No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highbullen Golf and Leisure Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Chittlehamholt North Devon, Umberleigh, EX37 9HD
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is beautifully set in a richly wooded 125 acre parkland estate. Boasting breathtaking views towards the romantic Devon landscapes of Exmoor and Dartmoor, the 36 bedroom hotel is truly a hidden treasure, nestling between the Mole and Taw Valleys in mature wooded seclusion. Your stay at Highbullen can be virtually whatever you want it to be with a wide range of experiences and activities.
From the 18 hole par 68 golf course, extensive salmon, sea-trout and brown trout fishing, indoor and outdoor tennis courts (including four new all weather courts), leisure centre with gym and indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi, indoor bowls, croquet, snooker, all of which are on site!
For those who yearn for the wide open space for their exercise and leisure pastimes, Highbullen provides an ideal base for all the West country has to offer.
Locally, scenic walks on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, horse riding and clay shooting are all available. If you need a bit more of a challenge, rock climbing, sailing, surfing, hiking and mountain bike trails across the rugged moorland, are all just a short drive away. Whatever you fancy Highbullen is that breath of fresh air you need to experience.
Picture of Highbullen Golf and Leisure Hotel, Umberleigh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional hotel
We had an exceptional stay at Highbullen for a sort break. The refurbishment is of very good quality, the service was very good and all staff friendly and accommodating. The cooked breakfast was beautifully cooked. Some of the attention to detail on decor were a bit irritating which could be easily put right were things like the glass topped bedside cabinet had been repaired with black electrical tape and a sharp edge was exposed which could have caused an injury in the dark. Also there was a layer of crumbs under the glass around the table in the window which I desperately wanted to clean! I don't normally comment on such things but for such a luxurious room you would expect better attention to detail. One thing we did miss was that there was no information in the room, so we had to ask reception various things which we could easily have found out by a simple welcome information resource but apart from that we could not fault the welcome. None of these things spoiled our time at Highbullen however, and we would thoroughly recommend this treasure of a building and facilities.

Reviewed by
A Dalton

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful place, beautiful food
This place is awesome. The staff were fantastic. The attention to detail was superb and the food was first class. The surroundings and facilities coupled with the amazing view must be seen. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Reviewed by
K FLEMING

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic feature room amazing views older hotel but no flakey paint etc it was like new inside.
We needed a couple of nights away, being fussy we wanted 5 star in an older country hotel but wthout all the old warn out 3 star "charm" thats often the way with older places. This was very well refurbed with amazing rooms, friendly staff and a great new resturant area with bar and snooker room. No novice golf pitch n put etc so we didnt use the course although it looked very nice. Although a pool is available its in the golf club which wasnt really a problem although children have classes on a saturday morning. We would return if we needed a simular type/location again. Recomended!

Reviewed by
Mick Simpson

From riseley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 4 nights during a very warm spell. The hotel room was excellent with high quality furnishings. The views are quite stunning and all parts of the hotel are beautiful. We made good use of the gym, pool and jacuzzi and a the facilities were superb. Food and service was top class. A wonderful place to stay.

Reviewed by
pauline w

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect holiday experience.
I cannot praise high bullen hotel enough. It exceeded expectations in every regard. It was very nice to be upgraded on arrival, the breakfasts were high quality and quantity. The gym and swimming facilities spacious and well maintained.
Even after my stay I was very happy that the phone charger I had left in my room turned up in the post thanks to the diligence of the staff.

Reviewed by
P Willson

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location
All their new refurbishment looks great and the new restaurant should be a big success once opened. However there appears to be a few staff teething problems which hopefully will be resolved in order to bring it up to the standard the hotel deserves..

Reviewed by
Valerie F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel has excellent leisure facilities. We understand that refurbishment is due to take place in 2013 and the potential is enormous. The location is outstanding for those wanting views of unspoilt countryside. There is an air of a grand country estate . The breakfast room is light and the bar and dining area are cosy and romantic.The open fire in the lounge is inviting although a little jaded at present.The staff offer personal service and are professional,yet friendly. We will certainly return.

Reviewed by
L Radcliffe

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to Detail
Hotel has new owners and needs a refurb which will be done in January. They are charging prices as if this is already completed. We had threadbare carpet and not enough heating. Water not hot enough and had to change rooms to improve our situation. No-one in reception on arrival despite ringing a bell and dialling 0 on a phone. However, the house is lovely and the staff were excellent. We were first down for Breakfast to find no-one had checked the tables so serviettes, side knives and teaspoons missing. Irritating lack of attention to detail. Such a shame.

Reviewed by
J Heywood

From Kingsbridge, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a place to stay
We arrived for an overnight stay because of a family wedding the next day WOW is all i can say this hotel has it all the leisure facilities are quality the hotel staff are quality and the room we had was perfect the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough to make our stay any better I had time for a round of golf on the exellent course 18 holes for £10 and the course is absolutey beautiful while my partner relaxed in the pool and jacuzzi. the food set out for breakfast was extremly nice and plentiful with stunning veiws over the golf course and country side . I would definatley recomend this hotel to all

Reviewed by
Brendan M

From Salisbury, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3