No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oscar Lodge

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
65 Vansittart Road, Windsor, SL4 5DB
Welcome to Oscar Lodge !

The resident proprietor extends a warm welcome to all old and new guests. We take great interest in providing the ambience for that special holiday. Emphasis is placed upon the preparation of the best of "English Fayre", generously served and prepared under the personal supervision of the proprietors.

Lodge Facilities

* En suite bedrooms
* Colour television
* Tea/coffee hospitality tray
* Shaver point
* Centrally heated throughout
* Tourist Board inspected
* Full Fire Certificate
* Own car park to the rear
* All major credit cards accepted
* Close to Heathrow and The lego Land

SPECIAL WEEK END RATES AVAILABLE

WI -FI Available
Car Park - Reservations are required.
Guests need to book a car parking space before arrival, 1 car per room, extra cars charged GBP 10.00
Picture of Oscar Lodge, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
When we arrived at Oscar Lodge, the two people at reception had very little clue what to do. As we went upstairs to our room, we noticed the lack of care and attention to the decor. In the room, the sheets were not clean and their was someone else's hair on the side of the shower. The next morning, the so-called "continental breakfast" was a help yourself affair, namely boiling the kettle yourself for tea followed by a meagre selection of boxed cereal, bread and rolls, served on torn off J-cloths. We had just come from the Continent (Maastricht and Wuerzburg) where a Continental breakfast involved meat, eggs and cheese.

Reviewed by
Martyn Glenville-Sutherland

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, but could do with a refresh
At £45 it was easily the cheapest room in windsor, although occasionally you can get that price in some of the hotel chains nearby. For £45 you got a clean single bed, TV, shower and tiny tiny sink. Air conditioning when you leave both windows open, and an alarmclock from the 6AM flight (after leaving the windows open. Would stay there again if I couldn't get the price at the other chains, but Hotel in need of decoration, to feel less like a youth hostel.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not so cheerful!
The hotel was very 'tired' and tatty. Only one curtain in room, so awake at 4 am as it was getting light. Shower room tiny and no working extractor. Bed clothes were ancient, but clean. Room was acceptably clean, but I would not have wanted to stay a second night. On the plus side, the owner was extremely helpful and pleasant, and we were able to leave the car there for several hours after check out, which saved us a lot of money. The cost of the room was cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!

Reviewed by
S Anderson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel
i enjoyed stay here very much!!!

Reviewed by
X XU

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oscar lodge
Stayed 1 night as other hotels had doubled rates for the golf. Walking up stairs one wall was stripped bare due to damp, this did not affect the room although the en suite did smell a bit musty. The floor on one side of the room creaked badly when walked on. OK for me but I wouldn't want to be In room 8. Apparently the car park spaces need to be booked beforehand, this was not made clear on Late Rooms, the proprietor was very accommodating though. The room itself was clean and comfortable and good for a 2* hotel. The continental breakfast was quite basic.

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!
On arrival the place looked shabby and run down. Arrived early (12-30) went to book in and notify them of our arrival. A room was available but they wanted to charge us £10 for early booking in, we declined. Finally checked in at 8pm after a wonderful day a Windsor royal horse show, room very shoddy, badly painted, no wardrobe, one coat hanger hung on back of door, no hand towels, mis-matched bedding, one bed with casters missing, tatty coffee tray covered with a j-cloth (classy), ripped and dirty curtains, the list is endless! Unfortunately we had to endure a two night stay but as we spent the second day, leaving the room at 9 am and not returning until 11:30 pm we were lucky not to have spent too much time there. The member of staff we met at reception, checking in and checking out was the only time we saw anyone, was not very helpful or welcoming and didn't seem to have any people skills. Only one positive, free wi-fi, on which I spent the first night looking for alternative accommodation. I also checked out Oscar Lodge to see different photos and reviews to the ones I'd originally seen when booking. If I'd seen these I would not have booked. Do not book this awful accommodation. On the plus side thoroughly enjoyed Windsor.

Reviewed by
MICHELLE Morgan

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bed for the night
I'd come to Windsor for a family party and just needed a cheap bed for the night. This place is a short-ish (15 mins) walk from the town centre, and the clincher for me when booking was that it had a single room which was the cheapest I could find. The staff were friendly and welcoming; the single bed was comfortable; the room was clean and had the usual facilities (TV, tea and coffee-making kit, en suite toilet and shower). Its only minor shortcomings were the lack of a bedside light and that the shower's water pressure was akin to standing under a watering can.

Reviewed by
Patrick R

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodation for short stay
Clean and decent sized room. Good customer service, I would definitely come back. Thank you

Reviewed by
Adriana C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and tired
I stayed in a single room of which the heating was not working however did have a electric heater.
The bed linen was all odd and the towel was stained. It felt more like a hostel then a hotel.
The paint work was peeling and there was bad damp in the en-suit.

Reviewed by
T Green

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money for business stop over
Great value room. Comfortable bed in decent sized room with good en suite facilities.
Yes the place could do with a lick of paint and is a little tired but I maintain its excellent for the cost. 10 minute walk to Windsor centre and a Co-Op supermarket near by.

Reviewed by
Marc T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next