You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Salisbury Hotel

4

43-45 Salisbury Road Newington, EDINBURGH, EH16 5AA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jonathan N

  • June 2016

Great value stay

My wife and I were just visiting for a day and were made very welcome.

The free car park, quality breakfast and lovely garden made it a great stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • J Jackson

  • May 2016

Good night's sleep

Great room, wonderful bed.

Kettle didn't work and no breakfast until 8am.

  • E Richardson

  • May 2016

Absolutely fantastic.

The hotel was absolutely brilliant.

Very kind and friendly staff. Extremely helpful. Hotel was beautiful. Short walk to the city centre. Couldn't recommend the place more. Fantastic building and beautiful.

  • Kathryn B

  • March 2016

Well presented and friendly with just a few niggles

The Salisbury is set in a lovely building slightly off the main drag I'm Edinburgh so there was a nice relief from the traffic noise.

Unfortunately there were one or two little things which let the hotel down for me. The curtains in my room where partially broken, the shower ran hot and cold and my room seemed to be next to a door which was used frequently by staff who weren't trying to be quiet. Saying that, fairly good value and staff were very helpful!

  • Caterina D

  • August 2015

Nice place to stay

The staff were very friendly, polite and professional.

The room was a good size and had plenty of tea/coffee/water and biscuits/snacks that were included. Only stayed one night and was to sleep and wash more than anything else. Everything was in good working order and not too far from the Centre of Edinburgh.

  • Sophie M

  • August 2015

Disappointing

I booked this as a romantic getaway for me and my boyfriend.

The hotel had an offer on for a 'superior' room, after reading the reviews we decided to book this. Upon arrival, the reception staff were nice and friendly and the entrance was attractive and clean. We were lead into a basement room, this is when things started to go downhill. The bedroom window was facing the car park, this meant every time somebody arrived at the hotel we would have people looking into our room, this therefore meant a lack of privacy and we had to constantly have the curtains shut. In addition to this, the window was broken meaning if we opened it, we had to prop the window open with a bottle to keep it open. Adding insult to injury the hotel bins were located right outside the window, this meant our room smelt funny and we always had staff walking past to the bins (again another reason we were forced to keep the curtains shut). This wouldn't be a problem if it was a budget hotel at budget price, but not what you'd expect for a superior room in a hotel with almost 5 stars. The staff smoking area was inconveniently located outside our window, so it was quite disturbing to hear staff talking and laughing constantly whilst we were trying to relax. final straw for us though was when we were getting ready to go out for the day and walking round undressed, the staff knocked on our door, were asked to wait a minute but came barging in anyway, when they saw that we were undressed they didn't apologise or even leave the room, just stood staring then after being asked to get out whilst we were changing they stood directly outside the door laughing. We did put a complaint into the hotel about our stay, unfortunately due to our similar review on tripadvisor the hotel manager refused to help us with the complaint, which we regarded as a real unprofessional and improper way to deal with the situation.

  • Sarah P

  • May 2015

Fantastic

Location is a couple of miles out of the city centre so expect to pay £8 for a taxi but it was quiet the staff are very friendly and very helpful - rooms actually look like they do on the pictures and was clean

  • Mandy D

  • April 2015

Nice city break

Good location and free parking, staff friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable.

Would have liked option of cooked breakfast but cold meats etc already on table when we went in for breakfast made us feel we couldn't ask

  • alisa e

  • April 2015

Our room was far from superior.

Small room, curtains hanging off wall. Blind didn't work. Cleaners on a morning were loud outside our room and woke us up. Bath shown on pictures but there was only a shower. Basic and not superior. Wifi not available and didn't see any staff on reception apart from checking in and checking out (so couldn't query anything). Very disappointed... Not 4 star.

  • Fiona Dishington

  • March 2015

The Salisbury Hotel

Very comfortable bed and clean accommodation.

Excellent cooked breakfast and a good selection of fruit ,cereals ,cold meats and cheese.