No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Parade , Neath, SA11 1RB
Historic Welsh Coaching Inn and birthplace of the Welsh Rugby Union, the Castle Hotel is family owned and run and situated in the heart of Neath, just off the M4 and 2 minutes from the mainline train station. Ideally located for visiting a host of local attractions including Afan Forest Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, dozens of historic monuments and castles and the stunning Swansea Bay and Gower coastlines. All this and yet only 40 minutes from Wales' vibrant capital city of Cardiff. The hotel boasts character and charm whilst offering all the modern conveniences such as flat screens, Sky, WIFI, feather duvets and pillows and tea/coffee making facilities. The restaurant, Green's, serves "Simply Good Welsh Food" and offers a daily blackboard featuring local specialities. There are two bars: the traditional, oak panelled Lounge Bar with its huge fireplace and "oh, so comfy" arm chairs and the contemporary Castle Bar with its big screens and upbeat, trendy atmosphere.
Picture of Castle Hotel, Neath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit Faulty Towers
Great location for business trip to Neath. Nice looking hotel with all the quirkiness of an old hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff. The room was a twin and a bit on the small side but comfortable enough. The windows open onto a service alley with other guest rooms about 1m away and all I'll say is sound travels. I heard every conversation the chap in the room next door had on his mobile as if he was in the room with me. Sound proofing is non existant. It is an old hotel and as long as you accept it's limitations it's a comfortable place to stay. It was perfectly adequate for a business trip and at the price I paid, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Jacquie F

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
From the outside it looks beautiful but once in the room it was very disappointing the room is in an undecorated state wallpaper comin of the ceilin in the bathroom.mould round the bath. The windows where covered in bird poo and we couldnt open the windows wide because of pigeons outside the window.drinks are expensive.

Reviewed by
michael ekland

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue and good value too
We stayed at this hotel for one night and were blown away by the excellent level of service and the polite helpful staff. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. As we were touring on motorcycles the provision of a secure lock up garage was a God send.

Reviewed by
T Simms

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was generally ok, but some issues.
Generally a good hotel, the staff were excellent though and that goes a long way. The rooms were good sized, comfortable and the decor was good as well. The maid service were excellent as well. Our bathroom was massive. There are only 2 things that let the hotel down really, firstly our shower was hopeless. If we have a dehydrated camel spitting at us we would have got more water out of it, it was completely hopeless. We had 2 rooms and both showers in both rooms were exactly the same. Secondly the discount mentioned on here is complete rubbish as well. I checked at the desk on the way out and there is basically no discount, what they offer on here is there normal room rate.

Reviewed by
Leyton C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Only downside was the loud music that could be heard from my room.

Reviewed by
m davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
The décor is tired, but the room was clean although tea & coffee had not been refilled, nor an item of the previous occupant removed. The staff were polite and helpful and dealt with the minor problems immediately.

Reviewed by
Sue B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab !
Really loved it ,fab food,lovely rooms,clean.staff exceptional.Want to live there !

Reviewed by
g kerkham

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room fine , but shower water pressure very low.

Reviewed by
Charles L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Place to stay
The hotel is well situated in the centre of all aminities and has a friendly atmosphere and we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staffs.Being an old building the high ceiling room we had remind me of our victorian house.
The only down side was the noisy clubs across the road playing Loud music until 2 am ,so be aware of Friday or Saturday noisy Party goers(ask for a room away from high street clubs).

Reviewed by
GooL K

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An OK hotel, but not great
The staff were fine, but why on a quiet weekend were we put in a room on the second floor which was right at the furthest point from Reception? And there's no lift (or if there is, we weren't told about it.
The hotel is being re-furbished which meant large piles of panels on the landings.
Brekfast service was OK, (no problem with the staff, but my cooked breakfast could have been hotter.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next