Highbullen Golf and Leisure Hotel

4

Chittlehamholt North Devon, Umberleigh, EX37 9HD

Price From 309.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • John Jennings

  • August 2014

Excellent hotel with stunning views, very good facilities and an excellent breakfast.

Only one complaint, sorry but the younger members of the waiting staff are extremely forgetful, daily we experienced this either at breakfast or in the evening.

  • Jennifer K

  • August 2014

Great experience, wonderful views, lovely large room, nice dining room with good quality food.

Lovely quiet setting staying in one of the Foresters Lodges as we took our dog.

My husband played golf and I enjoyed the spa. Sunday lunch was one of the best we have had. Went on a couple of the walks available around the countryside and also went to the coast to visit Appledore. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly go again.

  • John M

  • August 2014

They only provide one single room, which, from entering the opulent corridor, was very plain and more reminiscent of a townhouse B&B.

I'm not sure why the try to squeeze out a little extra income from this single room, when as a lone traveller, you are clearly not appreciated. At breakfast and dinner you are ignore or given short shrift. they seem to forget that a single client, visiting allegedly grand accommodation would tend to have more disposable income, provided they feel the establishment is a worthy place to part with your cash. this place was not and I felt unwanted, and made to feel awkward. The place is still much of a building site in places.

  • Anthony Tranckle

  • June 2014

We were invited to a Ball at Highbullen.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful.

  • Peter White

  • October 2013

A fantastic break from start to finish; the accommodation was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

  • A Blackmore

  • October 2013

Wonderful Hotel

Cracking location, great staff; all in all a wonderful place to relax and stay.

Will be coming back

  • A James

  • September 2013

The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Whilst the room was a little on the small side it was perfect for my needs and impeccably kept.

  • D Miller

  • September 2013

A lovely stay in the countryside

After a short wait at reception on arrival for a receptionist we were given a room in the main house (which was an upgrade to what we had booked).

We found this to be bright and clean and the bathroom was huge. Breakfast was delicious and even served gluten free toast which was fab as I usually miss out on this with my wheat intolerance. The only small niggle with breakfast was a couple of items not being available and having to ask for ketchup each day but the food itself was good. The leisure facilities were great and we made use of the outdoor tennis court, the large pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Having had a look through the window to the bowls and tennis court there is some old furniture and carpet piled up but I think the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment. If you want to go anywhere away from the hotel itself, be prepared to drive as this hotel is surrounded by countryside. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others looking for relaxation. Highbullen has great views and is a lovely place to stay.

  • d gibson

  • August 2013

Lovely country hotel, great facilities, just need to employ more staff

we stayed in a family room, 90 foresters rest, lovely large room, with a patio area and stunning views, bed was very comfy, though the fold away bed provided for our 12 year old was not but we sorted it out with spare duvet and blankets.

small issues with the room, no full length mirror, room servicing just consisted of making the bed, telly was not tuned in and guests noise in the room above us was very evident also room is at the bottom of a very steep hill, we walked up it each day for breakfast and to use facilities, we are a reasonably fit family but the climb left us breathless and contemplating hi-jacking a golf buggy. The leisure facilities were great, most of the time we were the only ones in the pool, lovely fluffy towels are provided as are padlocks for the locker,out door tennis courts were perfect, indoor court is getting very tired but fully usable, rackets can be hired with a refundable deposit. Outside pool is in a lovely sun trap but be warned the water is not heated. Breakfast was very good but small portions, I did ask for 2 tomatoes and extra mushroom on a couple of days but this never arrived. We always had breakfast at 8am and the restaurant was quiet but definitely lacking in staff. We did not have an evening meal in the main restaurant but did eat in the bar area. Food was good and reasonable size portions, there was a wait each time as priority in the kitchen is given to people eating in the main restaurant but this was fine as it gave us time for a couple of games of pool. All in all we had a great stay, the hotel was a perfect base to visit local attractions, management staff were very efficient and personal. Hotel is definitely up and coming but is a little gem and fingers crossed it will get there!

  • Dan I

  • August 2013

Good all rounder

We had a very happy stay at Highbullen, a rarity for us with two under 3 yrs old in tow.

Staff were extremely friendly, approachable and cheerful, and were glad to be getting to grips with new systems in place since the refurbishment (completed April 2013). We stayed in main house, and our room ("Neil") was exceptional. Breakfast exceptional also. Bar and Restaurant staffed by eager but young inexperienced staff, but didn't detract from overall enjoyment. Bar/Bistro down at club house is where most improvement could be made - completely souless at present. Real star is the building, grounds, the surrounding region, and the facilities - especially the gym and pool. We were put in touch with local swimming instruction team at short notice (Debbie, Donna), and resultant 3 swimming lessons really made the trip. Local horse riding also excellent. Would recommend to friends.