Oscar Lodge

2

65 Vansittart Road, Windsor, SL4 5DB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (34)

59% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Horsman

  • July 2015

Hugely overpriced

The accommdation itself was quite run down, with grubby marks on the walls as you go through to your room.

The room was very basic, large, which was nice, but it all looks quite cheap. The bathroom was tiny and if I was taller I'd have problems sitting on the loo. The booking didn't seem to register I was a lone traveller, so they tried to charge me for two breakfasts. I ended up cancelling as it wasn't offered until 7.30am and I had to leave before then. In the morning I was waiting for 10 minutes for reception to open and when no one turned up I had to call the emergency number to ask someone to come and take the room keys. For £75 a night I thought it was hugely overpriced and run down. What made it worse was that there wasn't any cold water until the morning and there was no AC. It was boiling during the night, so I had to keep the windows open, which being near a main road meant I pretty much didn't sleep all night. Would definitely not stay here again or recommend it.

  • John M

  • May 2015

Oscar Lodge

The room and bed were a good size for England.

Room and bathroom were clean and in good condition. We would stay here again.

  • James S

  • May 2015

Awful

Won't be staying here again.

The room was cold, no heating on at all. The shower was horrific and actually dangerous - alternately blasting out boiling hot and then freezing cold water. And all for the princely sum of £70 for a double room - a complete rip off!. If they'd charged me £30, it would have probably been ok.

  • Julie Mitchell

  • April 2015

Fine for what we needed

Two of my female friends and I were having a evening out in Windsor and going shopping the following day.

Oscar Lodge was fine for what we needed, a place to sleep in a comfortable and clean bed. The man on reception was friendly and helpful, he arranged a taxi for us and came to advise when it arrived. The shower room was a little small but we were only getting changed in the evening and having a quick shower each in the morning so again that was fine. For the money we spent £23 each we were more than happy with Oscar Lodge.

  • M Hayes

  • March 2015

basic

Basic but ok for a bloke travelling alone on business.

Wouldn't take my wife !!

  • c evans

  • March 2015

A tired hotel in need of TLC

Reception was friendly on arrival but insisted on cash payment up front claiming the card machine was not working.

Thought this a bit odd as most places charge on check out after your stay. Room had very thin carpet and stains visible on sheets. Bathroom was ok but water temperature could not be changed in shower and whole thing looked like it was a DIY build.

Large gaps under doors meant we could hear everything going on in the next room late at night.

Was useful to be able to park close to centre for free. The reception desk was not even open when we tried to leave at 8.30am the next morning.

Disappointed overall and wouldn't book there again.

  • Andrew P

  • January 2015

Good price for location

Probably better for a bloke.

For example there was no wardrobe to hang clothes, curtain hangs too far from the window.

  • Alan Culverhouse

  • December 2014

Oscar Lodge - Windsor

Arrived at at the lodge was fine, as soon as we booked in to room was damp on windows, broken side lamp shade, hairs on the bed, bad connection to TV, Electrical wires showing, lamp shaver in toilet did not work, bath room in bad shape, Over price night stay,

Willl not go again to Oscar Lodge

  • Adriana C

  • August 2014

Nice accommodation for short stay

Clean and decent sized room.

Good customer service, I would definitely come back. Thank you

  • Martyn Glenville-Sutherland

  • August 2014

Never again

When we arrived at Oscar Lodge, the two people at reception had very little clue what to do.

As we went upstairs to our room, we noticed the lack of care and attention to the decor. In the room, the sheets were not clean and their was someone else's hair on the side of the shower. The next morning, the so-called "continental breakfast" was a help yourself affair, namely boiling the kettle yourself for tea followed by a meagre selection of boxed cereal, bread and rolls, served on torn off J-cloths. We had just come from the Continent (Maastricht and Wuerzburg) where a Continental breakfast involved meat, eggs and cheese.