Castle Hotel

3

The Parade, Neath, SA11 1RB

Price From 94.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • david s

  • April 2015

overpriced for under par accomodation

acomodation very poor wall paper peeling away, shower was a complete joke took 10 mins for hot water too reach it , then the pressure was diabolical quicker to wash in the sink.

  • Helen H

  • February 2015

Woken up in the night

We stayed at the Castle after visiting a terminally ill member of the family, we had travelled down from Merseyside and it was all very last minute.

We chose the Castle over another because it advertised sky tv in the rooms, after a very tiring day all we wanted to do was chill & watch tv as we were leaving very early the next morning, it didn't have sky. Their car park was full as well so we had to find a side street to park. Through the night we were woken up by voices & laughing, after about 10 mins I got up & rang reception, this was about 3.40am but there was no answer, I tried to ignore it but the walls are so thin it was impossible to ignore so I rang reception again, this time it was around 4am, again no answer, so we went back to bed & eventually they shut up long enough for us to go back to sleep before we were up at 7am. When we went down to check out I asked her if it was a bit 24 hour reception, she said it was so I went on to tell her about about all the noise through the night, she was very apologetic & said there would have been a manager on till 4am & a night porter. Very disappointed, we will need to stay in the area quite a lot but won't be staying there again.

  • Chris P

  • February 2015

Not quite what I expecting

Booked in a rush.

Maybe if I'd had time I'd have done a little more research. Staff were exceptional. The hotel itself, in my opinion, was not. Some descriptions like "on-site parking" are a little optimistic. The small car park is about 75 yds down the road - and that's it unless you want to park on the street and have to move your vehicle before 8am.

  • Christopher M

  • February 2015

Felt like a King - almost!

The Castle hotel has a fine history being the birthplace of Welsh Rugby Union.

The reception area is quite grand with wood panelling as are some of the meeting rooms. My bedroom was large and warm as was the bathroom. Unfortunately opaque glass was fitted to the windows as the views from them was not picture postcard lets say. The decor was ok and the bed was large and clean. Free toiletries and tea and biscuits were very welcome. My only reservation was that the shower was basically a dribble of variable temperature water. I was told all bathrooms are to be refurbished as they are well aware of the shower shortfall. The restaurant / bar area is pleasant. The food is good value and the staff are very nice.

  • emma p

  • February 2015

Peaceful

The rooms are warm and welcoming, the beds are comfortable, me And my partner Were lucky enough to have a room with a bath in the bathroom.

It was So relaxing, it was Just Like Being in Your own home.

  • Chris R

  • January 2015

Good for Business overnight stays

@ £50.00 per night room only it is very good value for money.

The bedroom was quite small and if the chair was pulled out at the desk, you wouldn't be able to pass. The bathroom was large & clean & had shower gel, soap etc available to use. Room was clean & tidy. I ordered the venison for dinner & was surprised it arrived without any veg, just venison & chips. I would stay there again if down on business, but only if I could get it at the £50.00 room rate.

  • Lawrence Lunn

  • January 2015

great coach house

Very warm very friendly atmosphere.

Lovely food. Great location and lovely warm rooms. really enjoyed my stay.

  • p jones

  • December 2014

fantatic

i stay at the castle on a regular basis its my home from home staff are very friendly and always very helpfull the rooms are very comfortable and cleaned to high standard.

and the food is definately plentiful and 5 star.would recomend to anyone visiting the area

  • S Iqbal

  • November 2014

The bathroom door had a hole as if someone has kicked it will steel toe cap.

The central heating didnt work. When asked at reception about heating then i was bein told there's aportable heater in the wardrobe. Bathroom heater also wasn't functionin, and absolutely freezing temp all night and morning. Will definitely not recommend a stay

  • Ben W

  • November 2014

Got a electric shock!!

I got an electric shock in a room at this hotel, all staff did was move me to a different room, no care if i was ok!.

I think i should have some sort of refund. Bar staff was nice