No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westlakes Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Gosforth , Seascale, CA20 1HP
Westlakes Hotel is a late Georgian Country House, which is set in 3 acres of tranquil mature gardens situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Located in the Western Lake District, which is only an hours drive from the M6, the area has many local attractions as well as being a walker’s paradise. To the east is the spectacular scenery of the Lake District, while to the west , the Cumbrian coast offers long, uncrowded beaches.

Indeed the area offers the best of both worlds; it is attractive but remains unknown by the majority of the Lake District tourists. For those contemplating an energetic holiday, nearby Eskdale and Wasdale offers fell walking and mountaineering suitable for all levels of experience. To the south, the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Narrow Gauge Railway takes the visitor through the spectacular scenery, whilst nearby Muncaster Castle is an impressive ancestral home with beautiful gardens, and an owl centre.

You can be sure of the warmest welcome and friendly service from Geoff and Debra, and our experienced friendly staff.
Picture of Westlakes Hotel , Seascale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for Couples
Booked for a Valentines weekend. It was excellent from start to finish. The restaurant food and service was superb. New oak furniture in the bedroom and a really comfortable bed. Superb location, 2 miles from the beach and 1 mile from entering the Lake district and very close to Wast water, 10 minutes from Ravenglass narrow gauge railway to Dalesgarth. Fantastic hotel and location.

Reviewed by
Neil T

From Northowram, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Westlakes Hotel
Good location for walking the west lakes lovely welcoming hotel, very clean large airy room, the staff and the owner were all very friendly we will definitely be returning and would recommend to our friends.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Westlakes Hotel
The quality of the dinner meals were exceptional, truly 6* by a first class chef. The breakfast quality was only good by comparison.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A excellent place to stay with welcoming staff and luxurious rooms. Beautiful setting and fantastic food.

Reviewed by
Nick R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of Cumbria
A quiet retreat away from it all, clean and very comfortable accommodation . Staff are very friendly and helpful , giving ideas on where to visit locally and how to get there. Highly recommend this Gem of a Hotel.

Reviewed by
J Peters

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed overnight in what was a very airy and bright room,the room was very clean and tidy, and the breakfast the next morning was very nice, the staff where very helpfull.
I'd recommend the westlakes hotel and restuarant as a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
michael sloan

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous
My wife and i had a lovely overnight stay at this hote, excellent accommodation, excellent food and excellent customer service.
Would thoroughly recommend and will stay again.

Reviewed by
E H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expectations exceeded
This hotel is in a great location if you're visiting the Lake District. The staff were very friendly and made you feel right at home. We stayed in room number 3, which was stunning: big 4 pillar bed, nice bathroom with bath and shower and an excellent view of the snow covered mountains. The food at the restaurant was excellent and my wife commented that it was one of the best meals she's had.

Reviewed by
Rudi E

From Carterton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

West lakes hotel
Stayed for 2 nights room was great faultless Geoff and his staff were great food was lovely I will always stay at this hotel whenever am in that area and would recommend it to any of my friends

Reviewed by
M Flynn

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place and lovely people
After an horrendous journey on the M6, we arrived at Westlake's Hotel to the most welcoming and warm reception. We were taken straight to our room, which was very clean and comfortable.
We decided for convenience to eat at the hotel, it was a good choice. The menu had a good variety of dishes and the food was delicious.
The next day as we were leaving, we were planning on visiting a few sites, the people there were very helpful with directions and advice on other places that may be of interest.
We had a lovely stay at Westlake's everything was perfect and genuinely lovely staff.

Reviewed by
Claire T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next