No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westlakes Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Gosforth , Seascale, CA20 1HP
Westlakes Hotel is a late Georgian Country House, which is set in 3 acres of tranquil mature gardens situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Located in the Western Lake District, which is only an hours drive from the M6, the area has many local attractions as well as being a walker’s paradise. To the east is the spectacular scenery of the Lake District, while to the west , the Cumbrian coast offers long, uncrowded beaches.

Indeed the area offers the best of both worlds; it is attractive but remains unknown by the majority of the Lake District tourists. For those contemplating an energetic holiday, nearby Eskdale and Wasdale offers fell walking and mountaineering suitable for all levels of experience. To the south, the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Narrow Gauge Railway takes the visitor through the spectacular scenery, whilst nearby Muncaster Castle is an impressive ancestral home with beautiful gardens, and an owl centre.

You can be sure of the warmest welcome and friendly service from Geoff and Debra, and our experienced friendly staff.
Picture of Westlakes Hotel , Seascale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed overnight in what was a very airy and bright room,the room was very clean and tidy, and the breakfast the next morning was very nice, the staff where very helpfull.
I'd recommend the westlakes hotel and restuarant as a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
michael sloan

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous
My wife and i had a lovely overnight stay at this hote, excellent accommodation, excellent food and excellent customer service.
Would thoroughly recommend and will stay again.

Reviewed by
E H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expectations exceeded
This hotel is in a great location if you're visiting the Lake District. The staff were very friendly and made you feel right at home. We stayed in room number 3, which was stunning: big 4 pillar bed, nice bathroom with bath and shower and an excellent view of the snow covered mountains. The food at the restaurant was excellent and my wife commented that it was one of the best meals she's had.

Reviewed by
Rudi E

From Carterton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

West lakes hotel
Stayed for 2 nights room was great faultless Geoff and his staff were great food was lovely I will always stay at this hotel whenever am in that area and would recommend it to any of my friends

Reviewed by
M Flynn

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place and lovely people
After an horrendous journey on the M6, we arrived at Westlake's Hotel to the most welcoming and warm reception. We were taken straight to our room, which was very clean and comfortable.
We decided for convenience to eat at the hotel, it was a good choice. The menu had a good variety of dishes and the food was delicious.
The next day as we were leaving, we were planning on visiting a few sites, the people there were very helpful with directions and advice on other places that may be of interest.
We had a lovely stay at Westlake's everything was perfect and genuinely lovely staff.

Reviewed by
Claire T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scafell base
Stayed at the Westlakes a few weeks ago for the weekend as a base for walking up Scafell Pike. Firstly the location is ideal as only a 20 min drive away from Scafell and hotel is easy to get to, set in a nice spot and with plenty of car parking. We booked the four poster room and it is by far one of the nicest hotel rooms that I have stayed in both in the UK and abroad. Didn't eat at the hotel as had already made other plans in the evenings, but the cooked breakfast was delicious and would have gladly paid separately for this. Room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel, staff and management were very friendly and really can't fault the place. Would definitely stay here again when looking to stay in this part of the world.

Reviewed by
Lee G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Westlakes Hotel.... Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
Although we only stayed here one night, it left a lasting impression and we'll definitely be returning soon. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable by the staff. The hotel was clean and the room was brilliant (we had the 4 posted queen bed!!). The room was clean, comfortable and had everything you could need (although only set out for one person but that was easily sorted). the bathroom was very large, had a roll top bath and walk in shower. The food in the restaurant was simply fantastic!! A credit to the hotel. The owners constantly mixed with the guests around the bar and were a delight, Fantastic. To be honest, if you're looking for either a short break or more, I, no WE would recommend this hotel and will be back.

Reviewed by
David Bradley

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again in a heartbeat!
We had a fantastic 3 nights at the Westlakes Hotel and I couldn't fault it. The room was amazing (we chose the 4 poster), the staff were lovely, the food was good and the room was turned down every day in the half hour we went down for breakfast so we were never disturbed. It was close to everything we needed and if we're looking to stay in the area again we'll definitely look at staying here again.

Reviewed by
Kayleigh N

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable, classy hotel
I have always wished to stay at this Hotel. Everything about the Hotel exceeded my expectations. Geoff and Debra could not be more accommodating. The cleanliness of the Hotel is second to none, as is the food. Our room (No 5) was beautiful. Couldn't asked for more/better

Reviewed by
Amanda P

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.