No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Downe Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Main Road Wykeham, SCARBOROUGH, YO13 9QB
The Downe Arms Hotel sits on the edge of the magnificent Yorkshire Moors National Park, and yet is only six miles from the coast. A perfect location whether you fancy walking the Cleveland Way along the rugged North Yorkshire coastline, visiting one of our wonderful heritage sites, golfing on a championship golf course, or riding the steam train from Pickering into Heartbeat country- it's all here on our doorstep for you to enjoy. Ideal too for shooters and anglers as we have .
Part of the Dawnay Estates founded in 1656, this 17th century former farmhouse offers you an intimate and historical setting for that special meal or relaxing drink with friends. The beautiful function suite, a modern addition, is a popular North Yorkshire venue for weddings and conferences.
The Downe Arms has 10 very individual en-suite bedrooms, some with sumptuous Georgian windows others with low beams, all of them offering you a charming, indulgent place to relax and enjoy. All of our rooms offer country elegance and the same level of comfort that you would expect from a traditional country inn. A subtle blend of the traditional and the contemporary ensures that you enjoy the best of both worlds.
Why not take a break from the hustle and bustle?
Picture of Downe Arms Hotel, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Anniversary celebration.

Reviewed by
S Peate

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service, family friendly and flexible, really enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous place
Had an excellent time - only stayed for one night and wish it had been more as the staff were so friendly and welcoming. What a quaint little hotel it is. I will definitely stay again - thoroughly recommend

Reviewed by
Anna Burgess

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If booking the hotel again I would find out if they have any rooms at the back of the building as it is situated on a very busy road

Reviewed by
Lucy P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent
Staye d two nights every thing excellent only problem was we should have stayed longer did not want to come home

Reviewed by
john evans

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Service and Great Atmosphere
Had a very enjoyable stay here. Booked at short notice to make the most of a sunny weekend and was surprised at this excellent find. Situated an easy 6 mile drive outside of Scarborough it was a relaxing and quality base for the weekend away. Staff were excellent and the food very good and value for money.

Reviewed by
steve l

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
My wife and I had a superb time at the Downe Arms Hotel. Our room was lovely all the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was delicious. Thank you and good wishes to you all.

Reviewed by
Barry T

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
The hotel looks welcoming even on a grey winters day and the reception, bar and restaurant are friendly and cosy. The room I had was a single but actually had a double bed, I had work to do and the room was a nice place to spend time, with tea making facilities a good quality flat screen TV (which I was able to connect my portable DVD player into!) and a nice en-suite shower. The meal I had was excellent and was brought out quickly after ordering. I can highly recommend the Downe Arms Hotel.

Reviewed by
Stuart Hannah

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully located and excellent hotel
A thoroughly enjoyable stay with friendly and courteous service, excellent accommodation and superb cuisine.

Reviewed by
ANN P

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a bypass!
Lovely staff, excellent breakfast, very clean room and bathroom.
Downside - if you don't book one of the more expensive rooms you will be overlooking the road - the traffic noise is horrendous. Lots of trucks.

Reviewed by
John Williamson

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next