No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
RAVENSTONE LODGE BASSENTHWAITE, KESWICK, CA12 4QG
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the Bistro & Bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.

Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu.
Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our Head Chef, James Cooper. As a demonstration of the quality of our food we were delighted to be awarded an AA Rosette for culinary excellence in April 2014 for our Coach House Restaurant.

Mike Cornish - Proprietor
Picture of Ravenstone Lodge Hotel, KESWICK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and relaxing short stay. Would definitely stay there again. The food was excellent and a good choice of drinks.

Reviewed by
d jones

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome. Lovely views. Good food. Room a little dated and in need of some modernisation.
A warm welcome and good food, great breakfast. Room had lovely views and whilst the room was very, very clean it was somewhat dated and could certainly benefit from a little modernisation. If you are given Room 8 beware of the bed ..... it is possibly one of the noisiest beds ever and makes the most horrendous noise each time you turn over! We did mention this on leaving so hopefully the problem has since been rectified. Might not be our first choice of hotel next time as perhaps a little overpriced in light of the quality of room. However, overall, a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Norma L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake District sanctuary
Hotelier was very friendly and welcoming. Accommodation was first class, clean and comfortable, beautiful location with stunning views of the Lake District hillside. Breakfast and service was first class, would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
HAZEL P

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic location
The staff here were very friendly. There is a large terrace with lovely views where you can have cream teas and a beautiful conservatory. The bedroom was very clean and the bed was so comfortable that my wife did not want to leave it for breakfast, she was glad she did though as breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
stephen c

From Witham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ravenstone Lodge Hotel - Keswick
3 night stay, room very large and comfortable lovely views. Staff very helpful, but the outstanding thing was the quality of the food, absolutely top notch - delicious, hope to return again!!

Reviewed by
Kevin P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely break at ravenstone lodge.lovely,friendly,helpful staff.rooms lovely and clean.food delicious,all freshly prepared and great breakfeast choice.added bonus,the weather was fantastic.

Reviewed by
m hetherington

From north shields, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little lodge in Cumbria
Myself and my fiancé came here for a wedding in December and found the staff to be very welcoming and accommodating. We arrived quite late due to traffic and the person in reception waited for us. Breakfast was excellent and all the food was very well cooked. Our room had very nice views along with a very well presented and clean room with adjacent shower room. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have recommended it to others.

Reviewed by
P Firth

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Was everything we wanted and more. Thank you for making our stay memorable. We look forward to returning in future.

Reviewed by
Marc K

From Newbiggin by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable hotel in very pleasant location, with excellent food.
Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and excellent food made for a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. The hotel's location lends itself as a good base for touring and walking in the northern Lakes.

Reviewed by
Adrian F

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasurable Stay
The Ravenstone Lodge is friendly and welcoming. A great place for short or longer visits.
Warm with good food makes this small hotel a winner.

Reviewed by
Ken Farquhar

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next