbrough, Stockton and Darlington.
Picture of Thorpe Thewles Lodge, STOCKTON-ON-TEES at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Great value for money and would recommend this. Only problem was finding this place... Maybe a location pin point on the website would be ideal apart from this I would 100% go back. Very polite staff.

Reviewed by
Kevin T

From stockton on tees, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhere different
I wanted somewhere differerent to the usual corporate chain hotels. This was really good, but only suitable if you want some isolation. Access is up a pot-holed farm track (call for directions), and the night I stayed was icy . There was nowhere to easily walk to. However, the room was warm and comfortable, the local village pub does good meals and is CAMRA listed for good beer.
Room had good WiFi and Sky TV. Breakfast was plentiful, and cooked to order.

Reviewed by
Fred D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Nice place, track to get there is full of pits. It snowed over night and however beautiful it was in the morning it was a bit scary. It was quite difficult to find too

Reviewed by
Thomas L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So near and yet so far! Not for the faint hearted ...
Please do not rely on satnav to find this place. I speak as one who is not easily daunted, however my promised 3 mile journey from my place of business, took 50 mins! Driving up and down a busy road in the dark trying to find an access which did not state ' no access to b&b!. I eventually found it by leaving my car in the forbidden drive ( with a clamping warning) , climbing over a locked gate in pitch darkness and exploring a muddy farm yard. When I found the place there was an envelope with my name pinned to the door. Inside was a phone number and an entry key code. The lady who answered was clearly no stranger to this type of query, which she has apparently talked regularly to the owner about, and was very apologetic and I was finally able to get directions. I then got back in my car and drove another circuitous 2 miles until myself and my vehicle had both finally arrived!!
I had chosen to stay overnight as I had a late finish and early start the next day with my business, however I felt as if it would have been easier to drive 1 1/2 hours home instead. Had I not paid in advance I would not have perservered. Other reviewers have said enough about huge pot holes etc so I will not elaborate. Accomodation was adequate but quite pricey and definitely tarnished by my horrible experience. In daylight the following morning it was clear that the place is very untidy outside. I don't think the owner caresa jot!
Please insist that this owner sends proper directions to all future guests as many in my position would have given up.

Reviewed by
SUSAN G

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best trip in Stockton on Tees
I really enjoyed my stay in farm house.

Reviewed by
Muhammad Mubeen

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little secluded lodge in Thorpe Thewles
It was difficult to find the lodge. Access road not shown on sat nav. Had to call to ask for directions. Arrived very late at night, so did not manage to meet with owner/receptionist. Note was posted at front door with message and instructions. Thought was for me only as arrived late but this was how the owner operate to everyone. Lacks the warmth and hospitality on arrival. However, helper in the morning was very warm and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Good value for money. Full English breakfast (at an extra cost) was great.

Reviewed by
Chuen P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and modern room however promised wifi and hair drier were non-existent, heating would not work overnight, and one of the towels provided had a dirty stain on it.

Reviewed by
J Brittain

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Myself and my partner stay for 2 nights and it was a pleasant surprise at the quality of the accommodation I must say it was amazing old beams and an open fire in the room rolling country outside the doors the village is only aile away and has 2 good pubs everyone was so friendly it was great 😃😃😃😃

Reviewed by
Duncan Bristow

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh Dear....
The staff were friendly however the room and grounds were awful. There were bare wooden floors in the room above and when the occupants came home drunk it sounded like a heard of elephants were crashing around, which was great at 00.40 in the morning. The rooms were also so poorly insulated that we could hear them breaking wind and laughing about it, as if they were in the room with us. Delightful. I did not get a decent nights sleep the entire stay.
There were also loose tiles in the bathroom which were camouflaged with a matt thrown over the top of them as well as other broken/poorly maintained fittings and furnishings.
There was a picnic area and grass grounds to the rear of the building onto which our french doors opened. It looked pleasant except that there was litter (bottle tops, cigarette packets, bottles etc) that was present when we arrived and was still there when we left. One of the workers, who appeared to live in a caravan onsite, also excersised two dogs in this area, allowing them to foul and leaving the mess, which was unpleasant. The exteranal bins were also overflowing when we arrived and were not emptied over the course of our three day stay. Broken furniture and discarded mops were also left propped up against walls and lying around the floor.
The only decent thing about the stay was the breakfast. It was by far the best cook breakfast I've had in a long while, with extremely generous portions. The lady that cooked and served the breakfast was also lovely. I felt very sorry for her as she was in the firing line for complaints from other guests, even though the upkeep was not her responsibility.

Reviewed by
joe p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
It was a calm and peaceful stay

Reviewed by
Manal G

From Doha, Qatar
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next