No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parklands

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
100 Banbury Road, Oxford, OX2 6JU
Located in a tree-lined residential area of North Oxford (just 15 minutes walk from the City Centre), Parklands offers bed and breakfast accommodation in the late Victorian former home of an Oxford Don.

In addition to our 15 well-appointed en-suite rooms, we also offer a comfortable guest lounge (we are licensed to serve drinks) and a private walled garden for unwinding after a long day's work or play.

We have various office facilities available for guests needing to catch up on correspondence or meet that important deadline as well as FREE wireless broadband throughout the premises.
We are easily reached from an excellent network of major roads (ample car parking is provided on-site) or via public transport, with Oxford's railway and bus stations just 1½ miles away.
Picture of Parklands, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stroll in to Oxford centre
Oxford is not the cheapest place to stay, so, for £80 for a twin room, is about right. I arrived around 5.30pm, and checked in no problem. I had requested a quiet room, and was given room 38 on the top floor. A small, but very clean room, good wifi ( free ), with an en-suite bathroom. The heating in the room was not on, and did not appear to be working. and so the room was cold - this was not a concern to me as I sleep better in a cooler room, but to most it certainly would be. I walked into Oxford centre for food, a nice 15 minute stroll. Slept no problem. I showered at 6.30am, and the shower made an awful "screaming" noise, that must have woke the rest of the floor, I am sure! I went down for breakfast at 7am, and it was very nice. Here is were I have the issue however, when checking out, I mentioned both complaints, shower and heating, and was offered no discount or compensation for the next stay. Being on business, again, I was not overly concerned, but this would have been good customer service.

Reviewed by
s bradshaw

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great, quiet place to prepare for an upcoming academic/business challenge.
I arrived in Oxford to do my DPhil viva, and needed a quiet, warm and neat place to revise and gather my strengths before the exam. Parklands was just that. It is hospitable and warm, with a clean interior and professional staff.
The location is also perfect; this hotel is located centrally in Oxford; a couple of bus stops from the heart of the city, along a route where you can expect buses to run every 5-10 minutes until late evening. While you might wake because of rowdy citizens at a more Oxford-central hotel, Parklands avoids this, yet remains highly accessible.
I have already recommended Parklands to friends.

Reviewed by
C Dahl

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean modern and caters for gluten free
Very nice clean bright room, gluten free toast! Very helpful staff. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quiet and excellent breakfast
Although a little bit of a walk from the centre of Oxford (buses are regular if you prefer) Parklands is a very professionaly run hotel/B&B. Ideal for business or only sight-seeing, as we were on this occassion. Our room was a modest size, but 100% clean and nicely appointed. Will be back next time we're in Oxford withiut a doubt.

Reviewed by
Tom H

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room great location
Room was great modern and comfortable. A great location for visiting the city centre. Buses every few minutes.

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem of a place!
Great location within easy walking distance of Oxford Centre. Good variety of options for breakfast and the room was lovely too! Comfortable bed with a view over the garden. Will definitely stay here when we visit again.

Reviewed by
C Weaver

From St Asaph, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short walk or bus ride into city centre, compfy & clean accommodation, excellent breakfast, pleasant staff.Shower in romm 25 pathetic!

Reviewed by
g rostron

From Ulceby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I came to oxford for a few days to celebrate our 45 th wedding anniversary and we were very happy with the lovely room in the Parklands B&B and with the excellent food.

Reviewed by
Robert Greenway

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
This is a lovely place to stay not far from Oxford City Centre. There is a bus stop almost outside the door or you could walk if you were feeling energetic - 20/30 mins. Our room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was scrupulously clean. My only gripe was the tinned fruit at breakfast - I'd have expected a fresh fruit salad for somewhere of this quality - and the cooked breakfast although of a good quality was not over-generous. That said we plan to stay here again very soon.

Reviewed by
M Gutteridge

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quiet stay in quality Oxford house

Reviewed by
Nigel G

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next