No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Winston Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
51 Archers Road , SOUTHAMPTON, SO15 2NF
Affordable and friendly, traditional and welcoming, this intimate hotel offers comfortable facilities for the budget conscious traveller.

The Winston Hotel is within easy walking distance of Southampton’s West Quay Shopping Centre and conveniently situated for Southampton’s Mayflower Theatre, Southampton Guildhall and Southampton General Hospital. For those interested in the city’s nightlife, The Winston Hotel is less than five minutes from Bedford Place, which features many of the city’s restaurants, clubs and bars, and a short walk or taxi ride from Oceana Night Club venue and the St. Mary’s Football Stadium.

Residents are welcome in the on-site restaurant and bar, which features home-cooked meals, friendly staff and televisions showing Sky Sports and Setanta.

All rooms have colour television and tea & coffee making facilities. Some rooms offer hairdryers, iron/ironing board; however such items are available on request. Some Sky channels are also available in select rooms.

Our aim is to make your stay as welcome as we possibly can.
Picture of The Winston Hotel, SOUTHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise from toilet
Our room was next to down stair shower room. There was like engine running when someone use the upstairs toilet. We could hear people closing door and switch on light when they use the shower room. It's the worst place I have ever been staying with the price I have paid.

Reviewed by
B Lee

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cleanliness and facilities
The room was not cleaned properly, the carpet looked old and tired as did the paintwork. The toilet had not been cleaned properly and was difficult to flush. The shower also needed a better clean. It was ok for one night just to sleep, but as far as cleanliness goes, the standard wasn't good. The dining tables were 'sticky' to touch!!!! All in all, we felt the hotel needs a good clean and paintwork freshening!!

Reviewed by
Susan J

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mo & Maggies one night experience at the Winston.
Excellent location, good quality food and hottest food I have ever had at any hotel or cruise liner
in the world.

Reviewed by
David Morrison

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
All good, great for parking, good proximity to town. The room was clean and all facilities worked. Happy with everything and friendly service, many thanks!

Reviewed by
C Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Price?
I think the tariff should have been £25 a night and not £35. £35 a night without breakfast was too much to pay.

Reviewed by
A Spencer

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay. Close to where we wanted to visit. I will recommend staying here it's lovely x
The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is nice quiet and the room was big, clen, comfortable and relaxing. I will definitely stay here again :) x

Reviewed by
Stella Speirs

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bare basics!
Extremely basic room, could hear everything from the awful people in the next room and there was a small leak in our ceiling above the bottom of our bed! apart from that the staff were very nice and really helpful, which did help make up for some of the bad points

Reviewed by
Daniel G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a one night stay
Clean, good service, nice pub. Good location. Food is almost ready.

Reviewed by
Ashley C

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
I needed somewhere to spend the night as I had and was very impressed with what I gotl
Good,cheap,clean and quiet as I needed a good sleep.

Reviewed by
Eammon M

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No running cold water in the ensuit, shower run hot and cold , noise from the pub meant that you couldn't sleep until it closed, radiator vibrates in the room, I know it wasn't big money but it should be better, I did email them as there wasn't a member of staff to complain to, but sadly no response, this place is best left to contractors.

Reviewed by
a pudney

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next