The George Hotel

3

High Street, Shipston on Stour, CV36 4AJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Mace

  • February 2015

Ideal central location for touring the Cotswolds

Excellent service and welcoming staff.

Beautiful reception rooms. Themed accommodation, interesting. A comfortable bed and a huge roll top bath, absolute luxury. Good size separate shower cubicle. Could not fault the breakfast, set us up for the day. I would recommend to all, and my brother has already booked for next month. Only problem possibly would be the stairs if you were on the 2nd floor.

  • david n

  • December 2014

Good weekend

it was very good and i would go back a stay there again

  • David H

  • November 2014

Old but Characterful

An old period hotel.

Bedrooms were warm and the linen clean but the decor in need of a little smartening up. It is, however, an old property so the standard was as good as could be expected in such a property. The bedroom floors were so uneven and springy I felt drunk just walking to the bathroom. Beds were reasonably comfortable and the bathroom clean. The biggest plus point for this hotel was the quality of the food which was absolutely first rate and reasonably priced. All in all, a very satisfying and comfortable stay and definitely more interesting than the usual Premier Inns or Holiday Inns we usually end up in.

  • Jane W

  • August 2014

A relaxing break in a Cotswold village

When we arrived receptionist could not find our booking, said the fax sometimes get lost, luckily they had a couple of rooms left, what would have happened if they had not got any.

Did we have the right room for what we paid. The staff were excellent, the evening meal we had was excellent, also breakfast was very tasty. As it is a old coaching inn the character was fantastic, but paintwork needed redoing, also stair carpet needs good clean. Overall we enjoyed our stay thanks to very friendly staff and good food and service.

  • Jim L

  • June 2014

Stayed in the same room as on a previous stay a few years ago and found that it looked a little 'tired' - wallpaper had begun to fray & peel in quite a few places.

Certainly the best hotel in Shipston on Stour having viewed the others

  • paul blackwell

  • June 2014

excellent hotel,had to wait for food in evening,but we'll worth the wait

Staff were busy all the time,but found time to assist if reqd

  • I Jacques

  • June 2014

A one night break

My wife and I were going to a scooter rally in the village and decided that rather than risk the British weather we would book into The George Hotel and enjoy some creature comforts.

Overall we were pleased, lovely spot in the market square, a private car park, very pleasant and helpful staff and a very nice hotel. Our room('Marshmallow') was on the second floor and looked into the 'Square'. It was a very nice clean, large room with a lovely shower room. The only down side was that the whole of the front of the hotel was clad in scaffolding!. As said previously overall a pleasant stay.

  • Diane V

  • April 2014

The George Hotel was everthing we wanted it to be rustic clean freindly. Sunday lunch was great.

We had a lovely room, Staff were warm and helpful.

Food amazing, just loved it there!

  • Raymond Follows

  • December 2013

The George Hotel, Shipston on Stour

In an area(Cotswolds) with many hotels this one really shines out.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the room and bathroom was a lot larger than we would normally expect. It was also nice to have the extensive range of liquid refreshments in the room and the use of the ipod docking station. Breakfast cooked to order was excellent. Although not used by us we thought the library was a wonderful idea. The wood burning stove gave a delightful warmth to the bar. If visiting or passing through the area again we would not hesitate to use or recommend this hotel again

  • Dean Simpson

  • October 2013

Business Stay

Lovely atmosphere, helpful staff and a pleasure to visit!.

Food great and thoroughly recommend the George to all!!!