No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Salisbury Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
43-45 Salisbury Road Newington, EDINBURGH, EH16 5AA
The Salisbury Hotel is a luxury contemporary styled georgian townhouse hotel in the cosmopolitan Southside and close to the Old Town, Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Edinburgh University.

A range of room types are available from single, double, superior doubles and twins, family and four poster. Ground floor rooms are available, whilst many have lovely views to the magnificent walled gardens. All guestrooms feature crisp white linen, fluffy towels, plasma-televisions, iPod docking stations, hairdryers and welcome trays.

There is private parking and the Salisbury is easily accessible by car from all the main routes in the City and is located just 1.5 miles from Waverley Train Station; the main bus route is a mere 2 minutes walk from the Salisbury making it convenient to get around the entire city.

Gabbro restaurant is located at garden level with direct access to the beautiful walled gardens - featuring an excellent array of dishes and always featuring local and Scottish produce - popular with locals and very family friendly.

There are many interesting shops and bars and the Queens Hall and Festival Theatre are 10 minutes away.

Guests can enjoy the lounge area to relax in after a day exploring the City or to retire to after the children are sleeping in bed.

A hearty breakfast can be enjoyed in the Breakfast Room after a good night’s rest - a full choice of juices, fruits, cereals, cheeses, as well as a Full Scottish Grill, French toast with grilled bacon and passion fruit syrup or poached eggs with watercress and Hollandaise.

Most importantly, a warm Scottish friendly welcome awaits you at the Salisbury where you can expect the highest levels of service and comfort. Relax and enjoy the comfort and elegant ambiance of this beautiful Georgian townhouse hotel —the ideal base for you to explore the vibrant Edinburgh city.
Picture of The Salisbury Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel excellent in all aspects, very peaceful place to stay and very good location.
Regards Andrew.
Bardzo Piekny.

Reviewed by
Andrew Boles

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm and friendly
One night stay for a wedding nearby we were allowed to check in earlier than expected, our double room overlooked the front of the hotel and was very quiet considering. The room was nicely decorated, clean and had all the facilities one would expect for a hotel of this type.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the standard continental breakfast was excellent - we would have tried the 'fry up' was it not for the previous evenings shenanigans!- All in all a very pleasant stay and we shall definitely be returning as it is well placed for the city centre and lots of interesting vintage/charity shops en route!

Reviewed by
patrick t

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfy and great location
The hotel was lovely in every way. The room was comfy and spacious. The room and hotel was very clean. The breakfast was delicious and staff friendly. It is very close to the commonwealth pool and only £1.50 on the bus into the centre. It is within walking distance but we regretted it as once you get to the centre you need to walk lots. Take the bus as they run late into the evening.

Reviewed by
Jane T

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay
The Reception staff were excellent - really friendly and informative and made us feel welcome and there was a niced relaxed atmosphere. I had been a bit worried about how far the hotel might be from the city centre but its easily walkable within 20 mins (plus there are a few bars/restaurants you might want to visit along the way) or there a loads of buses that get you there in minutes should you want to wear heels!
Our room was really nice - my only slight issue was that the bathroom was very small (very nice, modern and clean though) and it was difficult to hang up towels on the rail so a hook on the door of the room might have been useful (or for coats?). You would also have to be quite comfortable with the person you are staying with as the bathroom door was quite close to the bed and didnt feel like the most private place in the world! This didnt concern us but if you felt a bit delicate about such things you might want to ask for a different room (it was Willowbrae)
We got breakfast included in the price and would recommend it - it was continental and different choices each day, delicious and we were again well looked after by the staff.
Parking - it is limited and we found that you have to double park but we never had a problem getting a space and the reception staff have it well organised should someone be blocking you in they will move the car within 5 mins.
Great stay - would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
Freya H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
We wanted a different location from where we normally go, so the Salisbury Hotel was ideal. Close to Uni and Commonwealth pool, lots of bars, restaurants. The hotel was excellent, large room( The Bleckett). On ground floor onto rear garden. Had wonderful meal at Cafe Cassis and also The Salisbury Arms, turn left out of Hotel at road end. Will definitely use this hotel again

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location- shame about the bonking
Visiting my daughter at the Pollock Halls, I found this a very convenient location and it had some off street parking in front of the hotel. Very warm welcome from Adam and was given an excellent, well furnished and spacious room in the basement of the building with French doors to small patio. So why didn't I mark it as excellent? Well, the room was let down by soundproofing, possibly in its door. There was an amorous couple somewhere in the building (nothing wrong with that but at 4 am it gets beyond a joke) and at 7 am I was woken up by staff chatting outside my door.
Service at breakfast was rather terse ("tea or coffee?" then "brown or white toast?"- it's not difficult to ask what guests would like) and it wasn't clear if a cooked option was available.

Reviewed by
John L

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value
On arrival we were told we had been given an upgrade on our room. I was expecting great things. The room was spacious as was the bathroom , however , we had a really uncomfortable stay. The king sized bed had a memory foam mattress topper on it, which caused the uncomfortable bed to be even more uncomfortable as it wrinkled and lumped and stuck to the sheet. The bathroom had huge cracks going up the walls and when you used the shower (set up like a wet room) while floor flooded . We were given tea and coffee making facilities but no biscuits , when I asked for some I was told that they don't normally do that, the receptionist did offer me a tea cake though. At breakfast, coffee was stone cold on both days . Staff were helpful and heated it up in the microwave . On the plus side , it does have a small car park , great in Edinburgh which is a nightmare for parking. In my opinion, this is no four star hotel.

Reviewed by
Lynn H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for city visit
We were given a comfortable spacious room. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
G Cook

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


The shower recess was dirty and water went everywhere,no full shower door, the door handles to front door and bathroom were loose or broken ,
The lady at the front desk was excellent, very helpful, postion of hotel good, close to buses.

Reviewed by
jane g

From WEMBLEY DOWNS, Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh weekend
A VERY nice small guesthouse/hotel.
Loaction is close to City and although the street scene is rather run down the hotel is very nice inside.
Great Pub at end of raod for drinks/meals
Room was very nice with huge comfy bed and plenty of room
Breakfast was cold buffet but also 1st class (with endliess tea and toast)

Reviewed by
sr j

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next